We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Go!”
Review of Hotel Leon Bianco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Leon Bianco
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Lovely spot, right in the middle of the old part of town. Our rooms had a splended view to the east over the Tuscan countryside, with swallows crisscrossing the garden below in flight each evening. San Gimignano is more relaxed and less overrun with tourists than Florence -- visitors tend to come on day trips, so early morning and evenings are much quieter. It's a safe place for kids to venture out, and for those who enjoy hiking there are informal routes down roads and farm paths in most directions from the town. Make sure to tour the basilica, which has the classic Old and New Testament scenes on its walls. It's smaller yet more accessible than some of the other locations you'll probably see in Italy. The Leon Bianco is family-owned by people who have grown up there. The staff is gracious, pleasant, and goes out of their way to help. We arrived by bus rather than renting a car, and were happy to be in a spot where there was no need to drive. Oh, and just the across the central town square are not one but two different gelato places that each claim to be the best in the world...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HMB12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneLeonBianco, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your beautiful review about our Hotel and also about San Gimignano, that is a wonderful town to visit in Toscany. Durung the morning and in the evening people can enjoy the quiet and a particular athmosphere that only the ancient towns have....

Thank you also for recommend our hotel to the other trippers!

We hope to can see you again here,

kind regards from all our staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (908)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

204 - 210 of 908 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

My first bit of advice is to get driving/parking instructions from the hotel prior to arriving. That will save you a 20-30 minute walk to the hotel and then back to your car. You can pull right up to the hotel in the old town to deposit your luggage; however, it's a bit tricky to navigate. There was no one at the front desk when we arrived. I asked housekeeping and they found someone. Our room was simple and fairly clean. The bed linens seemed old and were rough and the bed was a a metal cot with a very thin mattress. On a positive note, the window overlooked the cisterna and the piazza! Unlike other reviewers, our AC worked well. The bath was adequate.

Upon checkout, I was required to pay the city tax in euros. I asked to put it on my credit card and was told it had to be in cash. I had to dig through my purse and pockets to find enough as I was not expecting this. That seemed odd to me.

Anyway, it was an adequate hotel (1 star) in a terrific location (4 stars). Several dining and gelato options nearby.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bella3106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneLeonBianco, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Bella,

thank you for sharing your opinion about our hotel on Tripadvisor, we are glad that you liked the view of the Piazza and we regret if you didn't like some aspects of hotel Leon Bianco.

Our rooms are simple but well groomed, the sheets are checked (those old reported and replaced), mattresses and beds in the standards of any 3 star hotel (not 1). The front desk staff may be absent at the moment, for a request of a client or perhaps to get a glass of water, however, we are sorry if you had to wait a few minutes.

For reason of administration we ask the guests to pay the city tax in cash, are usually few coins and we don't think it can be a big bore for the clients.....

Thanks anyway and kind regards from all our staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Arrived around 14:00. Was given the key and shown the elevator. Staff not that welcoming. Arrived at the room to find it dirty, bed unmade, and the bath blown up. That always unnerves my wife. Left bags in room, went to lobby to inform, and went for a walk in a beautiful city. Came back to a large clean room with a beautiful view of the piazza out our window. Opened the french doors off the seating area on the side and had a glass of wine we bought on our walk. Enjoyed the view of the valley below. (rm38) After dinner we finished the night with a gelato from Gelateria Dondoli. Our daughter claims it is the best we have had in Italy so far. Some time around 2am the lights in the room came on, went off, and the air conditioner stopped working. Cool night so it was not a problem. Had a below average breakfast, walked to get the car, and enjoyed another white knuckle ride through town to pick up the girls.

Room Tip: This was a large corner room with a window overlooking the piazza and a seating area off the side wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiaDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneLeonBianco, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Dia,

thank you for spending your time to write a review on our Hotel. We are very glad that you enjoyed the room (nr 36, not 38 ...), we regret that it was not ready at the time of your arrival, check-in begins at 2 pm, and that time it happened that some rooms do not were still clean ... excuse us! With regard to the lack of electricity during the night, when there is a blackout, no one can do anything except wait for the light to come back ......
For breakfast, we prepare home-made cakes, pastries, different types of cereals, cold meats and cheeses, boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, bacon, yogurt, fruit juices, fruits, cappuccino and freshly brewed coffees, different types of bread, jams, butter ...... certainly a nutritious breakfast, maybe when you arrived for breakfast the buffet had to be replenished and you have got the impression that there were few things to eat.
However, the advice of the customers are always welcome, and help us to improve our work, so we appreciate your review and we hope to can accommodate you and your family again.

Kind regards from all our staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Spent 3 nights here. Very comfortable room with a great setting in the middle of the Plaza. Had view of the Plaza which is busy during the day, but lovely and quiet at night. Or, you can choose a view of the countryside. We were lucky to be here the weekend of the town medieval festival. Fabulous medieval music, dancing and costumes in a wonderful pageant. The staff are welcoming and helpful, they booked reservations for us at 2 different restaurants. Hotel has a great breakfast, and free wifi in the rooms which is very fast. We will be back, this is a great base to explore some of the Tuscan countryside.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retiredhikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneLeonBianco, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Guests,

thank you very much for your lovely review, we are glad that you loved our hotel and our serivces, you have been lucky to find the festival of the "Knighs of Santa Fina", an original Medieval representation that runs every June.

Hoping to see you soon to our hotel, we send you our warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Great location, beside busy square of the cisterna, by a good bar, the World’s Best Gelato!? Room was fine, comfortable and high up, big views east, sunset on the hills. Breakfast was good, on terrace first floor. Service friendly. WIFI worked in room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank william e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneLeonBianco, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear William,

thank you very much for your positive comments! We are very happy that you have appreciated all aspects of our hotel and location, this is a great satisfation for us!

Hoping to see you again here,

kind regards from all our staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

When you come here and you should, book room number 12. :) We overlooked the piazza. It is in the coolest spot! The room is pretty small, but the ceilings are high and painted in gorgeous Tuscan fashion.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneLeonBianco, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guy,

thank you very much for your beautiful review, we are really satisfied that you liked everythings of your stay here....I'm agree, room 12 is really charmant!

Hoping to see you again here,

warmest regards from al our staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The hotel itself was amazing. Old rustic building, great location in the town with beautiful views onto the Tuscan hillsides. Nice size bedroom and bathroom with all amenities needed.
The only downside was the staff were very unwelcoming. Upon check in they never took the effort to point you towards the lift, explain anything about the location of the hotel in relation to the town and upon passing them in reception struggled to raise a smile.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funkrye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneLeonBianco, Proprietario at Hotel Leon Bianco, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Sir,

we are happy that you found our hotel amazing and that you liked our rooms and structure, we apologize if our staff dindn't help you enough at the check in and if the persons at the desk didn't smile you.....usually we are still very friendly with our guests, maybe a bad day.....

We hopo to can accomodate you again in the future,

best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
780 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Cisterna Hotel
La Cisterna Hotel
#7 of 29 in San Gimignano
766 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
#10 of 29 in San Gimignano
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 29 in San Gimignano
659 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
665 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#4 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leon Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leon Bianco

Address: Piazza della Cisterna 13, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
#6 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range: £70 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leon Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A holiday at Hotel Leon Bianco, ancient hotel run by the same family for more than thirty years, is a step back in time: it is located in one of the most beautiful squares of the historical center, Piazza della Cisterna, inside an ancient palace surrounded by majestic towers of the Middle Ages.The Leon Bianco has maintained the fascination of its ancient origins: the simplicity that binds to the taste and to a warm welcome.Guests staying at the hotel Leon Bianco enjoys the best location, right in the heart of the historic center, to revive the atmosphere of the medieval village and to be able to explore San Gimignano, its typical little streets, the beautiful fortress of Montestaffoli, and all the wonders that this town offers then, he is in the position to visit the most important cities of Tuscany.At dispousal of our guests also a jacuzzi 5 sitz in the terrace, a fitness and a billiard rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Leon Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leon Bianco Hotel
Leon Bianco San Gimignano
Hotel Leon Bianco San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing