We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ABSOLUTELY THE BEST!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tenuta Torciano

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Gimignano
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tenuta Torciano
Florence, Toscana, Italy
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTELY THE BEST!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

I'm an English teacher who moved from Chicago to Florence this year and have visited my share of wineries and wine tastings in Tuscany. I say this with complete sincerity and confidence that the experience at Tenuta Torciano is by far the best I've had. From the warm greeting and smiles by the staff to Pierluigi's comedic and captivating presentation (not to mention the delicious food and wine!)... the authentic experience is something I recommend wholeheartedly! While the 8 glasses of wine and 4 courses of food are definitely worth mentioning, it is the entire energy and charm of Pierluigi's presentation that makes this the best. I recently brought 20 of my friends there last night and he had the entire room laughing the whole time. You will leave feeling like you've gained a new best friend. I know I have! :) Enjoy-- you will not be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dinabosco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    19
    2
    3
    15
See reviews for
18
36
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

We visited this winery in October 2011 while on a group tour. We bought some wine and olive oil which we were led to believe would be shipped to our home from Chicago. Despite repeated attempts to reach the winery to inquire about our purchase, no delivery has been made to date - March 2012. Email gets no response and the phone is not answered.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AurMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

From the minute we walked into the gate of Tenuta Torciano, we felt at home. Mira greeted us with a warm smile and a generous heart. We drank and were educated about wonderful wine and were fed fabulous food. The soup and lasagna were scrumptious beyond words. Seven wines, four courses and an authentic Italian experience made this our most memorable stop.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesmos11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Hope, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Splendido Pierluigi!

We'll bring another group back in 2012. ")

Grazi,

D. Johns

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mercury C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

We had a wonderful visit to Tenuta Torciano with plenty of good food and wines. Pierluigi, the proprietor is a great host. The wine tasting was conducted in an entertaining and welcoming atmosphere. The wines are very good, ranging from delicate whites, to Chiantis to super Tuscan’s. Besides the wine, you will have a chance to taste Torciano’s own olive oil, balsamic vinegar and truffle oil. We received the wines we purchased from Torciano timely. All packed in wine shippers and delivered through FedEx. In all, we were very impressed with the service.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hmart004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

We were staying in Siena for a few nights & decided to do a day trip with a company as we were travelling by train & had no way to see Tuscany or a winery otherwise. Travelled in November so our tour bus turned out to be a minivan with one other couple which was fantastic.

Late afternoon our tour included a winery stop at Tenuta Torciano, I was sceptical as we were led inside however were led into a beautiful tasting room with about 10 glasses set up each. Our tour just included nibbles so the the hams, crackers & cheeses were perfect & the wines, oils & vinegar were great.

The owner was entertaining, obviously doing his usual talk but as a New Zealander I took it all with a grain of salt, he mainly focused on the American couple which suited us fine. We were not there to buy as we have better/cheaper wine at home so he left us alone when the selling started.

Overall an unexpected surprise of an afternoon. Nice food & wine in good company. Very happy to only have a few of us there - hence why we did Italy in the off season to avoid the crowds.

Touristy but tastefully done!

Room Tip: We did not stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WritingKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSP
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

We had an unpleasant time and experience with the wine tasting our recent visit and experience to Tenuta Torciano winery. According to what was wrote in the emails from Luciana (the owner's wife) we had a reservation for a private wine tasting in a private tasting room for 7 people.

We were ten minutes late as the navigator took us to a private house / dentist studio up the road and we had to call Tenuta to verify location.

When we arrived, there were large tour buses and several other cars in the parking lots. We walked to the area where a large group was seated outside and inside in two other buildings. I asked about our reservation for the private wine tasting for our group. I was told that someone would be with me shortly. In the meantime, Pierluigi (owner) greeted us outside on the patio and directed us to come and sit down on the patio where a wine tasting was taking place and in progress with a large group. Our group of 7 people were not able to sit together and we had to two separate tables.

It was very loud and we were very distracted with all the noise. I told Pierlugi were were supposed to have a private wine tasting in a private room and he indicated we could go inside but we would have to rush and he wouldn't be able to attend to our group. We stayed outside cause we left we didn't have a good choice. We also had a very rude man that took care of our two tables. He made a remark that I was not looking at him while he was teaching us how to hold our glass and I explained to him that I was trying to get the other two people in our group that were not sitting at our table to look at him. He stopped and scolded us for not following his direction. In fact, he was so soft-spoken, we couldn't hear him plus all the noice with the large group and Pierluigi talking very loud was not a good mix.

The large group had already sampled four wines and we were rushed to catch up. I specified in my original email that we were white wine drinkers and we only were served one white wine. When I asked about what was promised to taste, we were told the wines were all gone. We asked about the other white wines on the price list and same response, none left. A very direct answer. We felt as if there was no concern. We were told we could order the wines though. Why would we order something we have not tasted?

We wasted our whole day traveling to and from Tenuta Torciano as we were staying in Arezzo. We only had near one hour of time and we didn't get what we reserved.

After the large group was finished and the parties were leaving, Pierlugi saw the order form filled out by my father that was a large order, he then offered our group a discount for our wine tasting. We were supposed to be served ARISTA (roast pork) - we didn't receive as well.

we should have been told in advance if the wine were we tasting were not available so we could have found another winery and wine tasting. Very poor of Tenuta Torciano winery.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alaska07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
5.7 mi away
Fattoria San Donato
Fattoria San Donato
#13 of 111 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Le Renaie
Hotel Le Renaie
#1 of 1 in Pancole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
3.3 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#5 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
7.4 mi away
Villa Dini
Villa Dini
#1 of 2 in Castel San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenuta Torciano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta Torciano

Property: Tenuta Torciano
Address: Via di Crocetta 18 | Frazione Ulignano, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 111 Speciality Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All apartments and rooms have access to a large garden with sunbathing area and private parking. Adjacent at FARMHOUSE there is the WINE-CELLAR, the old wine storage, the WINE TASTING ROOM and the ENOTECA TENUTA TORCIANO where you can enjoy good wines. (follow the link Activities to the left).Join us, with Pierluigi, host of this set of Dinner with WineMaker, where you can taste pur propietor's wine, paired with a dinner of fantastic Tuscan Recipes.At the ned of the evening, in a few steps, you'll be in your comfortable bedroom in Tenuta Torciano Winery Resort. 1 Night in Double King Room 8 Great Tuscan products to taste in the vineyardAppetizer Tuscan Salame and Fantastic Tuscan CheesesList of Wine you'll taste during the tasting Brunello di Montalcino Nobile di Montepulciano Bartolomeo "Cabernet" Old Vitnage Baldassarre "Merlot" Old Vintage Cavaliere "Syrah" Old Vintage Vernaccia di San Gimignano, Tuscany Chianti Classico D.O.C.G. Balsamic Vinegar Old Gold Reserve Tuscan wine tasting :LOVE, POETRY AND IMAGINATION! If you are a lover of everything that is Italian, especially if you love the Tuscany wine, Tenuta Torciano Winery & the Tuscan Wine Tasting School is the ideal place to visit. The winery of San Gimignano is situated in the heart of Tuscany, 35 minutes from Florence and 20 minutes from Siena, surrounded by a beautiful hilly area, with a succession of unique in its kind, with its green hills, with its towering cypress trees, long stretches of beautiful vineyards, olive groves, forests of oak and lovely villages.When you visit Tenuta Torciano Winery of san Gimignano , All of you will be in Italy, together with a Tuscan wine family, consisting of a chain of 13 generations of wine producers, where you will receive a warm hospitality, Tuscan traditions handed down from father to son, the simple and good tuscan life. You can spend a pleasant and beautiful time to relax, enjoying fine tuscan wines along with other farm products, but mainly, you will live a unique experience and will be in contact with the Italians and with our simple, friendly and genuine way to behave with our guests, transmitting to all the people who come to visit, sympathy, warmth and smile, because the wine is love, poetry and imagination! If you are looking for Italian wines, gourmet foods, gift baskets, original, handmade wine accessories in our marketplace will enjoy a unique shopping experience and buy wine online In our store you will find award-winning Tuscan wines - Chianti - Chianti Classico - Chianti Classico Reserve- Brunello di Montalcino - Rosso di Montalcino - Nobile di Montepulciano - Montepulciano Red - Super Tuscan products blend of Sangiovese, Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon and Syrah, as the Our popular Wine Event Earth - our Bartolomeo - Cavaliere - Baldassarre - Eterno and Musicale. Then there are our famous white wines such as Vernaccia di San Gimignano and other very appreciated white wines. You will also find a high-quality olive oil and Balsamic Vinegar Gold Reserva. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tenuta Torciano San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing