We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“overlooking lovely piazza”
Review of Hotel Leon Bianco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Leon Bianco
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“overlooking lovely piazza”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Situated on a lovely piazza in a pretty town. San Gimignano is overrun by tourists from 9am to 6pm but there is a great atmosphere in the evening and our room was on the first floor overlooking the piazza. The period furniture with carved wooden cherubs was interesting but not my taste and added to the experience of staying in such an old building. Bathroom modern and good and excellent breakfast on the outdoor terrace where the morning sun lights up the old brickwork. Cheapest place to park is P1 - maximum of 6 euros per day and then it's a 15 minute walk to the hotel. Staff said you could drive right up to the hotel to drop off luggage but I wouldn't like to do that with so many pedestrians to watch out for.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter499485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneLeonBianco, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Mr Peter,

thank you very much for your positive comments on our hotel, we are glad that you have enjoyed yourself to the hotel Leon Bianco and that you have appreciate our structure and our service,

we hope to can see you again here,

warmest regards from all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    289
    48
    8
    3
See reviews for
129
515
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We had a huge double room with panoramic views and a hot tub. The room had a view of a little square with some outdoor cafes below. The hotel is very clean and we were treated well by everyone we met. The breakfast in the outdoor area was really good!! It included pastries, meats, cheeses, eggs, cappuccino, juices and a nice view. Did I mention some seriously delicious cream puff pastries?

If you want a nice dinner with a view in town, make a reservation a few days in advance and remember dining starts late by American standards. Most restaurants don’t open for dinner until 7:30. Get out of San Gimignano during the day when the tour groups arrive because it gets very crowded!

I loved the hotel but I wasn’t a big fan of San Gimignano. It just seemed a little too fake and touristy. I know I’m a tourist but it felt like a tourist trap. How many torture museums does a small town in the Tuscan Countryside need? The hotel is a great place stay as long as you’re spending the day exploring other towns.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2TakeMeAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneLeonBianco, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your beautiful review, you liked everything of our hotel and this is great for us! It's very interesting taht you said about San Gimignano and how you felt, but I want to give you some suggestions in the case you will come back: avoid torture museums (I'm agree with you, too many...) and visit the many art galleries that we have, the historical museums and all that concern the real history of San Gimignano and its art, you will find many interesting things and not only turistic traps.

Hoping to can meet you again here, we send our best regards,

all the staff of San Gimignano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This was our first night on a Tuscany walking tour. It was comfortable, clean, and very well located. The staff were uniformly friendly and helpful. The gelato at the store across the square was to die for.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cqsj1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneLeonBianco, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Guest,

we thank you for your good feedback that is very important for our work, and we are happy that you liked all of our hotel,

waiting for your next visit,

best regards from all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesloch, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Hotel Leon Blanco is in the very centre of San Gimignano - you step outside and dive in the charm of Tuscany. We had a room on the last floor overviewing the main square. Staff was extremely helpful. It can be a bit difficult to reach with a car, better to park the public parkings and walk there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneLeonBianco, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Vicky,

your lovely review is a very nice present that you have made to us, we are very happy that you have appreciate our hotel and our staff,

thank you very much from all the staff of Hotel Leon Bianco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed here for one night and the staff were extremely helpful. The room was good as was breakfast. It was very central and we could sit outside and watch the world go by. It is a very interesting small town, not too many tourists in late September.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank discerning t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneLeonBianco, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your positive comments, we appreciate you have spent time writing a so nice review, and we are glad that you have enjoyed yourself in our hotel,

waiting to welcome you again we send you our warmest regards,

all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We arrived by car, slightly perturbed at the number of tourists we had to wade through to get to the central square where the hotel is located, but it was well worth it. Previous reviewers have commented on this and it is true that you have to park your car down the hill in one of the car parks but so what?..if you want to be in a great location it is no big deal. We were so happy to be there we booked another night and so glad we did. St Gimignano is a wonderful place, buzzing and vibrant. We were lucky enough to visit on Market Day, Thursday. And what a sight to wake up to as the square was filled with stalls, covered over by huge canopies..we hadn't even heard them setting up below our window, the triple glazing is so effective!

I usually love peace and quiet but I found it a real treat to be in the midst of the action. The hotel is lovely, clean and traditional in decoration. The staff are friendly, accommodating and helpful, we could not fault the room, (just don't expect tea and coffee making facilities) the breakfast was just fine with a lovely terrace to enjoy. All in all a great experience..would definitely return!

Room Tip: We had No. 11 at the front, great if you love being part of the action and for people watching. Comp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneLeonBianco, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Nicola,

it's nice for us to know that those who usually are the "inconvenience" for customers, such as the car park or the market on Thursday morning, for you were not unpleasant. and we agree with you, if you want to stay in an exceptional location you can also walk 5 minutes to park the car, also beacause you can arrive in front of the hotel to drop off your luggages.

Thank you for your beautiful review and for all your positive comments, we wait to welcome you again,

warmest regards from all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

My husband and I recently spent 5 nights at the very central Hotel Leon Bianco and had a wonderful stay. Our room had a lovely view over the Tuscan countryside at the rear of the hotel and was very quiet. It's true that the town attracts lots of tourists during the day - everyone wants to see the amazing 14 tall towers that are left!! But in the evenings, after about 6:30 pm when most of the tourists have gone, it is lovely and peaceful and we were able to fully appreciate this historic town. We found our room was contemporary, a very comfortable bed, all spotlessly clean, and all the staff we encountered were efficient and very friendly, breakfast was plentiful, under cover on the terrace: nothing was too much trouble - we had left our electric appliances adaptor behind, but Reception found one for us in no time at all. We thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel - quieter and with a view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tammytwo45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneLeonBianco, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Tammy,

what a lovely review, thank you very much, guest's satisfaction is our enjoy, especially where is a long stay like your. You had a room overlooking the valley and it's beautiful and romantic in the morning open the windows and see the sun that wake up... we are glad that you have appreciate our hotel and our works, we wait for an your next visit,

warmest regards from all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Cisterna Hotel
La Cisterna Hotel
#7 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
2.1 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#4 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leon Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leon Bianco

Property: Hotel Leon Bianco
Address: Piazza della Cisterna 13, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
#6 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leon Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A holiday at Hotel Leon Bianco, ancient hotel run by the same family for more than thirty years, is a step back in time: it is located in one of the most beautiful squares of the historical center, Piazza della Cisterna, inside an ancient palace surrounded by majestic towers of the Middle Ages.The Leon Bianco has maintained the fascination of its ancient origins: the simplicity that binds to the taste and to a warm welcome.Guests staying at the hotel Leon Bianco enjoys the best location, right in the heart of the historic center, to revive the atmosphere of the medieval village and to be able to explore San Gimignano, its typical little streets, the beautiful fortress of Montestaffoli, and all the wonders that this town offers then, he is in the position to visit the most important cities of Tuscany.At dispousal of our guests also a jacuzzi 5 sitz in the terrace, a fitness and a billiard rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Leon Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leon Bianco Hotel
Leon Bianco San Gimignano
Hotel Leon Bianco San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing