We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be better if they try not to cut so many corners !” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Creve Coeur, Missouri
Level Contributor
137 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Could be better if they try not to cut so many corners !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed six nights, that is, five too many.
The room is large for European standards, and so is the bathroom, except that the shower is smaller than in a cruise ship. Toiletries are mediocre at best. The safe is large enough for your passports and cards.
The swimming pool is for decoration: not a single guest used it during our stay, because the water is very cold and not heated at all.
Breakfast is OK, yet, in an area where they pride themselves for the fresh fruits and vegetables, the fruit salad comes off a can.
Avoid the overpriced restaurant, where the artichoke dish...comes off a can too ! If you ask for an extra grisini, you are charged 2 Euros , in addition of the Euros charged for the bread.
The Staff is excellent, helpful, and the hotel is very clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view other then the roof of the entrance hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Letsgoblues1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTR_8, Proprietario at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Sirs,

we thank you very much for the time you took to review our place, though we believe that
for truth's sake we need to correct some of the things you described.
The bathrooms are of a modern type, very common in Italy, with a nice shower box, standard
size too. We are glad you appreciated the cleaniness of both room and bathroom, because
it's one of our highlights.
In the morning we serve a rich breakfast buffet with lots of different things, salty and sweet ones,
and a lot of fresh vegetables and fruit. It might have happened that one morning we were short of fruit to make the fruit salad, and so we used the ready-made one, but asserting that our chefs use artichokes in cans for his side dishes, this is really very upsetting. We only buy season vegetables from the neighbourhood, it's all fresh. Besides, the prices of the dishes are very reasonable if you compare them to the restaurants in town., and it isn't absolutely true that we charge for grissini or bread. You certainly mean the "coperto", the extra charge for the service requested almost everywhere, except at Le Terre Rosse.
Regarding the pool, you stayed with us after September 20th.. The average temperature at that time and until the beginning of October was 27/30 degree C. Our swimming-pool is not heated, but we had people bathing in the pool the other day, with an external temperature of 17 degree C. You cannot say noone used it, only because the water was too cold for you.
Thank you anyway for the compliments as far as cleaniness and staff helpfullness concerns.
Yours sincerely The Niccolinis & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    721
    321
    66
    10
    5
See reviews for
311
604
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

This hotel is almost perfect! The setting, rooms and facilities leave nothing to be desired. The staff are extremely helpful and our request for ground floor rooms for our elderly mothers was dealt with promptly.
Although the breakfasts were varied and plentiful our only disappointment was in the choice and quality of the food in the restaurant. Very meat orientated and little choice of vegetables! We could not fault the hotel apart from this.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTR_8, Responsabile reception at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Sirs,

thank you very much for your nice review.
We are very pleased you appreciated our helpful staff and good hotel services.
We are sorry we couldn't offer enough vegetable choice for dinner, but all our
dishes are usually accompained by vegetables. Meat will ever remain our main course,
since this is the culinary tradition in our area. Best regards The Niccolinis & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIAMI
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

The German Italian receptionist has terrible Custer service skills, hotel rooms are small, cramped, avoid at any cost & don't ask for a free upgrade...they'll charge you 50 euros extra per night!?! Very slow Internet, location without views! Not a good option especially for the price!! Avoud

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuapoBumsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTR_8, Proprietario at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Sirs,

we are very sorry you couldn't appreciate our resort and services as it actually deserves it, but, you see, one night stay is too short for such an evaluation.
The room you had booked through an on-line portal was a standard double room, the basic type.
Since we had a comfort room available, we thought we could assign it to you without requesting any extra charge. The up-grade from the standard to the comfort room is 15 euro.
Our standard and comfort rooms are not very large, but nice. Especially the comfort rooms, they all have a view either over park and swimming-pool or over the countryside. Our resort is a countryside hotel, we are sorrounded by a beautiful park and woods, it goes without saying that most of our rooms have a view. The room we assigned to you, in particular, was on the first floor and overlooks the park and swimming-pool.
After half an hour you were in the room, the reception got a phone call about your desire of
up-grading the room type. You were shown a Superior double room, a very beautiful and
large one, with four-poster bed. Although this room overlooks an internal courtyard, so it
has no view at all, you expressed your wish to change. Starting from the standard one, the
Superior room is 4 levels higher, and this time we had to request a surcharge, which was
in fact 50 euro. Since you requested, instead, a free up-grade, the receptionist had to adress
you to the Hotel Manager, which was on that evening behind the reception desk.
The Staff was rather busy on that evening, but there was always a person in charge at the
front desk to give the guests assistance. Since we didn't see you any longer, we just came you to the conclusion that you changed your mind and were satisfied with the comfort room.
If we may comment the fact, then, it is not nice in a very modern society to step out of an hotel smiling and then address the complaint just making use of technology instead of applying to the human beings involved. Communication and social interaction are essential components
of the nowaday life, one shouldn't forget it. Yours faithfully The Niccolinis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We recently stayed for two nights en route to other destinations.
The hotel is beautifully situated in the countryside a few minutes from San Gimignano. The grounds and outdoor amenities are excellent and I am happy to confirm the opinions of other reviewers regarding the helpfulness and friendliness of all the staff.
Our room was comfortable and ideal for a stopover. There was ample parking. A free shuttle bus ran between the hotel and SG.
I have just two suggestions to improve ones experience. First the restaurant menu should have at least one fish option. None were available on either of our two night stay. Secondly the timing of the shuttle bus trip to SG should be more flexible. In addition to the 9am trip, one at say 10.30 am would be most convenient for the later risers.
Otherwise a super place to stay!
Guy S

Room Tip: Facing the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTR_8, Responsabile reception at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Sirs,

many thanks for your nice review and the compliments to our place and personnel.
We are pleased you could enjoy the stay and have a good time with us.
Regarding the restaurant menu, in the internal areas of Tuscany we are not so much accustomed
to have fish, but to offer a variation we have fish dishes on two evenings in the week. What a
pity you were staying at the hotel in different days! Regarding our free shuttle service, the time table we worked out tries to offer trips from and to San Gimignano giving the guests enough time
for a visit of the town. This service fills the gap of a missing transportation means, otherwise the
area only provides taxi cars.
Hoping to have you back some time in the future Best regards The Niccolinis & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

The hotel building itself and the gardens are great, well located nearby San Gimignano, offering a shuttle bus.
Unfortunately it seems a bit neglected. Our bathroom was not really clean - mainly the toilet had remains from our predecessors (...) the mounts of towels and toilet paper were like oxidized and full of greenish spots (could be easily scrubbed off with a bit of paper...)
The windows in the corridors were dirty, on many doors and windows were remainders of adhesive tape which had never really been removed.
We only had thin sheets on the bed and were really freezing during the night.
The TV did not work - when we tried to find out what the reason was, it came out that one plug did not work so the choice was cooled minibar or TV...
The restaurant offers dinner à la carte or half board, BUT either both have to take the half board or both have to take à la care... If one is not willing to eat 3 courses it does work. Well, the result was, we ate abroad.
Breakfast was basic but nothing special. Not even a fresh fruit salad, only some melon pieces.
Overall a bit of a pity because the place would really be nice - mainly the big garden!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheepfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTR_8, Responsabile reception at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Dear Sirs,

following to the review you have adressed to our resort, we very much regret to tell you that
you must have mistaken the hotel.
All the observations you made lead to the conclusion, that it is not our hotel the one you are
describing.
Cleaniness is one our highlights, and if we say so it is because we can base our assertion upon the fact that since the opening of the hotel noone has ever, ever claimed about
a dirty room.
All your further complaints cannot be even taken into consideration.
Only a comment to the bed, because your complaint about thin linen, was rather out of
place. Were you aware that the actual season is summer and the dayly temperature ranges from 30/34 degrees? Besides, where was the coverbed, the usual equipment of every bed in
every hotel? It is very disappointing for a hotelier, or receptionist, to find out a guest was
freezing during the night because of the lack of a cover. What is the staff needed for then?
If we would have known, we would have certainly found a solution, as always the case is.
Yours faithfully The Niccolinis & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

The quietness of location is really a big thing on this beautiful hotel which is a little far distance from busy traffics of San Gimignano.
And the outstading BIG gardens and swimming area with a lot of sun-bathing chairs are stunning which allow us to enjoy the Toscan nature from morning till evening all the way.

As even if the beauties of the hotels' facilities are satisfacory; however, the foods are not so much impressive; breads on table are sort of cheap stuff can be found at grocery stores, and the sausages on breakfasts are Wurstel brands of German stuff from supermarkets as well.

Besides the menus of dinner of half-boards are not so much typical Tuscan tastes, but quite plain dishes (such as just vegetable soups or spagetti vongole which can be found everywhere in Italy.. lol ), and the dinner restaurant is on basement floor without garden views, I am afraid, while there are a lot of good restaurants outskirts and downtown area of S.Giminano boasting good views and typical Tuscan dishes.. so go out for dinners are reccomanded personally.

Overall the hotels are good for people looking for relaxation in Tuscan fields !!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank giocernusco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTR_8, Responsabile reception at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Dear Sirs,

many thanks for your review and thank you very much for the compliments to our
resort.
We are only sorry that the food in the restaurant was not your taste, but please trust us:
it's all typical Tuscan and the products come from the neighbourhood.
We hope to have you back one day and wish you all the best
Kindest regards The Niccolinis & STaff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthenshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Grazie mille to the Niccolini family and staff.

This was our fifth stay at Le Terre Rosse and our week lived up to the standard we have come to expect. We stayed once again in the lovely Quercia apartment. The weather was perfect, the apartment beautifully clean, the staff helpful. The ambience pure Tuscany! Our thanks especially to our waiter and waitress and to Viviana. We will return. Ciao.

Room Tip: We have stayed in the main hotel rooms and in the apartments. Both good. Apartments are ideal if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pcbryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTR_8, Responsabile reception at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Dear Carpenter Family,

many, many thanks for the beautiful review you wrote for us and for having come back
again to our hotel.
It's a pleasure for us to be kind and helpful towards our nice guests and hope that
in this way they can spend a wonderful stay at Le Terre Rosse.
We are very pleased to learn this was your case too.
All the best to you and hope to see you again soon
The Niccolinis, Viviana, Luca (waiter), Raffaella (waitress) and all the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#4 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
3.7 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#5 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
2.0 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse

Property: Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Address: | Loc San Donato, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casolare Le Terre Rosse is only five minutes away from San Gimignano and is surrounded by a beautiful park. Thanks to the Niccolini family, this elegant farmhouse, tucked away in nature, was turned into a small gem of Tuscan hospitality. At Casolare le Terre Rosse you will experience a unique, warm and cosy atmosphere and will have the chance to live close to nature while enjoying the food and culture of this incomparable land. You can relax in our bright rooms or in our elegant country-style apartments and enjoy the Tuscan countryside while having breakfast, or you may relax at the spillway pool, where you can restore your energy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casolare Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare Le Terre Rosse San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing