We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & magnificent views.....But some rooms in need of a refurb....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Great location & magnificent views.....But some rooms in need of a refurb....”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The hotel is well situated, but it is in need of a revamp in the bedrooms. The room we had was big enough, but very old and musky and had the smallest bathroom & shower I have ever used. The room did lead on to a large balcony with incredible views of the Tuscan hills, especially in the mornings when the fog was trapped between them... Judging by some of the other reviews there are possibly better rooms. The breakfast is really good, again with amazing views through the floor to ceiling windows.There are some great restaurants in the town, and around 7pm there are barely any people around as all of the coach tours have all dispersed leaving a calm and peaceful town to enjoy and get some good photos without the crowds.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedal-Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    147
    38
    10
    6
See reviews for
71
187
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The hotel is built into the wall of the city. Our room was on the top (4th) floor and the view of Tuscany was amazing. The included breakfast was outstanding (it makes you realize how bad American food is by comparison) and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is somewhat pricey by US standards but if you can afford this place, stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobodobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA and Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We only spent 2 nights in this great little hotel/BnB in September. But would love to come back for longer in the future. San Gimi is our favorite Tuscan town.. This is the best hotel within the walls that we have found.
Our Jnr suite had the most amazing views across the valley and we loved just sitting on the balcony drinking wine and absorbing the great scenery.
The location was perfect for exploring San Gimi and being able to take in life in the beautiful town before and after the tour groups leave. The hotel is amongst it all!
The room was pretty basic but comfortable, of good size and had lots of air and light.
Bathroom was clean /older style but all one needed.
Those on reception were very friendly and most welcoming.
We ate at the restaurant one night and it was wonderful. The environment, the food and the fact they let us drink one of our own wines made for a very memorable evening. Breakfasts in the same restaurant were also very enjoyable. We watched the servers taking alot if care setting up tables, polishing glasses etc. They really cared and were very professional.
Driving your car to this hotel is difficult as it is on a one way thru road that doesn't allow cars, so my advice is just pack a small overnight bag and walk down from the car park at the top of the hill..
There is an elevator, in the hotel, so this us a big plus. Many Hill town hotels only have stairs..
There are many room types at this hotel, i cannot comment on the others, but can thoroughly recommend the suite we had and the great hotel and restaurant and hope to return here one day soon. Loved it..

Room Tip: We loved our Jnr suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luvin-Life+Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Hotel is located in the old part of the town
Our room was on the 4th floor so we had a fabulous view from the windows
Friendly staff at front desk, nice breakfast and fantastic dinner at the restaurant; plus while you eat you have a incredible view of the valley
Would stay there again

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate p P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa District, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

We have been for a night in bel soggiorno hotel and we can say that the location is excellent. The rooms are very nice, big and well equipped. The breakfast is good. The staff is very helpful. Good value for the price. If you are coming to San Geminiano with a car you can find parking lot not far away from the hotel.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MGmg2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This is friendly Hotel, fantastic location, right on the main shopping street, and Rear rooms have a spectacular view over the Tuscan Hills
Parking underground is actually only a short walk and an asset but iut was dry when we were there, may not be so handy in wet weather
Only a few gripes, Hotel is rather tired, but then aren't all Italian Hotels ?
Breakfast selection is very basic and could be enhanced a little. Wi fi is available in all rooms even though website says only in public areas,. Bathroom Towels are best suited to drying dishes rather than bodies, but again all Italian Hotels still don't seem to have woken up to Egyptian cotton fluffy towels yet, why not I will never know.
Nevertheless this is a Hotel you would want to return to .Knowing in advance the location, and parking options takes the hassle out of staying in this charming and breathtaking Town.

Room Tip: Book a Suite with a small balcony, worth extra Euros for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RollerCoaster999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines ON
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This lovely little hotel is nestled on the side of the hill in the walled city of San Gimigiano. The accommodations are a bit dated, but still a jewel. We had rooms with a large terrace overlooking the Tuscan countryside. Beautiful for a relaxing evening or early morning coffee. The included breakfast offered a good variety of food. More than enough for anyone's appetite. The staff is friendly and very accommodating. The only drawback is that there are no safes in the rooms. However we were happy to be so close to excellent restaurants, great shopping and evening walks to the piazza. One other thing to consider is that there are no vehicles permitted to park inside the town and so, parking was a bit of a walk to the underground, secured garage. Definitely still worth the small Inconveniences though.

Room Tip: Choose a room with the large terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiamondLil49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 29 in San Gimignano
741 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Cisterna Hotel
La Cisterna Hotel
#8 of 29 in San Gimignano
742 reviews
0.3 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 29 in San Gimignano
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
#5 of 29 in San Gimignano
887 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
656 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bel Soggiorno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bel Soggiorno

Property: Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Address: Via San Giovanni, 91, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bel Soggiorno 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bel Soggiorno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Soggiorno Hotel
Bel Soggiorno San Gimignano
Hotel Bel Soggiorno San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing