We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what we expected”
Review of Tenuta Torciano

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Gimignano
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tenuta Torciano
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We made reservations for a wine tasting at Tenuta Torciano and were disappointed by the experience. I have been to other tastings where time is given to explain the wines, how they are made and the subtleties of the tastes.

This was all lacking.

While we did have a delicious lunch with seven different wines, nothing was explained. All seven wines were placed before us to try but no one was available a thing about the wines. It was quite busy, a bus tour had stopped by and there were other groups there as well. Next time I will be sure I do my homework to ensure a winery has the time and desire to make this a fun experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calvin86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    19
    2
    3
    15
See reviews for
18
36
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

A thank you to Pierluigi for making my husband Tom's 50th birthday so special. The wine tasting and food .....fabulous and the accommodations perfect. We received our shipment about a week after we returned home as did our niece and her husband who traveled with us.

Looking forward to another visit to torciano.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJPTAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrick, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2012

My parents have visited Tenuta Torciano a few times, and they treated me to this wonderful experience last week on our trip to Rome. On our day trip to Tenuta Torciano, we experienced a private room tasting of 11 wines and a four course lunch. Pierluigi was very helpful with explaining each wine to us, describing the flavors, and teaching us the correct way to taste and smell each sample. He did all that while making us laugh over his jokes and quirky sense of humor. The truffle oil was AMAZING. We bought 3 bottles. It was served over lasagna bolognese, which I plan on recreating at home. The Chianti Classica Reserva was our favorite. Pierluigi makes you feel welcomed and special, as he gave us extra samples of wine at the end, including some very high-end reds, and a dessert wine with biscotti. It was absolutely a memorable experience and I am already in the midst of writing a review on my foodie travel blog www.jackofalltravels.com.

Room Tip: We didn't stay overnight at the winery, but it would have been wonderful. The service was fantas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackieF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Our family visited this winery for a wine tasting in April. Not only was the wine fantastic, but the food was outstanding! We were served homemade lasagna, covered in the winery's own truffle olive oil. We were able to order wine and olive oil to be shipped directly to our home, which was very convenient. It was a great family experience!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girlchisholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Toscana, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Pierluigi offers a unique and enjoyable experience where good wine meets grand passion. He is albe to teach and entertain at the same. The location is gorgeous and offers the perfect setting to enjoy lots of good food with even better wine. He is one of the sweetest Italians I have ever met and his passion for wine, food, and Tuscany is contagious. I hope I can enjoy his company again over a glass or two.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

After living in Tuscany for eight months, I can honestly say Pierluigi offers THEE best wine tasting experience to date. His knowledge and passion is what makes the evening a night to remember. I've visited him twice now and plan to return with my family next month. The wine, the food, the atmosphere - you can't beat it. If you are in Tuscany, you MUST make the trip to Tenuta Torciano.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Toscana, Italy
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I'm an English teacher who moved from Chicago to Florence this year and have visited my share of wineries and wine tastings in Tuscany. I say this with complete sincerity and confidence that the experience at Tenuta Torciano is by far the best I've had. From the warm greeting and smiles by the staff to Pierluigi's comedic and captivating presentation (not to mention the delicious food and wine!)... the authentic experience is something I recommend wholeheartedly! While the 8 glasses of wine and 4 courses of food are definitely worth mentioning, it is the entire energy and charm of Pierluigi's presentation that makes this the best. I recently brought 20 of my friends there last night and he had the entire room laughing the whole time. You will leave feeling like you've gained a new best friend. I know I have! :) Enjoy-- you will not be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dinabosco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
5.7 mi away
Fattoria San Donato
Fattoria San Donato
#13 of 111 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Le Renaie
Hotel Le Renaie
#1 of 1 in Pancole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
3.3 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#4 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
4.0 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenuta Torciano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta Torciano

Property: Tenuta Torciano
Address: Via di Crocetta 18 | Frazione Ulignano, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 111 Speciality Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All apartments and rooms have access to a large garden with sunbathing area and private parking. Adjacent at FARMHOUSE there is the WINE-CELLAR, the old wine storage, the WINE TASTING ROOM and the ENOTECA TENUTA TORCIANO where you can enjoy good wines. (follow the link Activities to the left).Join us, with Pierluigi, host of this set of Dinner with WineMaker, where you can taste pur propietor's wine, paired with a dinner of fantastic Tuscan Recipes.At the ned of the evening, in a few steps, you'll be in your comfortable bedroom in Tenuta Torciano Winery Resort. 1 Night in Double King Room 8 Great Tuscan products to taste in the vineyardAppetizer Tuscan Salame and Fantastic Tuscan CheesesList of Wine you'll taste during the tasting Brunello di Montalcino Nobile di Montepulciano Bartolomeo "Cabernet" Old Vitnage Baldassarre "Merlot" Old Vintage Cavaliere "Syrah" Old Vintage Vernaccia di San Gimignano, Tuscany Chianti Classico D.O.C.G. Balsamic Vinegar Old Gold Reserve Tuscan wine tasting :LOVE, POETRY AND IMAGINATION! If you are a lover of everything that is Italian, especially if you love the Tuscany wine, Tenuta Torciano Winery & the Tuscan Wine Tasting School is the ideal place to visit. The winery of San Gimignano is situated in the heart of Tuscany, 35 minutes from Florence and 20 minutes from Siena, surrounded by a beautiful hilly area, with a succession of unique in its kind, with its green hills, with its towering cypress trees, long stretches of beautiful vineyards, olive groves, forests of oak and lovely villages.When you visit Tenuta Torciano Winery of san Gimignano , All of you will be in Italy, together with a Tuscan wine family, consisting of a chain of 13 generations of wine producers, where you will receive a warm hospitality, Tuscan traditions handed down from father to son, the simple and good tuscan life. You can spend a pleasant and beautiful time to relax, enjoying fine tuscan wines along with other farm products, but mainly, you will live a unique experience and will be in contact with the Italians and with our simple, friendly and genuine way to behave with our guests, transmitting to all the people who come to visit, sympathy, warmth and smile, because the wine is love, poetry and imagination! If you are looking for Italian wines, gourmet foods, gift baskets, original, handmade wine accessories in our marketplace will enjoy a unique shopping experience and buy wine online In our store you will find award-winning Tuscan wines - Chianti - Chianti Classico - Chianti Classico Reserve- Brunello di Montalcino - Rosso di Montalcino - Nobile di Montepulciano - Montepulciano Red - Super Tuscan products blend of Sangiovese, Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon and Syrah, as the Our popular Wine Event Earth - our Bartolomeo - Cavaliere - Baldassarre - Eterno and Musicale. Then there are our famous white wines such as Vernaccia di San Gimignano and other very appreciated white wines. You will also find a high-quality olive oil and Balsamic Vinegar Gold Reserva. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tenuta Torciano San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing