We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Podere Sant'Elena
Nearby Hotels
Hotel La Collegiata(San Gimignano)
US$310
US$293
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pescille(San Gimignano)(Great Value!)
US$234
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel le Volpaie(San Gimignano)(Great Value!)
US$147
US$139
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villasanpaolo(San Gimignano)
US$240
US$227
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Molino di Foci(San Gimignano)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sovestro(San Gimignano)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Leon Bianco(San Gimignano)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fattoria di Fugnano(San Gimignano)
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveller rating
125
34
5
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
34
5
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat townsshower roomincredible viewsb and bbeautiful locationevery morningwithin walking distancecomfortable roomsswimming poolbreakfast was deliciouschianti regionbarbarabakerycountrysidebeauty
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 169 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights at the start of June. Podere Sant'Elena is so quiet, scenic and peaceful. We enjoyed relaxing by the pool in the afternoons after our days of touring Tuscany. It was the perfect home base and distance from San Gimignano and the view of town was gorgeous, be it day or night. Our only complaint was that after a few nights we could tell the bed was a bit hard for our liking.

Irene who works there was always willing to offer suggestions on where to eat in town, where to park or even where to go for local shopping for food and other items. She was helpful, friendly and was always interested as to what we had done that day. It was a pleasure to talk to her when she was working and she made our stay that much more enjoyable.

We highly recommend staying here. Be sure to have the pastries with breakfast every morning, which come from the pastry store/bakery they also own in town.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tyanke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

We just finished our family vacation to Italy, and of all the places we stayed while we were there, this was by far our favorite. The staff here go the extra mile and Irene was amazing, anything you needed she was there with. The views from the pool side were amazing, the pictures on their website are exactly the views you get when you stay there. The rooms were comfortable and breakfast was excellent. This place delivers on all their promises and you can get a better view from anywhere. I would reccommend anyone to stay here. And it really is a short walk from town and a lovely walk.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canadianers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Having read all the good comments about this hotel we made a reservation for 2 nights. When we arrived, we were told that due to a virus in the computer there was a problem of overbooking but we did not have to worry because they had made a reservation for us in another hotel. The lady told us not to pay anything in the hotel because, although more expensive, she would take care of it by paying the difference, because it was her fault. To make sure that she was telling the truth we asked for the price of the room in the hotel where we were (6 km from San Gimignano and no views at all) and we realized that it was in fact 30 Euros cheaper than the price we were paying to the person in charge of Podere Santa Elena. So, I am sure that this hotel is very nice if you get a room there but be careful, because you may end up in a different hotel paying more money than the real cost of the room.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank viajeroAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

Me and my wife spent there three magical nights. We enjoyed the stunning view and the quiet atmosphrere. The room was clean and warm. Breakfast was the best we had during our stay in Italy with fresh pastries and sandwitches each day from the owner's bakery, fresh fruits and great Capucino made by request. The stuff and the owner were excellent, always smiling and kean to help. There is a nice seating area where we enjoyed sitting and watch the breath taking view. The Tratoria down the road, recommended by the owner, was also excellent. We would love to visit there once again.

Mazkeret Batia, Israel

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ndrori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

When we arrived we did not like the room as there was only a very small window at roof level and the room was had a strong smell of damp. The room was also in the back corner of the hotel and got no sunlight. The girl who dealt with us (Erica) was lovely and remained so throughout our 5 days there.

We asked to change and Erica called the owner who arrived and was most unhelpful. I stay in many hotels throughout the year and was quite taken aback at the owners view on customer service. The only solution they could offer was a more expensive room - a studio. We viewed that room and the decor was worse than our own room, however, it did have more light.

We asked for a refund and understood that we were getting one, I provided a card that I thought was being credited, (because we understood we had paid online) and eventually we realised that the payment for the 5 days had been debited. As we could not afford to lose the 500 euros we took a deep breath and remained at the B&B.

What was most disappointing was people came and went throughout our 5 days there, and had there had been a desire to improve our stay they could have moved us for at least a couple of nights.

The owner had to hand the Laterooms cancellation policy and she told us that if we cancelled 7 to 9 nights before we arrived, she was entitled to debit the full amount. Something that struck me when I booked the hotel, was the fact that it was only available on Laterooms and I wonder now if this is because of their more favourable cancellation policy toward property owners.

Towels were changed daily, however, our sheets did not get changed over the 5 days.

The B&B had nice gardens with a great view across to San Gimignano. The breakfast was fine. The hotel is in a rural area, however, there was a trattoria nearby - we did not eat there as we had a car and could pick and choose where we ate.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AMGScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews