We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful San Gimignano weekend!”
Review of Hotel Leon Bianco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Leon Bianco
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We've been enjoying San Gimignano for over 30 years and believe that it's ESSENTIAL to stay within the city walls...We recently stayed at the Leon Bianco (we alternate between it, the Cisterna, and the Bel Soggiorno) during the January holiday season, and we were not disappointed in any of the hotel features. Our room was very reasonably priced, heated well, furnished simply but adequately, and the view overlooking the piazza was just what we requested. (too foggy and rainy to enjoy the panoramic view of the hills...) We always appreciate the fact that there's an elevator--many older hotels don't have that feature. Parking is best at Lot #2 and it is expensive (E20 per day), but well worth it...If you have much luggage, it is possible to drive to the hotel (by the back way!) to unload..The bountiful buffet breakfast is included in the price--meat, cheese, scrambled eggs, cereal, brioche, yogurt, toast, etc.--if they don't have what you want, you don't need it! The staff is very friendly, efficient, and accommodating. After reading what I just wrote, I'm ready to go back to San Gim. to enjoy it all over again! (Great shopping, good food, interesting sights--try the Museo del Vino--it's not in Tripadvisor yet, but they offer wine tasting--4 or 6 kinds, white and/or red--for 10 Euros--then you can go and visit the wineries and buy more! We did! Museo del Vino--follow the signs to the top of the hill--right off the Piazza area...) Happy traveling!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy171717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneLeonBianco, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Nancy,

thank you very much for your beautiful review! Many people like you love to come back many time to San Gimignano and always discover something new of this beautiful town. We are very happy that all aspects of our hotel have satisfied your taste, and we hope to can see you soon to Hotel Leon Bianco!!

Warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (918)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

229 - 235 of 918 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

The rooms were good size, clean, and very nice. Breakfast was included and was a good addition. The location cannot be beat and the staff was courteous and helpful. If you are driving, follow the hotel's directions, it's much easier that it sounds.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Ross P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneLeonBianco, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Mr Ross,

thank you very much for your generous review, we have really appreciated your compliments, we are glad becauese you liked everything of Hotel Leon Bianco, for this reason we hope to can see you soon in the future,

best regards,

Hotel Leon Bianco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

San Gimignano is a special place to visit. Generally, you've heard about it and you go out of your way to visit it. Getting the best of this hilltop medieval town, you absolutely want to stay in the CENTRE of it and there's no better centre that on the main square. That's the location of Hotel Leon Bianco. I had browsed through many accommodation websites before settling for this hotel. I was travelling with my husband and brother. We wanted separate hotel rooms. Leon Bianco is not the cheapest but in reading 'room tips' I discovered they have a little advertised 2-bedroom apartment. It is not mentioned on their website and is very popular. It is SPACIOUS with a lovely lounge/dining area, huge, well equipped bathroom, beautifully appointed main bedroom and smaller 2nd bedroom. It has an iron/ironing board, bar fridge, cutlery and crockery. It did not have a kettle or kitchenette or breadboard etc, so you could do limited food / drink preparation. But the hotel staff were very accommodating and when we wanted to make coffee, we asked room service to bring us boiling water which they did at no cost. It was perfect for our requirements. The apartment comes with breakfast and we enjoyed a broad spread on the hotel terrace. Hotel Leon Bianco was also the only hotel we stayed at in Italy that had a work out room, with treadmill and exercise machines. Both the guys beat me at table tennis, which is in the same room. But we're not in San Gimi to hang around the hotel. We had a wonderful two days exploring the little town and went for a lovely walk on a nearby farm. We came away with lovely memories. It was well worth the effort getting off the beaten track to visit this special place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helgavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed there for three nights and used this as a base to explore Tuscany. This lovely hotel is situated in the central square of this beautiful walled city that is enjoyed best in the evening when you can truly appreciate it's unique beauty. Rooms are spacious and well appointed. The breakfast buffet has a wide variety of offerings and served in a space with terrace that overlooks the city. Before staying there let them know that you are coming so that you can drive your car into the city to unload your luggage.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MET51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This is the third time since 2004 that I have stayed in this lovely hotel and I am never disappointed! The same wonderful family has managed it during this time and it is always a joy to see them and see that the hotel's quality and beauty is maintained and in some cases enhanced. The breakfast is excellent with a large variety of choices for anyone's taste. San Gimignano is a magical medieval tower village and this hotel is a little taste of history,

Room Tip: A room with a view is a must. Room 11 has a view of the piazza and Room 25 has a view of the countr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed here on our second night "inside" San Gimignano. It was recommended that we see the Walled City at night when all of the day trippers have left. We are SO glad that we transferred here for the night! A great Location!! We attempted to drive in, part way, to drop our luggage off, but didn't get all the way there. We are from the US & driving a standard car (after 20 yrs) on a cobble stone, winedy streets, in the rain...we got as far as we could & walked he rest! Fortunately, upon check out, they drove us to the parking lot we parked at so we didn't have to walk there with our bags :) We had dinner @ Le Vecchie Mura Ristorante...OMG, sooooo good! The best homemade pasta Bolognese, ever! We still talk about it. The city is a smaller version of Siena...which both came highly recommended...we definitely preferred San Gimignano!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

To be able to step out the front door and be surrounded by history and beauty is to stay here and enjoy the moment. Rarely can you find a location that provides all of that for a cost that doesn't break the bank. A must for taking in the beauty of San Gimignano.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank booksVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
809 reviews
0 mi away
La Cisterna Hotel
La Cisterna Hotel
#8 of 29 in San Gimignano
780 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
#9 of 29 in San Gimignano
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
670 reviews
2.1 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,350 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#5 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leon Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leon Bianco

Address: Piazza della Cisterna 13, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range: £69 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leon Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A holiday at Hotel Leon Bianco, ancient hotel run by the same family for more than thirty years, is a step back in time: it is located in one of the most beautiful squares of the historical center, Piazza della Cisterna, inside an ancient palace surrounded by majestic towers of the Middle Ages.The Leon Bianco has maintained the fascination of its ancient origins: the simplicity that binds to the taste and to a warm welcome.Guests staying at the hotel Leon Bianco enjoys the best location, right in the heart of the historic center, to revive the atmosphere of the medieval village and to be able to explore San Gimignano, its typical little streets, the beautiful fortress of Montestaffoli, and all the wonders that this town offers then, he is in the position to visit the most important cities of Tuscany.At dispousal of our guests also a jacuzzi 5 sitz in the terrace, a fitness and a billiard rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Leon Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leon Bianco Hotel
Leon Bianco San Gimignano
Hotel Leon Bianco San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing