We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Relais Cappuccina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Relais Cappuccina
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in San Gimignano
gunther40
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stayed here for five nights recently. Hotel was very comfortable and in a great location. You can walk to the town in about 15 minutes. Was a bit concerned based on the reviews but need not have worried. If you are looking for a nice quiet location where you can chill out and use as a base to explore the area or walk to the town, I would highly recommend it.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank gunther40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    167
    109
    59
    43
See reviews for
72
266
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chiesina Uzzanese, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Beautiful location!!! We had a wonderful and big junior suite. We had dinner in the restaurant in front of the swimming pool with a romantic view of San Gimignano. Very good food, kindness and professionality of the waiter. Good breakfast. I suggest this hotel!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALESSANDRA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Hotel only can offer lukewarm water and bad heater
No one can fix this problem
If u want yo figure out when can u got hot water
The answer always is we don't know
Good landscape but bad service
I'm very disappoint this so called four star hotel

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aaaconnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Gimignano hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

This is the fifth time at the hotel - but the first in seven years.
It is completely remodelled and re-built.
It was a charming small hotel - not any more.
Rooms were good size and quiet -nice balconies. We had a nice view of the countryside.
Showers were too small and we were constantly attacked by the shower curtain.
The air con wasn't on and the rooms got stuffy - but you could not leave the balcony door open or get eaten by mosquitos!
Breakfast was very good.
Other meals were mediocre.
Lots of tour buses coming and going.
Very disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blacmikOttawa_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We had last stayed here apporx. seven years earlier and it was at that time a gem of a place. It has been torn down, enlarged and re-built.
Facilities are very nice, modern construction, nice pool, excellent buffet breakfast, super location.
However, given the prices and the four stars - we expected much more.
Hands down the worst mattresses we slept on in our 3 weeks in Italy! They wouldn't turn on the air-con and the rooms were very stuffy. If you open the windows the mosquitos invade as well as an unpleasant aroma off a septic field! The wi-fi (lobby only) would not work with my Blackberry Tablet. The restaurant food at dinner was very ordinary - not up to Tuscan standards. A tour bus rolls in every night and out every morning.
The place seems to prioritise turn-over rather than a quality vacation experience.
Until this changes - give the place a pass!

Room Tip: Get a room on the valley side. Go when the heating is on!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blacmikOttawa_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2012

I went to this hotel with my little girl and while the pool area is lovely it is quite difficult to get to and from the hotel as there is no organised transport apart from a hotel bus which has no flexibility We arrrived back from Florence one night and had to beg the hotel to pick us up as the buses were finished early. They charged 40 euros for doing so. The rooms are very dated but clean. I think for a short break or if you had a car it may be more suitable.

Room Tip: we had a balcony that had no view. If you had a room at the front of the hotel there would be a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandymc_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
1.3 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 30 in San Gimignano
614 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 30 in San Gimignano
1,193 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#4 of 30 in San Gimignano
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hotel le Volpaie
Hotel le Volpaie
#15 of 30 in San Gimignano
162 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 30 in San Gimignano
612 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#5 of 30 in San Gimignano
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Cappuccina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Cappuccina

Property: Relais Cappuccina
Address: Localita la Cappuccina 46/A, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Cappuccina 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away amidst the quiet green Tuscan hills, the Relais Cappuccina is the ideal place for a comfortable and relaxing stay. The Art Nouveau style villa comprises the main part of the structure. Thanks to its excellent location, it is within easy reach of the medieval town of San Gimignano and is also an ideal base for discovering the art and history of Tuscany's other major towns and cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Relais Cappuccina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Della Cappuccina Hotel San Gimignano
Relais Della Cappuccina San Gimignano
Relais Cappuccina San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing