We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villasanpaolo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villasanpaolo
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Return visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

This was my second visit to Villa Sanpaolo. Everything was, once again, divine.

Very helpful, courteous staff, wonderful treatments in the Spa and delicious food. My favourite daily ritual was lying on the spa bed in the outdoor heated pool, under the crisp Tuscan air.

It is a fabulous place to go to recharge the batteries and I am already thinking about my next trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTN66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luigi Z, Direttore at Villasanpaolo, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
and always....your return to Villasanpaolo is a joy for all of us ! We already look forward to welcome you back again ! my colleagues at restaurant , IriSpa specialists , reception are sharing your so lovely review and .....GRAZIE MILLE ! yours cordially Luigi Zaccardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    753
    350
    75
    31
    17
See reviews for
135
786
18
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
141 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

I had the opportunity to visit The Spa at Villa San Paolo, located between Certaldo and San Gimignano, what a wonderful treat, a beautiful SPA located in the middle of the Tuscan valleys. Located in the Villa of San Paolo, you can tell the quality of facility as soon as you enter the property, the staff is friendly and most of them speak english.

The SPA is pretty spacious, complete with a variety of saunas, steam rooms, and many treatment areas, but the best part for me was the pool, absolutely beautiful, and it even has an extension that goes outdoors to a very delicate garden that will have you asking "can I just live here forever?", it did to me at least.

If being spoiled at the SPA wasn't enough, then you can finish your day by enjoying a drink at the hotel's garden bar, with views of Tuscany like you never have seen before. Then you really want to stay there forever...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luigi Z, Direttore at Villasanpaolo, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
dear signora Sonia, we are so happy , so thankful to read your review and description of your feelings while having your vacation with us at Villasanpaolo. Yes, we are privileged to be in such a special place in Tuscany , very sincerely fortunate to have so many guests willing to discover our reality and share with us the heritage and hospitality of San Gimignano, as yourselves.
all our best regards and hope you will plan a new vacation soon! Luigi Zaccardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

By far one my favorites places I've stayed at. The spa is relaxing and the views are breathtaking. After a day exploring San Gimignano we came back to eat at the hotel and it was such a delicious meal and wonderful ambiance. Highly recommend staying here if you are looking for a relaxed laid back experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandyann9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luigi Z, Direttore at Villasanpaolo, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
dear friends from California, we are so happy and grateful to read your feedback on your summer vacations at San Gimignano. Sincerely, it is rewarding for all of us to know you keep good memories and we wish to thank you for choosing Villasanpaolo as base to discovery and share with us heritage, culture and wellness of our region. Grazie ! and hopefully see you soon again in Toscana ! Team of Villasanpaolo, property Owners and Luigi Zaccardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We made a trip to Tuscany and stayed at VillaSanPaolo. We were amazed. We usually stay in 5 stars hotels and therefore we did not expect so much. The property was wonderful. we have stayed in one of the two villas near the pool and had a great view of San Gimignano from the balcony. It was really quite and tranquil (in the morning you could only hear birds). The outside pool is surrounded with Mediterranean trees and beautiful flowers and has a really nice bar. It seemed as we have traveled back in time a few decades and stayed in a chic old-style villa. We loved it and we shall definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maja05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luigi Z, Direttore at Villasanpaolo, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Maja, it makes all of us very proud to read your comments. We appreciate your preference given to Villasanpaolo and to know your satisfaction. I tell often to our Team that being 5 stars does not always mean to be in a luxurious palace with lots of treasures around, but it does especially mean to offer our genuine hospitality and assistance to all guests. I am grateful for your stay with us and for visiting San Gimignano and its incredible region. yours, Luigi Zaccardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

We recently stayed two nights at Villa San Paolo and had an excellent stay. The hotel is located about 5km from San Gimignano and although we would have liked to have walked into the township, the roads are very narrow, windy and do not have pedestrian pavements so driving was the only option. The staff were able to recommend parking options in San Gimignano - and they also offered free parking on-site at the hotel.
Our room was very spacious, one of the largest rooms we have encountered in Italy and it had a nice-sized balcony, although being Winter we did not use it much except to take photos of the view of San Gimignano in the distance. The bed was very large - and had top quality, crisp bedlinen. The bathroom was very spacious, had dual vanities and a bath. Whilst we did not use the spa facilities on our too-short a stay, the bath was a bit of a treat!
We did not frequent the restaurant in the evening but did use room-service which was excellent. Good variety on the menu. Breakfast in the mornings was very good and very pleasant view looking out over Tuscan countryside.
Wifi was excellent in the rooms and was no extra charge.
My only comment would be that the decor was a little unexceptional - and this is purely a personal opinion. I found the rooms to be a mix of 'country, villa-style' and 'modern, contemporary style' which didn't quite work together. Throughout the room and the hotel itself, there was an eclectic mix of artwork. It lacked a certain 'je ne sais quoi'. Again, this is a personal opinion. Overall though, the hotel met all expectations and we had a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Room 204 was a very spacious room with a good view out over to San Gimignano. It had a spacious bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JES19702012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luigi Z, Direttore at Villasanpaolo, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
we are delighted of your stay with us in december and sincerely grateful for your kindness in sharing with readers your experience of Villasanpaolo. We hope you treasure your vacation in San Gimignano and to welcome you again soon, from everyone in our Team and myself, Luigi Zaccardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilbarchan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We recently spent five nights for our thirtieth wedding anniversary and can't recommend this place highly enough. From the initial welcome, our fabulous clean room looking straight at San Gimignano, the wonderful breakfasts and dinners - what else can we say. All of the staff are very friendly and helpful including guidance on how to use Italian trains !
For those staying, if you have a car take a run to Volterro a wonderful small fortified hill town with great eateries and terrific views.
We will certainly be back - at the earliest opportunity
Evelyn & Frank Grant, Scotland

Room Tip: Upper floors are better with views over the Tuscan countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luigi Z, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villasanpaolo, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
dear signori Frank, our warmest regards and sincere gratitude for your stay with us on your Wedding Anniversary ! hope to welcome you back soon ! yours Luigi Zaccardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We recently returned from a two week holiday at the Villasanpaolo where we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Luigi and his staff were always smiling and couldn't have been more helpful. Our room was very clean, spacious and the jasmine covered balcony overlooked the Tuscan hills. The view from the dining room was exquisite both during the day and when the moon rose in the evening. The swimming pool was in a beautiful setting and the surrounding olive groves and vineyards made this hotel a truly beautiful experience. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JCBMEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luigi Z, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villasanpaolo, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
dear Friends from UK , it has been our pleasure to host your vacations to San Gimignano and Villasanpaolo ! and a special GRAZIE MILLE from all of us for your special comments and appreciation. we will be superhappy to welcome your return ! cordially, Luigi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
2.9 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
2.3 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
#4 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villasanpaolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villasanpaolo

Property: Villasanpaolo
Address: Strada Provinciale 95/14, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Gimignano
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villasanpaolo 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villasanpaolo SPA & Wellness Hotel is a beautiful charming resort part of Whotels Worldeide circuit. The hotel is located in San Gimignano (Siena) surrounded by a private park, offer all kinds of amenities. Hotel consists of two Villas of 1800 to which was added the new Village welcomes guests into a world of well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villasanpaolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Paolo
San Paolo Hotel
San Paolo Villa
Villasanpaolo San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing