We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in signature location, opposite the cisterna. Good room, high up, huge views east.”
Review of Hotel Leon Bianco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Leon Bianco
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Verbier, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Good hotel in signature location, opposite the cisterna. Good room, high up, huge views east.”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Great location, beside busy square of the cisterna, by a good bar, the World’s Best Gelato!? Room was fine, comfortable and high up, big views east, sunset on the hills. Breakfast was good, on terrace first floor. Service friendly. WIFI worked in room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank william e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneLeonBianco, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear William,

thank you very much for your positive comments! We are very happy that you have appreciated all aspects of our hotel and location, this is a great satisfation for us!

Hoping to see you again here,

kind regards from all our staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    295
    50
    9
    3
See reviews for
133
526
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

When you come here and you should, book room number 12. :) We overlooked the piazza. It is in the coolest spot! The room is pretty small, but the ceilings are high and painted in gorgeous Tuscan fashion.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneLeonBianco, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guy,

thank you very much for your beautiful review, we are really satisfied that you liked everythings of your stay here....I'm agree, room 12 is really charmant!

Hoping to see you again here,

warmest regards from al our staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darlington, UK
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The hotel itself was amazing. Old rustic building, great location in the town with beautiful views onto the Tuscan hillsides. Nice size bedroom and bathroom with all amenities needed.
The only downside was the staff were very unwelcoming. Upon check in they never took the effort to point you towards the lift, explain anything about the location of the hotel in relation to the town and upon passing them in reception struggled to raise a smile.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funkrye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneLeonBianco, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Sir,

we are happy that you found our hotel amazing and that you liked our rooms and structure, we apologize if our staff dindn't help you enough at the check in and if the persons at the desk didn't smile you.....usually we are still very friendly with our guests, maybe a bad day.....

We hopo to can accomodate you again in the future,

best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Hotel Leon Bianco was the first stop on our honeymoon and it was a wonderful choice! The hotel was clean, our room was incredibly spacious, and our views were spectacular! Ask for a room on a higher floor with views of the countryside - you can see for miles over the rolling hills and wineries of Tuscany. The breakfast is nice as well; if you want more than a standard coffee/tea, all you have to do is ask the waitress and she'll whip up a delicious latte or cappuccino for you. The staff at the front desk were pleasant - not terribly friendly - but nice enough. The hotel is in such a great location that you don't really need to ask for much from the front desk. Another major plus point is the wifi - it was free and our connectivity was great all over the hotel. You are also across the square from the best gelato in the world, so take full advantage!
I highly recommend this hotel if you find yourself in San Gimignano.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-in-Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneLeonBianco, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Anne,

thank you very much for your beautiful review and for recommend our hotel to the other readers. as you say, the view of the countryside is amazing and we are lucky to have this location where the guests, and us :-)), can enjoy both views: medieval square and countryside.
Your compliments are really appreciated, and we hope to can see you again here,

warmest regards from all us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have just spent a week in this lovely hotel and had a wonderful time. The hotel itself was comfortable, spotless and pretty and the staff attentive and helpful. We enjoyed a delicious buffet breakfast each day and were lucky enough to have a room with a stunning view over the Tuscan countryside. It was a real privilege to come back to San Gimignano each evening when it was much quieter than in the day time and to enjoy time sitting in the Piazza Cisterna before crossing the square to go to bed. We also enjoyed a few glasses of the local white wine and some stunning ice cream. On Thursday morning we walked out into the square and discovered the local market taking place. Combine all that with stunning Medieval architecture and wonderful museums and shops and you have a pretty perfect recipe for a good time. Park in P1 and walk up the hill, it really is not too far and ask about parking rates because the hotel can help with this. There is a shuttle bus if you have heavy cases. San Gimignano is very touristy but it deserves to be. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We were in room 29 which had a stunning view. It was right next door to the breakfast room and I wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneLeonBianco, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Sally,

thank you for your beautiful review! we are really happy that you have spent a wonderful week to the Hotel Leon Bianco! Thank you to point out many positive aspects of our hotel, breakfast, room, and our nice staff that will be satisfied!
You are kind persons and we hope to can see you again in our hotel,

warmest regards from all us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Can't ask for better.Perfect location, great room, excellent breakfast and very welcoming staff.
Reserve well in advance and ask for a room with piazza views.Even if the staff speak english, learn some basic italian; it is appreciated and it will help you.
We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Reserve well in advance and ask for a room with piazza views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoliesCheres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneLeonBianco, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Folies,

thank you very much for you excellent review! we are glad that everything has satiesfied your
tastes, the room, the breakfast, our staff...that's great!

We really wait for your next visit,

warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New South Wales, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

stayed only one night, wished it was longer. great views from room, fantastic breakfast, wi fi was good, staff were very professional. modern. fantastic location in central piazza. daily crowds could be a problem , but they go and you wake up to no crowds and fabulous scenery. parking outside walled city is $$$ , but just part of staying there. easyish to walk around city, not too steep and few stairs, compared to other towns. would go back

Room Tip: ask for room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shoalbay01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneLeonBianco, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Shoalbay,

what a great review, thank you very much! We have really appreciated all your compliments about our structure and rooms, breakfast and services! Parking is a little bore but when you see the location you immediately forget the car.....

we hope to can see you again,

warmest regards from all our staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#5 of 30 in San Gimignano
735 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Cisterna Hotel
La Cisterna Hotel
#7 of 30 in San Gimignano
731 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#2 of 30 in San Gimignano
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 30 in San Gimignano
613 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
655 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
#11 of 30 in San Gimignano
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leon Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leon Bianco

Property: Hotel Leon Bianco
Address: Piazza della Cisterna 13, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
#6 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leon Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A holiday at Hotel Leon Bianco, ancient hotel run by the same family for more than thirty years, is a step back in time: it is located in one of the most beautiful squares of the historical center, Piazza della Cisterna, inside an ancient palace surrounded by majestic towers of the Middle Ages.The Leon Bianco has maintained the fascination of its ancient origins: the simplicity that binds to the taste and to a warm welcome.Guests staying at the hotel Leon Bianco enjoys the best location, right in the heart of the historic center, to revive the atmosphere of the medieval village and to be able to explore San Gimignano, its typical little streets, the beautiful fortress of Montestaffoli, and all the wonders that this town offers then, he is in the position to visit the most important cities of Tuscany.At dispousal of our guests also a jacuzzi 5 sitz in the terrace, a fitness and a billiard rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Leon Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leon Bianco Hotel
Leon Bianco San Gimignano
Hotel Leon Bianco San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing