We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Real Tuscany...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fortezza de'Cortesi
Ranked #35 of 66 San Gimignano B&B and Inns
Watlington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Real Tuscany...”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Just returned from a short 3 day break at Fortezza de' Cortesi. It was a wonderful few days away from the beaten track, with a real sense that we had found & were living in 'the real' Tuscany.

You will never find views like this... sitting under the pergola looking out on the Tuscan hills and San Gimignano is incredible...

Cledy & Roberto were fantastic hosts, offering up history & info on the local area when requested, but giving you space & free reign over the lovely gardens, pool & house.

A truly memorable holiday & wonderful place to rest & recharge.

Room Tip: The Tower Suite with bath overlooking the Tuscan hills is fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFD-AIDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    20
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
10
77
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012 via mobile

Thick walls, beautiful views, stone stairs, a vaulted ceiling dining room. Cledy and Roberto were amazingly hospitable, even though we had gotten lost driving from Venice and arrived very late. They even asked a local restaurant to stay open so we could get a late bite to eat. The rooms were cozy, farm house rooms, not cookie cutter big chain style, but well appointed and comfortable. No wi-fi in our room, but downstairs in the common room was a comfortable place to bring my laptop. The breakfast was served family style and was delicious, with local cheeses and breads. Great coffee. This place exceeded my expectations for a Tuscany stay, and I would go back in a heartbeat!

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Brooke O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minsk, Belarus
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2012

The charming old house with a rich history.The owners, Cledy and Roberto are very friendly and hospitable. Home Tuscan kitchen, fireplace, relaxing atmosphere, lovely garden and beautiful flowers. Amazing view! This is a very convenient place to travel around Tuscany. We had a realy great time! Cledy`s cooking lesson for our family was very interesting and fun. We will never forget this beautiful place.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svetlana2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2012

What a gorgeous place! It was the perfect location for our honeymoon. I would definitely stay there again. And the owners, Cledy & Roberto were just wonderful and so helpful. Can't wait to go back!
Michelle & Vincent Satterly

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Satterly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed for our 20th wedding anniversary in Fortezza de Cortesi. It was a beatiful old farm with nice rooms. However our expectations were maybe to high. I agree that the owners were very friendly but had no contact after the check-in. The surroundings of the house and swimmingpool, garden seats need definitly good maintenance. The rooms were clean and comfortable however the little fridge in our room made a lot of noise, we couldn't find a safe in our room? Breakfast was good, but we missed typical tuscan meat (proscuito, salami) an egg would have been nice and the orange juice was not fresh. I think the price is too high for the quality you get. The narrow road to the b&b needs maintenance as well! Views were magnifisent.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inge p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cledy, Proprietario at Fortezza de'Cortesi, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Dear Madam,
Thank you for having considered us very friendly.
Below we respond to your comments and we hope will be exhaustive.

We are very sorry if your feeling was one of absence on our part. Apparently our discretion was mistaken for a lack of attention towards you, in fact the most important thing for us is to make our guests feel at their ease and so our much fear is to be judged intrusive. If you had made us realize that you liked that we were entertained with you, talkative as we are, it would have been nice to tell you the history and culture of which this place is packed, our products, first among all purest San Gimignano saffron, and many other topics related to our land.

We also regret that, unfortunately, the spaces around the house and pool were a little bare. The climate here is very different from the country in which you live, and also because of this summer’s great drought that had not occurred for 50 years, it was really impossible to keep the lawn lush although it has also purchased the water for irrigation. However, we have already taken steps to reseed the lawn (not could do before, nature has its time) and for next spring surely everything will be fine.

Ours is a country house and although the staff takes care of the daily cleaning of the exterior is probable that on the chairs and on the table there are sometimes leaves especially if, as sometimes happens, there is a strong wind. the roof of the gazebo, under which are the chairs and the table, consists of branches of vines and roses, and the pool is located next to the pergola covered with leaves.

Sorry not made aware of the location of the safe, but there was enough to ask and we showed where it is.

Our facility has adhered to a sustainability project in the province of Siena called "guests of value." The refrigerator in the room is eco-friendly and at times when charging can produce a slight noise. Thanks anyway for letting reported, we will definitely solve the problem.

Eggs, cold cuts and fresh juice are available in the continental breakfast. The breakfasts that we offer are typical sweet Tuscan ones and include 2 types of cakes, local cheeses, artisanals and handmade jams, tuscan honey, butter, yogurt, fresh fruit salad, “bruschette”, milk, coffee, tea, typical Tuscan bread.

Finally, the road that you take (only 1500 mt) is a part of the old pilgrim route of the Via Francigena, rich in history and the main thoroughfare in the Middle Ages, the importance of which is known around the world and the town of San Gimignano provides periodically its maintenance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Having read the reviews we had high expectaions. We travel in Italy a lot and have visited many secluded properties. Fortezza de Cortesi has huge potential but from our perspective it just missed the mark. The owners Cledy and Roberto are super but our overall impression was that this property needed some more upgrading particularly in terms of bathroom fittings, the garden and pool area. The setting is beautiful and the air conditioning in the room was a bonus. A really good breakfast is provided by a very cheerful lady.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cledy, Proprietario at Fortezza de'Cortesi, responded to this review, 13 October 2012
Dear Mrs Gillian,
thanks for the compliments you makes us and also for the potential of our structure you underlined. With regard to the toiletries kit supplied, this is, like all our services, deliberately basic. Our farm is a charming “agriturismo”, not a hotel. Upon the focus our offer is the opportunity to enjoy, in a maximum of 12 guests, plenty of space of a historic building dating back to the tenth century restored keeping the original structure absolutely unchanged. By choice, inside, we wanted to offer the manor house of the past, one in which, as a child, returning to spend the summer holidays. The stairs, medieval antique fireplaces, vaults, beams and handmade terracotta floors give the feeling that time has stopped. There aren’t televisions and hot tubs, but the quiet, the silence, the scents and colors that take us back to our childhood and give us the thrill of awareness of how much life is spent in this place. We are very sorry that, due to the severe drought that did not manifest itself in this area for 50 years, the garden in front of the house and around the pool, despite watering, was little lush. We hope that next year the climate will be more forgiving and, in the meantime, at the right time we will re-seeding the lawn. We are fully aware that you can always improve and this is our constant goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Me and my boyfriend had booked 3 nights at this agriturismo, but we enjoyed it so much that we extended our stay with an extra night! This is the perfect spot for someone looking for an authentic farmhouse in Tuscany. Parts of the main house is renovated from medieval ruins to a rustic yet highly comfortable house with lots of character. And we LOVED the guest policy of never accommodating more than 12 guests and not allowing children under the age of 12! We were lucky to be the only guests staying there and enjoyed having the pool and the generous breakfast all to ourselves.

Location: Fortezza de'Cortesi is about 10 minutes drive from the centre of San Gimignano, about 5 minutes drive off the main road and up the hill. The views are magnificent, especially as the sun starts to set and the warm yellow light appears. Beware that although this is peaceful and pretty, it also means that someone in the group needs to keep the intake of wine for dinner to a minimum in order to drive home, as it would be a very long walk home ;)

Room: We had a lovely and very spacious room with nice standard and "rusticly royal" decoration. There was a large bed, quaint and vintage furniture, small fridge and walk-in closet. The bathroom is super nice and also quite spacious. Everything was spotlessly clean. Beware that this is an agriturismo and some of the services that hotels and B&Bs offer, are offered against a fee, such as everyday room service (cleaning), and change of towels (changed every 3 days).

Breakfast:
Very generous breakfast just for the two of us! A typical sweet Italian breakfast with nice pastries and cakes, cheese, good bread, juices, yumme coffee etc. A lovely start to the day!

They also have a very good restaurant in San Gimignano, Dulcis in Fundo, where patrons of the Fortezza also get a discount. We got there a little late on our first evening, and although the kitchen had just closed, we were able to enjoy a very nice dinner there.

Fortezza de'Cortesi is a nice and rustic place to enjoy peace, quiet, and the Tuscan landscape.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dechirant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cledy, Proprietario at Fortezza de'Cortesi, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Dear friends,
We are very happy that you felt well here. Thank you so much for having understood the spirit of our offer, the sense of "home" that we wish to convey to our guests. The decision to accept a maximum of 12 guests in a spacious environment that would have been able to accommodate three times more people, was made in order to guarantee to those who come to visit us to find peace and quiet and a chance to regenerate and, at the same time, relax after visiting our magnificent area and the most important cities of art as Florence and Siena that can be reached in less than one hour. We love and respect the children, which is why we realize that the prerogatives of our dwelling is suitable for customers over the age of 12 years as we are not equipped to receive and entertain the little ones that surely would bore themselves.
We hope to see you again in the future! Best wishes Cledy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
3.5 mi away
Hotel La Collegiata
Hotel La Collegiata
#14 of 30 in San Gimignano
175 reviews
3.7 mi away
Podere Montese
Podere Montese
#29 of 66 in San Gimignano
112 reviews
3.0 mi away
Podere Sant'Elena
Podere Sant'Elena
#18 of 66 in San Gimignano
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Antico Borgo il Cardino
Antico Borgo il Cardino
#19 of 66 in San Gimignano
226 reviews
2.7 mi away
Casanova di Pescille
Casanova di Pescille
#17 of 107 in San Gimignano
185 reviews
3.7 mi away
Villa Ducci
Villa Ducci
#15 of 107 in San Gimignano
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortezza de'Cortesi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortezza de'Cortesi

Property: Fortezza de'Cortesi
Address: Localita Monti 26, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fortezza de 'Cortesi is a place dedicated to very special guests, who want to totally immerse themselves in the pleasure of an experience in the Tuscan countryside without sacrificing the charm and comfort of an exclusive environment. A charming resort between Florence and Siena in San Gimignano country, that has been awarded the "agriturismo" Tuscany top classification of three wheat sheaves. Standing on top of a hill, with a surrounding view of the spectacular Tuscan countryside and Chianti hills, it overlooks the famous towers of San Gimignano, only 5 kilometres away. This is where history, art and culture join together with the beauty of colours and rhythm of nature. A good retreat but also a site that tells us a story full of important events, which began in the Etruscan period and continues through the Middle Ages and the Renaissance until today where the close archaeological excavations show a history of ancient civilizations. A special dwelling with a unique wealth of valuable cultural experience. The property, restored from an ancient fortress with medieval tower documented from 10th century sources, is located on a variant of the ancient pilgrim route of Via Francigena. It was here in 1220 the towns of San Gimignano and Colle val d'Elsa formed an alliance. It achieved its splendour in the Renaissance when the then proprietor, Paolo Cortesi, one of the most prominent Italian humanists and secretary to Pope Julius II, made it a center of humanistic studies as well as his residence with the name "Castrum Cortesianum". In this place he set up a library for public use, welcomed numerous important members of the political and cultural european elite of the time and wrote the "De Cardinalatu" one of the cornerstones of Italian humanistic literature.The place is mentioned in the Italian Literature textbooks. Following rigorous restoration that maintains intact all the fascination of antiquity, we have created an environment of 550 sqm rich in charm and precious in its uniqueness. We offer up to 12 guests the opportunity of a self-regeneration experience, where silence, stillness and privacy are the true luxury of taking a holiday nowadays, far from the frenzy of stress. We host our guests in 5 comfortable double bedrooms and a romantic 67 sqm suite with superb bedroom and private drawing room with fireplace, that enjoys the privacy of the medieval tower. All bedrooms windows look out to the magnificent profile of San Gimignano marching across the horizon and the typically Tuscan countryside with hills covered by cypress trees, vineyards and olive groves. Each room is exclusively for 2 people and individually furnished with precious textiles by the renowned stylist Rubelli, genuine antique furniture and family objects, kettle with tea and coffee selection, safes, mini-fridge, mosquito nets, air conditioning/heating, music sound system, wi-fi, ensuite bathroom with hairdryer and basic toiletries. The resort also features comfortable sitting and living rooms, old fireplaces, medieval stairs, a beautiful garden with terrace and gazebo, a large 6x12 pool to sunbathe, relax or contemplate the breathtaking view of the Tuscan landscape. We do not have triples bedrooms, nor joined beds. We welcome children more than 14 years old. Lavish Tuscan Buffet Breakfast, daily cleaning, private parking. The property produces purest San Gimignano saffron, extra virgin olive oil, vegetables. Cooking class, tastings of our products and dinners on request. From Fortezza de' Cortesi you may easily daily reach Florence, Siena, Volterra, Pisa, Lucca, Montalcino, Pienza and many other important Italian places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fortezza de'Cortesi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortezza De'Cortesi San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing