We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Unique Tuscan Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casanova di Pescille

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casanova di Pescille
Certificate of Excellence
SouthGa
Level Contributor
158 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Unique Tuscan Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

We could not be happier with our two nights at the beautiful Agriturismo Casanova di Pescille! Roberto and his family made us feel like special guests in a private home surrounded by olive groves, pomegranite (sp?) trees, vineyards in the Tuscan countryside. Our room was quiet, comfortable, spotlessly clean - we slept great, then awakened to a sumptuous breakfast buffet featuring meats and cheeses, fruits, homemade jams and jellies! We also took advantage of a wonderful Tuscan cooking class with Chef Saverio - we cooked then ate a full four course Italian meal - wonderful! The onsite restaurant - Saffron - was a special experience! With almost everything made onsite - wines, lemoncello, jams, honey - you feel the slow-cooked, made with care atmosphere in every experience. We loved it! Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthGaTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    42
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
107
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

My wife and I stayed 2 nights at this heavenly place recently. We were met on arrival by our gracious host Roberto who could not do enough for us during our stay. As my wife is Italian she enjoyed numerous very humerous conversations with Roberto during our time at Casanova. Casanova di Pescille is set in the Tuscan hills surrounding by beautiful and pictureque vineyards a short driving distance from San Gimigiano. Our accomodation was quaint and very clean and comfortable. We discovered during our stay that there is a very delightful freestanding brick house which is available for rent and has cooking faclilities. There is an out door sitting area where you just relax and take in the splendid views of the countryside and meet and chat with other guests of the farmhouse. You can also buy and enjoy in this outdoor setting some of the produce of the agroturismo such as chianti and grappa which Roberto has on display for sale. It was here we met and got to know other guests from all over the world. The truly surprising thing about Casanova was its own restaurant in which Roberto's family worked. The food was exceptional and on par with any thing else we ate in the whole of Tuscany. This place is idyllic to just relax and enjoy the best of what Tuscany has to offer. If I had a complaint it is our stay was too short. My wife and I are planning to return to Casanova and spend at least a week enjoying Roberto's hospitality. I even managed to make a friend out of Roberto's grumpy dog, Hector.
Marcel, Sydney Australia

Room Tip: Consider the self standing separate brick house. It is very quaint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

If you are looking to experience Tuscany, this is a perfect spot. Right outside the walls of the most charming town in Tuscany. We saw Florence, Sienna, Assisi and much more from this location. When it was time for a break this place was quit and peaceful to relax and recharge the batteries. Can't say enough good things about the family that runs the casanova. Beautiful spot.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

We loved our stay at Casanova di Pescille for our Wedding Anniversary. The welcoming was excellent and we were given a separate cottage for our stay. The accommodation was very nice and quite quaint. The setting for the Hotel was picture perfect, set amongst the rolling hills, vinyards and olive groves typical of Tuscany.

The staff (all members of the owner's family) were very pleasant and accommodating, the room was serviced daily and the swimming pool and surroundings were beautiful.

We decided to eat at the restaurant on the first night and enjoyed the food so much that we chose to have dinner there every night of our one week stay. The food, cooked by the owner's son (a qualified chef), was excellent and we were able to try all the typical Tuscan dishes. We would have loved to try his cooking classes but we were too busy enjoying the local surrounding towns and the peace and tranquility of the beautiful area.

We also enjoyed the owner's wines and appreciated the open 'honesty' bar where we could help ourselves to drinks at any time.

The hotel is located close to the beautiful old town of San Gimignano (about 2 km) and if you enjoy walking, it is a pleasantly challenging 45 minute walk through the olive groves and vinyards. The hotel location makes it perfect to explore the beautiful Tuscan countryside and the towns of Florence and Sienna and the chanti region. While we chose not the use a car, the trains and buses we excellent for getting around the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
344 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stayed five days at Casanova di Pescille and leaving this charming Tuscan farmhouse and its kind, gentle hosts, was the toughest part of our trip. I could only bring myself to leave by promising Roberto we'd be back, bringing family and friends. In our 2 weeks in Italy, this was by far the highlight. We knew we wanted a Tuscan agriturismo, but finding one near San Gimignano with air conditioning for the July heat, proved difficult. We're so thankful we found Casanova di Pescille to celebrate our one-year wedding anniversary!

The history of the place dates back generations to the mayor of San Gimignano building the place, and Roberto carrying on the family tradition with his daughter helping out as well. The rooms are gorgeous - we slept like a log, by pulling in the shutters, the rooms are so peaceful and quiet at night. Wonderful modern bathroom amenities, en-suite refrigerator, great wardrobe, cozy furniture and gorgeous stone walls and wood ceilings. We had our own spacious terrace overlooking the Tuscan hills leading up to San Gimignano. The grounds are studded with swings, lounging areas, and the honor system bar area is so perfect for when you've forgotten to pick up water or a drink on the way home!

Charmed is not the word - I was moved by my time here. The family, their proud Hector dog and rambunctious curious kitty Maxine, the flow of the farm and family restaurant, the town and surrounding area. San Gimignano at night is a traveler's dream... we enjoyed impromptu concerts in the churches and town squares, incredible meals and the kindness of strangers and locals alike. Area wineries and drives to other Tuscan towns are an easy romp from the agriturismo. We visited Castellini in Chianti (twice), Raddi in Chianti, Volterra, and a couple others.

We had dinner twice in the restaurant, with that first night being the best meal of our whole trip! Cheese with honey from their farm, homemade pasta, wild boar, pork with their farm apricots, steak for the hubby, and our dessert of peach crepes was decorated in a gorgeous butterfly design. We enjoyed the farm's wine as well. The morning breakfasts are equally abundant and relaxing on the shaded terrace porch.

We couldn't stop exploring towns to visit the pool but on our next trip, will carve time.

I could go on and on, but part of me wants to keep this place a secret. It is truly extraordinary, the vision of a Tuscan countryside holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jamie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homer glen, illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

Well...were do I begin? My daughter and I just returned from a wonderful 2 week trip. We stayed here for 7 nights and everything was above and beyond our expectations. I chose Casanova di Pescille based on other reviews on trip advisor and it was just how I dreamed a Tuscan farmhouse stay would be. The family was so charming, kind and efficient. Roberto knew we would be arriving late and was waiting for us. Even though it was past the restaurant's serving hours, we were kindly offered dinner, which was delicious. We enjoyed dinner here two of our evenings and both meals were fabulous, served by Diletta (Roberto's daughter) who was so lovely. This is a family run farm and it was evident in every way how much they care.
We had a beautiful room on the first floor with our own terrace, a very nice bathroom with a great shower and plenty of toiletries. Our breakfast every morning was delicious with a huge variety of food...eggs, meat, yogurt, bread, sweets, fresh apricots from their trees and coffee, tea and juice as well.
The weather was hot while we were there, so the pool was a welcome relief. It was perfectly clean and so refreshing. We would go out in the morning and visit a small hill town and then come back for a swim and enjoy our lunch that we picked up in town. We could then go back out to nearby San Gimignano for the evening when the crowds had gone. San Gimignano was one of our favorite towns and only a 5 minute drive from Casanova di Pescille. I would not recommend walking into town, due to the fact that the roads are narrow and winding up and down. We parked in the closest lot right outside the city walls to save ourselves a long uphill walk in the heat ( only 1 euro more per hour).
Casanova di Pescille was a perfect location to visit all our destinations: the small hill towns were only about 1/2 hour and even Florence and Siena and Chianti were only an easy hour by car. We loved the fact that we could unpack our bags for a week and settle into our " home away from home" while we toured the Tuscan region.
Thank you Roberto and family for the perfect stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billriordan57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

My husband and I stayed here in August 2009 (not August 2011) for our 1 year anniversary. (I've wanted to write a review since then, but it's taken me a while!) The farmhouse was lovely -- quiet and beautiful surroundings. The family who owns are lovely people. The food was absolutely fantastic -- the suckling pig and cinghiale pasta were my two favorites. The Vernaccia was delicious. Our room was beautiful, charming, cute -- I don't remember the room number, but it was right across from the restaurant. It was two levels -- first level had the kitchen and living room, second level had the bedroom and bathroom. The place was spotless. The bathroom looked brand new. It was like having our own little apt in the middle of Tuscany. The pool is as large and nice as it looks in pictures. The only thing to watch out for are bees -- we only sat at the pool for an hour during our week long stay because I was afraid to get stung! I would not hesitate to return to this place. It was truly wonderful.

Room Tip: Ask for a bi-level room, especially if visiting for an extended time. More space to spread out. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annaindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
2.7 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#5 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pescille
Hotel Pescille
#11 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.3 mi away
Agriturismo Il Casolare di Bucciano
Agriturismo Il Casolare di Bucci...
#12 of 111 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casanova di Pescille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casanova di Pescille

Property: Casanova di Pescille
Address: Loc. Pescille, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 111 Speciality Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Casanova di Pescille 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Casanova di Pescille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casanova Di Pescille San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing