We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Trip.com
Official Site
Expedia.com
Travelocity
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,649)
Filter reviews
1,649 results
Traveller rating
1,083
440
94
18
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,083
440
94
18
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews very nice hotel san gimigiano sun loungers beautiful property wonderful place short drive tuscan countryside florence volterra relaxation wine
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 1,649 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Lovely hotel with great staff! Very well located and was a pleasure to stay at! Highly recommended!! There is a pool which has a fence which is great for kids and the grounds are quite large for everyones privacy. Rooms are very clean with all amenities.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BMMXVIIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTR_8, Direttore at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2016

Dear Sir/Madame,
Thank you very much for your kind review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay here and appreciated all our services, such as rooms, our pool and the kindness of our staff.

We wish to have you as our guests again!

Best Regards

Famiglia Niccolini & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

The hotel is about 5 minutes drive from SG, in the beautiful Tuscan countryside surrounding the town. Sienna and Florence are about an hour's drive, which is perfect for my wife and I as we wanted to take day trips into those two cities but also wanted to stay in a hotel in the countryside.
The hotel has a restaurant, a cafe and a very nice pool. Our room is a decent size with good quality furnishings. The bathroom is a little bit small but perfectly functional.
We had dinner in the restaurant a couple of times, and were very impressed by the quality of the meals. The staff are very friendly and made us feel very welcome. We would be very happy to stay here again.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mengkwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTR_8, Direttore at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2016

Dear Sir/Madame,
Thank you very much for your kind and detailed review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay here and wish to come back!
As you mentioned, the hotel's position is perfect to visit all the beautiful cities of Tuscany, just 5 km from San Gimignano and close to Siena, Florence, Pisa and all the other magnificent places!
We are glad to read you appreciated our services, such as room, bar and pool and expecially our traditional restaurant.
Thank you very much for your words about our staff, we are happy to make our guests feel part of our family!

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards

Famiglia Niccolini & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Very friendly people, nice food, great surroundings and excellent garden and pool, with or without kids. Very good to rest and stay in contact with nature.
The minus is the slow internet connection, but available everywhere.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mauro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTR_8, Direttore at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2016

Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for your kind review and your nice words about our services.
We are glad you appreciated our traditional restaurant and had the chance to relax in our park and pool and the kindness of our staff, always happy to help with any request.
Thank you very much for advising us regarding the internet connection, we are now trying to fix it so that in can be better even if we are in the countryside.

We invite you to be our guests again, it would be a pleasure for us!

Kindest Regards
Famiglia Niccolini & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

After extensive research I booked the two downstairs apartments (Cipresso and Olivo) last August for a family holiday this month. The holiday involved travel to and from the US, the U.K. and Spain. The total group comprised four adults and three children from 12 to 16. I paid a deposit of nearly $1,000. The key driver for my selection of this hotel was the very high ratio of 5 and 4 stars in TripAdvisor and the virtual absence of 1 or 2 stars.

I had spent six consecutive summers in Tuscany some years ago so I had some familiarity with local standards. On paper, this looked ideal. Even the photographs looked attractive. The key is "on paper". The reality was different.

The place looks nice at first glance, but the apartments are basic beyond belief. My comment at the time was "scout camp without the amenities". This was not a question of expecting luxury: there was nothing to make one want to spend a minute there. And kudos to anyone who can fit in those showers.

The public areas are no better. The terrace where they "serve" drinks had tin tables and no charm. The swimming pool (we didn't use it) was surrounded by what looked like chicken wire. We spent one night there and were so uncomfortable we got only a few hours sleep. Our room was infested with small insects (the hotel subsequently emailed me to tell me that they examined the room and ascertained that the insects weren't dangerous!). We walked out suggesting they might like to refund our deposit, but we aren't holding our breath.

The moral is to be aware of what you're buying. The hotel lists itself as three-star. If it got into Michelin or the AA guide, it would be lucky to get one star. If you're looking for a one-star set-up with a 1950s holiday camp feel, this may work for you. It didn't for us.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank MichaelPreston12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTR_8, Direttore at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2016

Dear Sir,
We were waiting for your review and we are of course going to clarify, since we cannot do anything but disagree with you.

First of all, we would like to remind you that we kept booked the apartments for your family since 2015, a long time enough to be sure to be the structure you desired for your stay, which we clearly believe we are not.
By booking a hotel or an apartment in the countryside, in the middle of a natural reserve, guests are expected to see or find insects.
You chose to leave the apartment due to the presence of harmless gnats, therefore we are convinced that a countryside stay does not correspond to your tastes.
You also refused when we asked if you wished to have the apartment cleaned.
Moreover, since we are a professional and respected hotel and we must and want to be rightful to our guests and interested visitors, we need to specify that in the apartments there are all the amenities in the kitchen, bathrooms and rooms and that, for any kind of request or need, we are gladly at disposal to provide with anything needed.
Our apartments' wardrobe are well furnished with extra pillows and blankets, but our reception staff has been glad to provide you more pillows and blankets since you stated that the ones in the wardrobe were 'dirty'. As we told you on the spot, we must say again that our cleaning service is professional and that all the linen is washed every single day.

We cannot accept your words regarding our outside area especially due to your short stay.
The so-called 'chicken wire' around the swimming pool, is nothing but a web requested by the Italian laws for safety.
And more than anything else, we cannot accept your comments on our service.
We must remind you that the night you arrived the restaurant was fully booked and though we explained at the check in, which happened at 2 p.m., that the dinner has to be booked in advance, you impolitely requested to have dinner as soon as possible and had no respect at all for the staff of the reception, the staff of the restaurant, both kitchen and waiters who had difficulty since the restaurant have fix times of reservation and was fully booked, and to the other guests who had reserved in advance and have been told to wait more. And you also warned our staff that you where 'tired and cranky'. We reminded you that we were completely at disposal anyway.
Moreover, you had dinner and you didn't pay for it.
We must also underline the lack of respect you had towards us at the moment of check out.
We cannot refund any deposit paid in advance, as stated in our cancelation policy, furthermore you didn't pay the dinner and the drinks at the bar you got during your stay, and had the second apartment not showing to the hotel.
Any other hotel would have charged you with all the extras you got and for the no-show, but since we have been shocked by your behavior and we are polite people, we chose not to.

We should expect at least a 'thank you' for the kindness and patience showed to you and not returned.

In the end, all that we can say is that one night stay's review cannot be compared to all the more than positive reviews we get by guests from all over the world who come to us, even more times during the summer since years, reviews which can prove that we are not a camp-like structure, and are happy to relax and enjoy the beauty of the countryside and the professionality and kindness of our staff.

Regards

Famiglia Niccolini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

An excellent choice for the location of the hotel near the old area.
The service is lovely like breakfa for everyst. All is perfect!!!! We hope to go back in September. The price is right, Thanks a lot for everything

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank rebeccasho
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTR_8, Direttore at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2016

Dear Madame,
We thank you for your review and expecially for being our guest.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here and wish to come back soon!

We hope to have you as our guest very soon, it would be a pleasure for us!

Kindest Regards

Famiglia Niccolini & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews