We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Trip.com
Official Site
Expedia.com
Travelocity
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,649)
Filter reviews
1,649 results
Traveller rating
1,083
440
94
18
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,083
440
94
18
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews very nice hotel san gimigiano sun loungers beautiful property wonderful place short drive tuscan countryside florence volterra relaxation wine
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 1,649 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Hotel Casolare Le Terre Rosse is a very convenient hotel/resort located some 5 km away from San Gimignano (about 10-15 minutes by car). Our room was small so that we could not place our travel bags properly, but in front of it there was an open terrace with a couple of chairs / table which was great for evening relaxation and enjoying San Gimignano’s superb wines. The breakfast was one of the best we tried in Italy: excellent variety and a lot of space in the restaurant, which is also serving snacks and drinks in the evening. Also, there is a large outdoor swimming pool with beach chairs around it. A lot of parking is available in front of the hotel.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RHxpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTR_8, Direttore at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay here and apreciated all our services such as park with swimming pool, position very close to San Gimignano and breakfast, all prepared with fresh products, either from farm to table or homemade!
We invite you to visit us again so that you can try one of our bigger rooms, since we have many types!

Hoping to have you again as our guests,
Kindest Regards
Famiglia Niccolini & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

We spent 3 nights in this hotel, on the ground floor with balcony. The equipments, services are like in a 3- stars hotels, I would say average. In the first night we already realized that we won't be able to relax in this room because from 3 sides (above, left and right sides) we could hear every small noises. The floor in the rooms isn't covered with carpet and the walls are very thin like papers. We mentioned our problem at the reception after the first night but the answer was simply that the hotel is fully booked and they can't change our room. Each 3 nights were terrible for us without sleeping. The staff at the reception is uncooperative, blocking each problems without solving them: " we are a 3 stars hotel, not 4 or 5..... "we haven't had so far such a problems like yours ....etc" For 125 euro per night it was the worst experience we ever had before.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank BotrytisCinerea
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTR_8, Direttore at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Madame,
We were expecting your review, therefore we would like to reply in the most correct way according to the actual facts:
at the moment of check in you immediatly asked for a room on the upper floor instead of a room with garden as per reservation, but we didn't have it available for the nights of your stay since we were fully booked and as the reception staff showed you the room you expressed your uncertainty on the tranquillity of the hotel, saying you came from a bad experience of people walking with heels right above your room.
The staff reassured you that the hotel is quiet and that in case of any inconvenience we would have done our best to grant you the most comfortable stay, as we always do with our guests according to our method of work, careful of the guests needs.
Unfortunately, we haven't been able to change you into another room for as previously said we were fully booked.
We didn't receive any other complaint for you besides the one after the first night, therfore we thought that you managed to have a comfortable stay; only at the moment of the check out you complained of the general disappointment in your stay with us, giving us the same example of bother as at the moment of check in, talking of a past experience of people walking above you with heels (which to us sounds unlikely) and telling us that you would have left us a bad review if we didn't solve the situation, but at the moment of check out, what could we do to solve it?
Our reception staff, always politely and professionally, explained you that we couldn't accept your implied request of a discount and why, since we considered it unfair and unthinkable, even facing your threatens of a bad review.

Regards,
Famiglia Niccolini & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed 5 nights in self catering apartment. Hotel staff were really friendly, attentive and helpful. The hotel itself is everything you need as a base to explore the area. The pool was nice and never busy despite being in kids holidays. The restaurant served good quality food for evening dinner. The room was functional and ideal for what we needed it for. Hotel itself is set in well kept grounds and in idillic location with views of the countryside and forest. It is only a 5 min drive to San gimignano although the hotel provide complimentary shuttle service during the day. Would definitely recommend

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank CNeilF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTR_8, Direttore at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for your review, we are glad you had a pleasant stay in our apartments, perfect for families who wish to have their total autonomacy and privacy, not neglecting themselves the comfort of the hotel's services,
Thank you very much for your kind words in fact about our services, such as weekly shuttle bus, quiet location of park and swimming pool and traditional restaurant, and especially our staff, always glad to help the guests have the most comfortable and unforgettable stay

Thank you again and
Kindest Regards
Famiglia Niccolini & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

We booked the hotel without any recommendation and we where amazed by the kindess of the hotel crew, they where amazing because we came with our little baby and they helped us with everything that we ask.
The room where very clean and i must say that this hotel is a good place to stay if you want to travel around tuscany.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kfirhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTR_8, Direttore at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review,
We are glad you enjoyed your stay here and appreciated our position and services.
A special thanks goes to your kind words about our staff, always happy to help with anything needed, all we want is our guests to have the most comfortable stay as possible, as if they were at home!

Hoping to have you again as our guests, we wish you

Best Regards

Famiglia Niccolini & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

We stayed at Casolare le Terre Rosse 3 nights this July when visiting Tuscany with my husband. It's a nice 3 stars hotel set up in a relaxing environment with an outdoor swimming pool and a good-sized very nice park-like garden. We had a standard room, which was a bit small but alright for 3 stars standards. Breakfast was alright, but plan your lunches and dinners ahead. We wanted to take the lunch (has a very simple menu, i.e. pasta, lasagna and some salads and is served on the terrace in the garden) at the hotel on the day we arrived - after travelling from the early morning and without the possibility to have a proper hot meal on the way -, and had to wait around 30 minutes just for our order to be taken, then another 30-40 minutes for our food to be served (we ordered lasagna which was on the daily lunch menu, so nothing special). The most annoying part was that people weren't served in the order they sat down to the tables, but based on the tables' proximity to the restaurant entrance. Regarding dinners, we wanted to have dinner at the hotel's restaurant (set in the inner garden, looked quite nice) on our last evening which was a Sunday, but the restaurant was closed so we had to drive back to San Gimigiano for the dinner. Clearly the restaurant is under-staffed for lunch time and with a very specific schedule. The staff is very nice though, they are very polite and do their best to make up for such kind of shortages.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Boglarka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews