We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderful”
Review of Podere Sant'Elena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Podere Sant'Elena
Ranked #13 of 68 San Gimignano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Our 4th stay since 2007. The Podere didn't lose any of its charm and beauty. Friendly owners, excellent breakfast ( from their own bakery in town), very nice garden and pool (big and clean, with quiet sitting area) and above all, the unprecedented view on San Gimignano. Don't take your car to go to the town, but walk 25 minutes via a small country road (and try it in the dark to enjoy the fireflies). And the Podere is well located for day trips to Siena, Voltera, Firenze and even Cortona, including a lot of smaller city gems in the immediate surroundings

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Beerrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianni1169, Proprietario at Podere Sant'Elena, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for coming to stay with us.
I'm really happy you had good time here and in San Gimignano
My best
Barbara
Podere Sant'Elena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed here at the end of May with family on a recommendation. OMG, what a location. Total peace and quiet in stunning surroundings, tastefully furnished bedrooms. Wonderful breakfast, we sat outside each morning enjoying the views of the town of San Gimingnano which are quite simply breathtaking. Sadly it was not quite hot enough to enjoy the pool in the lovely well kept gardens. Staff extremely welcoming and helpful. If you don't want to use your car at night I believe its possible to walk into the town (if you are fit!), instead we choose the Trattoria "Borgo di Racciano" for our meals at night, a 5 min walk. Delicious meals, extremely friendly staff, great atmosphere.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeeRoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianni1169, Proprietario at Podere Sant'Elena, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014
Google Translation

Gentile Cliente,
La ringrazio per le sue parole di apprezzamento per la nostra struttura .
Siamo lieti che abbia apprezzato i nostri sforzi per rendere questo posto accogliente per i nostri clienti .
La aspettiamo la prossima volta!
Saluti, Barbara Gonnelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

the B&B lies on the hills opposite of San Gimignano so during breakfast or a drink in the evening you can enjoy the beautiful view of Tuscany. The rooms are very clean, spacious and comfortable having everything what one needs (hair dryers, mini bar) Having only two nights there I didn't use the pool in the garden - but I guess I will go back to do even that. The owners are very friendly and every morning they prepared a fresh "frittata" for breakfast. The breakfast buffet itself was very good, because you could find something for every taste: sweet, sour and healthy.
We all just had such a good time - it was only too short!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lio m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This place is perfect: beautiful location, with pool overlooking San Giminano. Beautiful and large rooms. Very quiet and with private parking. Very kind personnel.
And, last but not least, THE BREAKFAST!!

Room Tip: We were in room n.7
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stef_Martini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianni1169, Proprietario at Podere Sant'Elena, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Good to know you had good time here at the Podere Sant'Elena :
I'm really happy to see how many positive comments come up, it is really a good feeling and this gives to all of us a reason to make it even better!
My best
Barbara & Podere Sant'Elena staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at Podere Sant'Elena for five nights in the middle of our tour of Italy. We set up our headquarters in San Gimignano and took day trips to Pisa, Siena, Florence, Arezzo, etc. We really enjoyed this B&B, especially the incredible view of San Gimignano from our room.

One of our favorite things to do was to pick up some snacks during our daily travels and sit by the pool with wine and antipasto - a great way to while away an afternoon before heading into San Gimi later for dinner.

Some of these reviews will tell you that you can walk to town. Though I am sure you *can*, I would NOT recommend visiting PS'E without a car. If you are without a car, you would be better served to stay in San Gimignano proper, as the roads between the town and PS'E are tight, windy, hilly, unlit, and certainly not ideal for pedestrian traffic. Your best bet is to drive into San Gimi and park in the P1 lot and walk the rest of the way into town. If you park there after 8pm, the cost is just 1 Euro for the entire evening.

One note: the website for PS'E says the rooms are soundproofed. This is absolutely and utterly false. The rooms are the exact opposite of soundproofed. You can hear people speaking in the next room, you can hear when someone downstairs opens the main door, and most of all, you can hear the incessant barking of dogs throughout the countryside, which never seems to stop. Definitely consider this if you are a light sleeper.

Overall, we definitely enjoyed our time at Podere Sant'Elena and would recommend it to others, with the caveat above included. The staff was very friendly, including the older woman mentioned negatively in some of these reviews, who was sweet as could be to us. The bar and coffee service was well priced, and as others have mentioned, though not advertised, if you ask for a specialty coffee drink (cappucino, etc), they will happily make one for you. We found this B&B to be very accommodating, quiet, friendly, and welcoming.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the "best view" - I believe it's room 7. This is the only room t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amysaysom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I suppose it depends what you are looking for when chosing accommodation but if it is utter peace and quiet in stunning surroundings, tastefully furnished bedrooms and a lovely breakfast, this is the place for you. I know that it has been highlighted in other reviews but the view of the town of San Gimingnano from the gardens are quite simply breathtaking. There is a pool for visitors' use and the surroundings are kept immaculately. Quite truthfully the place is simply a haven from the stresses of the 21st century!

Another thing you need to complete a good holiday experience is friendly and helpful staff. Irene was a joy. She helped with all our meal reservations and gave us personal recommendations which all proved to be spot on.

I hesitate to call Podere Sant' Elena a B&B. It is much more than that. We will return soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

My wife and I, we already knew San Gimignano. We spent an unforgettable day in this lovely town in the summer of 2007 during our tour of Tuscany. But this was something totally different... We had two beautiful nights in Podere Sant'Elena. This B&B was incredibly inviting with its amazing view and location. Barbara the owner was everywhere. Any time you need something she or someone from her helpful staff was ready. They made us feel like as if we were in one of our relatives' (an aunt maybe) house.
Nothing fancy but Podere Sant'Elena is warm, caring and comfortable. Gorgeous view of medieval town and swimming pool in the yard are two big plusses.
We'll be there for sure next summer...

Room Tip: You have to ask for a room with the view of San Gimignano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Terry U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
2.2 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#1 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,391 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#4 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,277 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#6 of 29 in San Gimignano
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Casolare di Libbiano
Casolare di Libbiano
#4 of 68 in San Gimignano
361 reviews
2.6 mi away
Torraccia di Chiusi
Torraccia di Chiusi
#2 of 68 in San Gimignano
343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Podere Bellavista
Podere Bellavista
#8 of 68 in San Gimignano
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Podere Sant'Elena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere Sant'Elena

Address: Localita Racciano 42/A, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in San Gimignano
Price Range: £86 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonial house, fully rebuilt, respecting the original Tuscan architectural lines and antique traditions. Panoramic view over San Gimignano and its tower. Characteristic furnishing with terracotta floors and wooden ceiling-beams. The rooms, as well as being surrounded by the beautiful Tuscan countryside, are sound proofed and fitted with satellite TV and bathroom with shower, air conditioning and telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Podere Sant'Elena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Podere Sant'Elena San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing