We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at Hotel Casolare Le Terre Rosse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Me and my girlfriend have been in Hotel Casolare Le Terre Rosse for 3 nights. This was a very pleasant stay. The room was clean and the service was excellent. The location of the hotel is problematic. Although the hotel is very close to San Gimigano, the road to the hotel in the night is very dark and drive is very though and not pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Idan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTR_8, Responsabile reception at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Sirs,

we thank you very much for your nice review and are pleased you had a nice stay with us.
The hotel lies in the countryside, in an area of outstanding beauty, in the middle of an huge park with swimming-pool, a paradise sorrounded by olive trees and woods.
In the countryside it is difficult to find lamps along the roads, like in the cities, but we lie
along the main road, so it is not difficult to find us. Besides, since we are a big structure,
with several buildings, there are lights everywhere to ease guests their approaching.
Best regards The Niccolinis & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

175 - 181 of 1,266 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

Easy location from San Gimignano. Spacious grounds, wonderful pool area, but the weather was cool and the pool is not heated (disappointment), so we didn't use. There are many 'quiet' corners in the lobby, eating area, patios and garden/grounds to relax, read, and take in the beautiful scenery. The breakfast was excellent with hot eggs, sausage, occasional fresh fruit, all which we never found anywhere else. The staff were very helpful and accommodating. And of course, Felix, the cat, was by the door to greet everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 885Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTR_8, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear Sirs,

we thank you for your nice review and are very pleased you had a pleasant stay with us.
All the best The Niccolinis & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The hotel has a big and nice garden where you can relax and read (if it's not too windy). We didn't use the pool but that looked big and cool as well. Stuff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was ok. Big variety and a nice cappuccino. The breakfast buffet was in a corner which didn't seem very practical because people blocked each other trying to get their food. Room was ok and generally clean although the toiletpaperholder was calcified and on top of the mirror was dust (only tall people see that).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomBoogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTR_8, Responsabile reception at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear Sirs,

thank you very much for your nice review and the compliments to the hotel and staff.
In fact when the hotel is full (over 100 people) it might look crowded at the breakfast
buffet. All the guests often have breakfast at the same time.
Regarding the items in the bathroom, we informed our chamber maids that they
have to pay more attention to all details. Best regards
The Niccolinis & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We used this hotel as our anchor as we toured Tuscany so we were not there very much. Room was small but clean & comfortable. The grounds were lovely, especially for families with children as there is some play equipment. The pool was too cold for a swim during our visit but probably nice in summer. The reception staff was very helpful - drew us maps to help us find our way to different cities. We especially appreciated the young man on desk duty who made us a tray of coffee & sweet rolls when we left at 6 am before the breakfast opened. I agree with reviews on breakfast - fresh fruit would be nice. We ate dinner in the restaurant our first night - nice meal but lighting far too bright for comfort - might be nice to serve outside even in September. We loved sitting outside at night & meeting Felix, the hotel cat!

Room Tip: Ground rooms do not have sliding doors to outside, just windows & not much view but are easier w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kytraveler59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTR_8, Responsabile reception at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear Sirs,

we thank you very much for your nice review and are very pleased you appreciated our
resort and staff.
We appreciate receiving suggestions from guests, so we will see what we can do to enlarge and
embellish some of our basic rooms. We actually serve fresh fruit and vegetable at breakfast, it is
strange you couldn'f find any. If you come back in summer, you will be able to relish our exterior outfittings at best, and you will find a warm and inviting swimming-pool!
Best regards The NIccolinis & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The hotel was wonderful. The room was clean and neat. The restaurant was great with happy, friendly staff and good options. They were very accommodating for gluten-free needs. The breakfast spread was excellent. There was lots of room in the lobby, breakfast area, pool and patio for hanging out to read and use the free internet (didn't work in room). The front desk staff were helpful in providing advice. It was a treat to discover that they have a washing machine and dryer available (at small cost), which was great for us during a long trip. It is in a great location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraC487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTR_8, Responsabile reception at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear Sirs,

with great satisfaction we have received your nice review and thank you very much for it.
We are very pleased you appreciated our services, the hotel ground, our staff. Compliments
like ours fill us with pleasure and gives us the input to make even better.
Hoping to be able to welcome you back some time in the future, plese accept our best regards
The Niccolinis & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed six nights, that is, five too many.
The room is large for European standards, and so is the bathroom, except that the shower is smaller than in a cruise ship. Toiletries are mediocre at best. The safe is large enough for your passports and cards.
The swimming pool is for decoration: not a single guest used it during our stay, because the water is very cold and not heated at all.
Breakfast is OK, yet, in an area where they pride themselves for the fresh fruits and vegetables, the fruit salad comes off a can.
Avoid the overpriced restaurant, where the artichoke dish...comes off a can too ! If you ask for an extra grisini, you are charged 2 Euros , in addition of the Euros charged for the bread.
The Staff is excellent, helpful, and the hotel is very clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view other then the roof of the entrance hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Letsgoblues1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTR_8, Proprietario at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Sirs,

we thank you very much for the time you took to review our place, though we believe that
for truth's sake we need to correct some of the things you described.
The bathrooms are of a modern type, very common in Italy, with a nice shower box, standard
size too. We are glad you appreciated the cleaniness of both room and bathroom, because
it's one of our highlights.
In the morning we serve a rich breakfast buffet with lots of different things, salty and sweet ones,
and a lot of fresh vegetables and fruit. It might have happened that one morning we were short of fruit to make the fruit salad, and so we used the ready-made one, but asserting that our chefs use artichokes in cans for his side dishes, this is really very upsetting. We only buy season vegetables from the neighbourhood, it's all fresh. Besides, the prices of the dishes are very reasonable if you compare them to the restaurants in town., and it isn't absolutely true that we charge for grissini or bread. You certainly mean the "coperto", the extra charge for the service requested almost everywhere, except at Le Terre Rosse.
Regarding the pool, you stayed with us after September 20th.. The average temperature at that time and until the beginning of October was 27/30 degree C. Our swimming-pool is not heated, but we had people bathing in the pool the other day, with an external temperature of 17 degree C. You cannot say noone used it, only because the water was too cold for you.
Thank you anyway for the compliments as far as cleaniness and staff helpfullness concerns.
Yours sincerely The Niccolinis & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This hotel is almost perfect! The setting, rooms and facilities leave nothing to be desired. The staff are extremely helpful and our request for ground floor rooms for our elderly mothers was dealt with promptly.
Although the breakfasts were varied and plentiful our only disappointment was in the choice and quality of the food in the restaurant. Very meat orientated and little choice of vegetables! We could not fault the hotel apart from this.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTR_8, Responsabile reception at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Sirs,

thank you very much for your nice review.
We are very pleased you appreciated our helpful staff and good hotel services.
We are sorry we couldn't offer enough vegetable choice for dinner, but all our
dishes are usually accompained by vegetables. Meat will ever remain our main course,
since this is the culinary tradition in our area. Best regards The Niccolinis & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
3.7 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,324 reviews
2.0 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 29 in San Gimignano
660 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel le Volpaie
Hotel le Volpaie
#14 of 29 in San Gimignano
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
665 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
632 reviews
2.5 mi away
La Cisterna Hotel
La Cisterna Hotel
#7 of 29 in San Gimignano
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse

Address: | Loc San Donato, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range: £73 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casolare Le Terre Rosse is only five minutes away from San Gimignano and is surrounded by a beautiful park. Thanks to the Niccolini family, this elegant farmhouse, tucked away in nature, was turned into a small gem of Tuscan hospitality. At Casolare le Terre Rosse you will experience a unique, warm and cosy atmosphere and will have the chance to live close to nature while enjoying the food and culture of this incomparable land. You can relax in our bright rooms or in our elegant country-style apartments and enjoy the Tuscan countryside while having breakfast, or you may relax at the spillway pool, where you can restore your energy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casolare Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare Le Terre Rosse San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing