We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, great hotel right in the center” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Leon Bianco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Leon Bianco
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Perfect location, great hotel right in the center”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Everything about this hotel was great, our room was huge with a couch, mini bar fridge, comfy bed, huge bathroom, iron and ironing board and 2 windows that were sound proof but great for looking down on the main square in San Gimi. The hotel helped arrange a walking tour and also a half day tour with one of the locals to Volterra. The rooms are clean and the hotel us in an old palace but very well kept. If you have kids it also has pool tables, table tennis tables and a gym. I'd stay here in a heart beat.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneLeonBianco, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear Mr Andrew,

what a beautiful comments!! we are really happy that you have been satisfied of all aspects of our hotel, and thank you very much to point out also the entertainments for kids (and not only)!

We hope to can see you again here, thank you and best regards from all the staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    280
    47
    7
    3
See reviews for
125
507
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night at the beginning of our Tuscan holiday. Chose the townas it was a nice easy 1 hour drive from Pisa airport. We got a non-panoramic view room (was the only one left) but we still had some view onto the surrounding hills. The room was great. Comfortable bed and fantastic shower. The breakfast was also good. Cold meats, pastries, fruit, cereal, cappucinos etc..

Parking:we left our car in car park 3. We decidedto walk instead of wait for the bus (1euro p.p) and it took about 10 mins. I wouldn't recommend this if you've a few heavy bags though. The car park was 15 euro for 24 hours.

Overall a very good stay, and if we return to SG we would certainly stay here.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rex_Beardsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneLeonBianco, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your beautiful review, we are happy that you have appreciated your room and the buffet breakfast, we really hope to can see again here!

warmest regards from all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Situated on a lovely piazza in a pretty town. San Gimignano is overrun by tourists from 9am to 6pm but there is a great atmosphere in the evening and our room was on the first floor overlooking the piazza. The period furniture with carved wooden cherubs was interesting but not my taste and added to the experience of staying in such an old building. Bathroom modern and good and excellent breakfast on the outdoor terrace where the morning sun lights up the old brickwork. Cheapest place to park is P1 - maximum of 6 euros per day and then it's a 15 minute walk to the hotel. Staff said you could drive right up to the hotel to drop off luggage but I wouldn't like to do that with so many pedestrians to watch out for.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter499485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneLeonBianco, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Mr Peter,

thank you very much for your positive comments on our hotel, we are glad that you have enjoyed yourself to the hotel Leon Bianco and that you have appreciate our structure and our service,

we hope to can see you again here,

warmest regards from all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We had a huge double room with panoramic views and a hot tub. The room had a view of a little square with some outdoor cafes below. The hotel is very clean and we were treated well by everyone we met. The breakfast in the outdoor area was really good!! It included pastries, meats, cheeses, eggs, cappuccino, juices and a nice view. Did I mention some seriously delicious cream puff pastries?

If you want a nice dinner with a view in town, make a reservation a few days in advance and remember dining starts late by American standards. Most restaurants don’t open for dinner until 7:30. Get out of San Gimignano during the day when the tour groups arrive because it gets very crowded!

I loved the hotel but I wasn’t a big fan of San Gimignano. It just seemed a little too fake and touristy. I know I’m a tourist but it felt like a tourist trap. How many torture museums does a small town in the Tuscan Countryside need? The hotel is a great place stay as long as you’re spending the day exploring other towns.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2TakeMeAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneLeonBianco, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your beautiful review, you liked everything of our hotel and this is great for us! It's very interesting taht you said about San Gimignano and how you felt, but I want to give you some suggestions in the case you will come back: avoid torture museums (I'm agree with you, too many...) and visit the many art galleries that we have, the historical museums and all that concern the real history of San Gimignano and its art, you will find many interesting things and not only turistic traps.

Hoping to can meet you again here, we send our best regards,

all the staff of San Gimignano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

This was our first night on a Tuscany walking tour. It was comfortable, clean, and very well located. The staff were uniformly friendly and helpful. The gelato at the store across the square was to die for.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cqsj1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneLeonBianco, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Guest,

we thank you for your good feedback that is very important for our work, and we are happy that you liked all of our hotel,

waiting for your next visit,

best regards from all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesloch, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Hotel Leon Blanco is in the very centre of San Gimignano - you step outside and dive in the charm of Tuscany. We had a room on the last floor overviewing the main square. Staff was extremely helpful. It can be a bit difficult to reach with a car, better to park the public parkings and walk there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneLeonBianco, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Vicky,

your lovely review is a very nice present that you have made to us, we are very happy that you have appreciate our hotel and our staff,

thank you very much from all the staff of Hotel Leon Bianco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed here for one night and the staff were extremely helpful. The room was good as was breakfast. It was very central and we could sit outside and watch the world go by. It is a very interesting small town, not too many tourists in late September.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank discerning t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneLeonBianco, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your positive comments, we appreciate you have spent time writing a so nice review, and we are glad that you have enjoyed yourself in our hotel,

waiting to welcome you again we send you our warmest regards,

all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Cisterna Hotel
La Cisterna Hotel
#7 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
2.0 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#5 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leon Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leon Bianco

Property: Hotel Leon Bianco
Address: Piazza della Cisterna, 13, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
#6 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leon Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A holiday at Hotel Leon Bianco, ancient hotel run by the same family for more than thirty years, is a step back in time: it is located in one of the most beautiful squares of the historical center, Piazza della Cisterna, inside an ancient palace surrounded by majestic towers of the Middle Ages.The Leon Bianco has maintained the fascination of its ancient origins: the simplicity that binds to the taste and to a warm welcome.Guests staying at the hotel Leon Bianco enjoys the best location, right in the heart of the historic center, to revive the atmosphere of the medieval village and to be able to explore San Gimignano, its typical little streets, the beautiful fortress of Montestaffoli, and all the wonders that this town offers then, he is in the position to visit the most important cities of Tuscany.At dispousal of our guests also a jacuzzi 5 sitz in the terrace, a fitness and a billiard rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Leon Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leon Bianco Hotel
Leon Bianco San Gimignano
Hotel Leon Bianco San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing