We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel Leon Bianco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Leon Bianco
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Reading
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located in the centre of San Gimignano off one of the main squares. If you are staying for a few days I would recommend parking in P1 car park as it is the cheapest and then either getting the bus into town or doing what we did and walking into town (it's roughly 15 minutes walk but be aware it's all up hill).
The hotel is modern and clean and our room had a spectacular view out over the countryside. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The staff were polite and friendly and the breakfast was okay. A very minor point, the wifi was temperamental and would often lose signal.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    295
    50
    9
    3
See reviews for
133
526
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My wife and I stayed one night in the Leon Bianco recently and found it to be perfectly acceptable, with a larger than usual bedroom and bathroom, very clean, located on the Piazza della Cisterna, in the heart of San Gimignano. We were a bit worried about the possibility of noise, given the close proximity to the piazza, but our room did not face the piazza, and we had no noise problems. The bed was comfortable, the water hot and the breakfast ample and of reasonable quality. This is a good hotel that delivers what it is supposed to -- quality and comfortable lodging at a reasonable price. All in all, a better than average place to stay.

Room Tip: We had Room 31, a room without a view, opening onto an interior courtyard. It was quiet and spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneLeonBianco, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear Mr Chris,

thank you for your nice review, we are happy that you have apperciate our tariffs and also the comfort of our rooms, the quiet is very important and all our windows are well soundproofed (also those that overlook the square). We thank you again and we hope to can accomodate you again in the future,

best regards from all the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My first visit to San Gimignano was made more special by staying at this hotel.
You couldn't fault it. My room was spacious and overlooked the popular Piazza Della Cisterna where during the evenings I would gaze from my bedroom window at the crowds below relaxing and being entertained by two musicians. The furnishings were exquisite and reflected the class and style of the hotel. Breakfast was generous and located in the peaceful surroundings of the terrace floor. I would return here in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view and maybe a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneLeonBianco, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear Mr Reg,

the title that you gave to your review makes us proud of our hotel and of our work, do not happen every day to receive these compliments and "dream hotel" is certainly one of the most beautiful.

Thank you again and we hope to can see you soon here...

best regards from all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel Valley, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Wonderful, well located hotel with professional and helpful staff. Our room overlooked the Piazza della Cisterna with great views of the towers and street life. Quiet at night, the room was very comfortable and the breakfast extensive and satisfying.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneLeonBianco, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear Mr Tim,

thank you very much for your beautiful review and your positive feedback, as you said the view on the square from our hotel is really beautiful just in front of the majestic towers....

If you will come back we will be glad to can accomodate you again,

thank you again and warmest regards from all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Everything about this hotel was great, our room was huge with a couch, mini bar fridge, comfy bed, huge bathroom, iron and ironing board and 2 windows that were sound proof but great for looking down on the main square in San Gimi. The hotel helped arrange a walking tour and also a half day tour with one of the locals to Volterra. The rooms are clean and the hotel us in an old palace but very well kept. If you have kids it also has pool tables, table tennis tables and a gym. I'd stay here in a heart beat.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneLeonBianco, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear Mr Andrew,

what a beautiful comments!! we are really happy that you have been satisfied of all aspects of our hotel, and thank you very much to point out also the entertainments for kids (and not only)!

We hope to can see you again here, thank you and best regards from all the staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night at the beginning of our Tuscan holiday. Chose the townas it was a nice easy 1 hour drive from Pisa airport. We got a non-panoramic view room (was the only one left) but we still had some view onto the surrounding hills. The room was great. Comfortable bed and fantastic shower. The breakfast was also good. Cold meats, pastries, fruit, cereal, cappucinos etc..

Parking:we left our car in car park 3. We decidedto walk instead of wait for the bus (1euro p.p) and it took about 10 mins. I wouldn't recommend this if you've a few heavy bags though. The car park was 15 euro for 24 hours.

Overall a very good stay, and if we return to SG we would certainly stay here.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rex_Beardsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneLeonBianco, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your beautiful review, we are happy that you have appreciated your room and the buffet breakfast, we really hope to can see again here!

warmest regards from all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Situated on a lovely piazza in a pretty town. San Gimignano is overrun by tourists from 9am to 6pm but there is a great atmosphere in the evening and our room was on the first floor overlooking the piazza. The period furniture with carved wooden cherubs was interesting but not my taste and added to the experience of staying in such an old building. Bathroom modern and good and excellent breakfast on the outdoor terrace where the morning sun lights up the old brickwork. Cheapest place to park is P1 - maximum of 6 euros per day and then it's a 15 minute walk to the hotel. Staff said you could drive right up to the hotel to drop off luggage but I wouldn't like to do that with so many pedestrians to watch out for.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter499485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneLeonBianco, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Mr Peter,

thank you very much for your positive comments on our hotel, we are glad that you have enjoyed yourself to the hotel Leon Bianco and that you have appreciate our structure and our service,

we hope to can see you again here,

warmest regards from all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#5 of 30 in San Gimignano
736 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Cisterna Hotel
La Cisterna Hotel
#8 of 30 in San Gimignano
731 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 30 in San Gimignano
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 30 in San Gimignano
613 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
655 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
#11 of 30 in San Gimignano
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leon Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leon Bianco

Property: Hotel Leon Bianco
Address: Piazza della Cisterna 13, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
#6 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leon Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A holiday at Hotel Leon Bianco, ancient hotel run by the same family for more than thirty years, is a step back in time: it is located in one of the most beautiful squares of the historical center, Piazza della Cisterna, inside an ancient palace surrounded by majestic towers of the Middle Ages.The Leon Bianco has maintained the fascination of its ancient origins: the simplicity that binds to the taste and to a warm welcome.Guests staying at the hotel Leon Bianco enjoys the best location, right in the heart of the historic center, to revive the atmosphere of the medieval village and to be able to explore San Gimignano, its typical little streets, the beautiful fortress of Montestaffoli, and all the wonders that this town offers then, he is in the position to visit the most important cities of Tuscany.At dispousal of our guests also a jacuzzi 5 sitz in the terrace, a fitness and a billiard rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Leon Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leon Bianco Hotel
Leon Bianco San Gimignano
Hotel Leon Bianco San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing