We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”
Review of Villa Alba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Alba
Ranked #11 of 67 San Gimignano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The Villa is gorgeous, the people super friendly (the lady we worked with didn't speak English, but it wasn't a problem at all) and the breakfast was a bigger spread than I expected. Be sure to spend some time relaxing on their beautiful grounds - the photos don't do it justice. Short walk to San Gimignano. The rooms are very clean and nicely decorated. Great service - I accidentally left my purse there and the owner shipped it back to the states for me! Overall an excellent experience. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank snoopy1469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pieroarzilli, Proprietario at Villa Alba, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thanks of heart for your beautiful words on Villa Alba . We are very happy that you have spent a beautiful vacation in San Gimignano. We hope that you will have a beautiful memory of our earth of Tuscany . Cordially Piero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

If you search a small, cozy place with a perfect location to relax and to discover Tuscany - this is the place to be! We just loved it! Not to forget the swimming pool which is all you need on a hot summer day... And what shall I say about the staff - lovely people - always helpful, maintaining the place in good order, radiating hospitality... The breakfast - totally my taste.... There's something magical about to wake up each morning by the smell of warm croissants... Just one warning - don't forget your anti-mosquito spray, otherwise you will deeply regret it :) I would love to go there one day again.... Oh, and our room was even more beautiful than on the pictures, normally it is the other way around... The villa has also a private parking, which is quite handy if you travel by car. There's a grocery store just around the corner.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Daniela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pieroarzilli, Proprietario at Villa Alba, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

A thanks of heart for your evaluation of Villa Alba. We are really happy to have had you as your guests and that you spent a beatiful vacation with a good memory of our Tuscany and of our structure. Your judgment is very important for our job, this helps us to improve and to work with pleasure and satisfaction. Thanks also for the photos , they are very beautiful! Surely very more beautiful than ours ! We have been sorry for the annoying problem of the mosquitos, this year in Spring in rained a lot and unfortunately the mosquitos are multiplied a lot more than the past years.
Cordial regards and to ...........soon ! Piero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We have been to San Gimignano several times but had never known about Villa Alba. The house is a classic villa, just so clean and well furnished, we had Room 4 with the balcony and the Villa is built to a wonderful standard. It is only a 5-10 minute walk to the centre of San Gimignano, and with free secure parking which in this area is a real bonus. The garden is very restful, with lots of places to sit and read in peace. The swimming pool is excellent however children do need to be supervised as it is quite deep. We only stayed 2 nights but wish it had been longer. Breakfast was served downstairs in a delightful cellar and was excellent (juices, bread, ham, cereal, yogurt, cheese etc. Although the location is not far from the road, it was very quite and just no traffic noise at all. Coupled with excellent value and the people who looked after us, we will come back again.

Room Tip: Try for the balcony room, but we saw all the rooms and they were superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David060947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pieroarzilli, Proprietario at Villa Alba, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Thanks so many Mr. David for your judgment of Villa Alba.
Also you and your wife have been of the exceptional guests, two really pleasant and smiling people. We hope that you can return again to San Gimignano and to spend other days at Villa Alba. Who knows perphaps next year !
Thanks again and best redards from Piero, Simona and Grandmother Irma.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Very nice villa, clean room and bathroom, comfortable bed, optimal and convenient location: just a short walk to the center of San Gimignano. There is also a free parking. Since this place is a b&b, perhaps the breakfast could be improved: I was expecting more typical Tuscany and/or homemade products for breakfast, instead of industrial products such as cakes, juice, yogurt and so on. They can make it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daakota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

This is surely a place to keep in mind and to return to. Very nice people, very nice bedrooms, Clean towels daily, Nice house and very nice breakfast. But a 5 min walk to centre just outside the walls of town. Very quiet during the night. Just 50 m away from a grocerystore which was handy for buying fresh drinks for the daytrips

Room Tip: don't hesitate, just book is all i can say:-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berlindes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We have been returning to this property regularly since 2003. Sometimes with friends/relatives. We have recommended it to some others who stayed there as well. It has always been a most pleasant place to stay at ,at very reasonable price. It 's location is ideal to visit well known Tuscan towns like Sienna,Florence,Volterra etc. etc. The villa has secure parking and a swimming pool.
The owners are very pleasant. They also run the best restaurant in town centre and will reserve you a table there so as you don't have to wait for a table as it tends to be a busy eatery. It offers good Tuscan food at decent prices. Best part is walking distance between accommodation and restaurant /town centre is only ten minutes or so.
The owners keep a well stocked kitchen for guest use and the nearby mini market is handy for food supplies. The terrace with the Tuscan views is great to sit and eat at.
Good value, clean, convenient, friendly accommodation. Highly reccommendable. The Hunters

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hunters_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

I liked a loot the place, the house is beautiful, the bedrooms are very clean and nice, and the garden and the pool are amazing. The breakfast is not included but it's not a problem at all. There is a nice kitchen with all of the essentials to cook (including coffee and tea if you want) you have a nice store 50mt from the Villa and you can buy nice think and do a nice breakfast and eat it under the trees in a nice terrace that the Villa has.
The place have free parking which is great. You are close to the city walls, you have to walk a little but it's not a big deal.
The owner also owns a nice restaurant "Stella" inside the city walls. Very nice pasta.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Godos2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
806 reviews
0.7 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#10 of 29 in San Gimignano
661 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#5 of 29 in San Gimignano
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#17 of 29 in San Gimignano
162 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel le Volpaie
Hotel le Volpaie
#14 of 29 in San Gimignano
179 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Alba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Alba

Address: Via Dante, 15, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in San Gimignano
Price Range: £81 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Alba is a beautiful Villa in Liberty style completely restructured, situated to few meters from the medieval center of St. Gimignano. It offers service of Bed & Breakfast and the rent of the rooms for brief or long periods. With its deprived parking lot, the ample garden and the external swimming pool. Villa Alba offers for its guests a stay of relax and convenience. All the rooms have the private services, TV and line WI.FI. The management of Villa Alba has family management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Villa Alba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Alba San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing