We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost a Castle” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Leon Bianco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Leon Bianco
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Tequesta, Florida
Level Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Almost a Castle”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Arrived around 14:00. Was given the key and shown the elevator. Staff not that welcoming. Arrived at the room to find it dirty, bed unmade, and the bath blown up. That always unnerves my wife. Left bags in room, went to lobby to inform, and went for a walk in a beautiful city. Came back to a large clean room with a beautiful view of the piazza out our window. Opened the french doors off the seating area on the side and had a glass of wine we bought on our walk. Enjoyed the view of the valley below. (rm38) After dinner we finished the night with a gelato from Gelateria Dondoli. Our daughter claims it is the best we have had in Italy so far. Some time around 2am the lights in the room came on, went off, and the air conditioner stopped working. Cool night so it was not a problem. Had a below average breakfast, walked to get the car, and enjoyed another white knuckle ride through town to pick up the girls.

Room Tip: This was a large corner room with a window overlooking the piazza and a seating area off the side wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiaDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneLeonBianco, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Dia,

thank you for spending your time to write a review on our Hotel. We are very glad that you enjoyed the room (nr 36, not 38 ...), we regret that it was not ready at the time of your arrival, check-in begins at 2 pm, and that time it happened that some rooms do not were still clean ... excuse us! With regard to the lack of electricity during the night, when there is a blackout, no one can do anything except wait for the light to come back ......
For breakfast, we prepare home-made cakes, pastries, different types of cereals, cold meats and cheeses, boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, bacon, yogurt, fruit juices, fruits, cappuccino and freshly brewed coffees, different types of bread, jams, butter ...... certainly a nutritious breakfast, maybe when you arrived for breakfast the buffet had to be replenished and you have got the impression that there were few things to eat.
However, the advice of the customers are always welcome, and help us to improve our work, so we appreciate your review and we hope to can accommodate you and your family again.

Kind regards from all our staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    279
    47
    6
    3
See reviews for
125
505
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Spent 3 nights here. Very comfortable room with a great setting in the middle of the Plaza. Had view of the Plaza which is busy during the day, but lovely and quiet at night. Or, you can choose a view of the countryside. We were lucky to be here the weekend of the town medieval festival. Fabulous medieval music, dancing and costumes in a wonderful pageant. The staff are welcoming and helpful, they booked reservations for us at 2 different restaurants. Hotel has a great breakfast, and free wifi in the rooms which is very fast. We will be back, this is a great base to explore some of the Tuscan countryside.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredhikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneLeonBianco, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Guests,

thank you very much for your lovely review, we are glad that you loved our hotel and our serivces, you have been lucky to find the festival of the "Knighs of Santa Fina", an original Medieval representation that runs every June.

Hoping to see you soon to our hotel, we send you our warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verbier, Switzerland
Level Contributor
195 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Great location, beside busy square of the cisterna, by a good bar, the World’s Best Gelato!? Room was fine, comfortable and high up, big views east, sunset on the hills. Breakfast was good, on terrace first floor. Service friendly. WIFI worked in room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank william e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneLeonBianco, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear William,

thank you very much for your positive comments! We are very happy that you have appreciated all aspects of our hotel and location, this is a great satisfation for us!

Hoping to see you again here,

kind regards from all our staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

When you come here and you should, book room number 12. :) We overlooked the piazza. It is in the coolest spot! The room is pretty small, but the ceilings are high and painted in gorgeous Tuscan fashion.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneLeonBianco, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guy,

thank you very much for your beautiful review, we are really satisfied that you liked everythings of your stay here....I'm agree, room 12 is really charmant!

Hoping to see you again here,

warmest regards from al our staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darlington, UK
Level Contributor
116 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

The hotel itself was amazing. Old rustic building, great location in the town with beautiful views onto the Tuscan hillsides. Nice size bedroom and bathroom with all amenities needed.
The only downside was the staff were very unwelcoming. Upon check in they never took the effort to point you towards the lift, explain anything about the location of the hotel in relation to the town and upon passing them in reception struggled to raise a smile.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank funkrye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneLeonBianco, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Sir,

we are happy that you found our hotel amazing and that you liked our rooms and structure, we apologize if our staff dindn't help you enough at the check in and if the persons at the desk didn't smile you.....usually we are still very friendly with our guests, maybe a bad day.....

We hopo to can accomodate you again in the future,

best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Hotel Leon Bianco was the first stop on our honeymoon and it was a wonderful choice! The hotel was clean, our room was incredibly spacious, and our views were spectacular! Ask for a room on a higher floor with views of the countryside - you can see for miles over the rolling hills and wineries of Tuscany. The breakfast is nice as well; if you want more than a standard coffee/tea, all you have to do is ask the waitress and she'll whip up a delicious latte or cappuccino for you. The staff at the front desk were pleasant - not terribly friendly - but nice enough. The hotel is in such a great location that you don't really need to ask for much from the front desk. Another major plus point is the wifi - it was free and our connectivity was great all over the hotel. You are also across the square from the best gelato in the world, so take full advantage!
I highly recommend this hotel if you find yourself in San Gimignano.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-in-Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneLeonBianco, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Anne,

thank you very much for your beautiful review and for recommend our hotel to the other readers. as you say, the view of the countryside is amazing and we are lucky to have this location where the guests, and us :-)), can enjoy both views: medieval square and countryside.
Your compliments are really appreciated, and we hope to can see you again here,

warmest regards from all us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have just spent a week in this lovely hotel and had a wonderful time. The hotel itself was comfortable, spotless and pretty and the staff attentive and helpful. We enjoyed a delicious buffet breakfast each day and were lucky enough to have a room with a stunning view over the Tuscan countryside. It was a real privilege to come back to San Gimignano each evening when it was much quieter than in the day time and to enjoy time sitting in the Piazza Cisterna before crossing the square to go to bed. We also enjoyed a few glasses of the local white wine and some stunning ice cream. On Thursday morning we walked out into the square and discovered the local market taking place. Combine all that with stunning Medieval architecture and wonderful museums and shops and you have a pretty perfect recipe for a good time. Park in P1 and walk up the hill, it really is not too far and ask about parking rates because the hotel can help with this. There is a shuttle bus if you have heavy cases. San Gimignano is very touristy but it deserves to be. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We were in room 29 which had a stunning view. It was right next door to the breakfast room and I wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneLeonBianco, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Sally,

thank you for your beautiful review! we are really happy that you have spent a wonderful week to the Hotel Leon Bianco! Thank you to point out many positive aspects of our hotel, breakfast, room, and our nice staff that will be satisfied!
You are kind persons and we hope to can see you again in our hotel,

warmest regards from all us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Cisterna Hotel
La Cisterna Hotel
#7 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
2.0 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#5 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leon Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leon Bianco

Property: Hotel Leon Bianco
Address: Piazza della Cisterna, 13, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
#6 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leon Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A holiday at Hotel Leon Bianco, ancient hotel run by the same family for more than thirty years, is a step back in time: it is located in one of the most beautiful squares of the historical center, Piazza della Cisterna, inside an ancient palace surrounded by majestic towers of the Middle Ages.The Leon Bianco has maintained the fascination of its ancient origins: the simplicity that binds to the taste and to a warm welcome.Guests staying at the hotel Leon Bianco enjoys the best location, right in the heart of the historic center, to revive the atmosphere of the medieval village and to be able to explore San Gimignano, its typical little streets, the beautiful fortress of Montestaffoli, and all the wonders that this town offers then, he is in the position to visit the most important cities of Tuscany.At dispousal of our guests also a jacuzzi 5 sitz in the terrace, a fitness and a billiard rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Leon Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leon Bianco Hotel
Leon Bianco San Gimignano
Hotel Leon Bianco San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing