We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning views of San Gimignano”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Podere Sant'Elena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Podere Sant'Elena
Ranked #19 of 66 San Gimignano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Stunning views of San Gimignano”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2010

Podere Sant'Elena is perched on the edge of a hill looking over a valley of grapevines and olive trees, with unrivalled views across to San Gimignano. It is a peaceful, charming and homely place to stay.

The owners and staff were extremely helpful and friendly and recommended lots of things for us to do and places to eat, one of which was really nearby (20 metres and perfect for a tasty meal and stroll home).

We really liked the quiet, the views, the spotlessly clean pool and the very well-appointed bathrooms.
We were slightly disappointed by the storage space and general size of our bedroom but we did not spend much time in it so it was not a major problem.
Initially, we thought that the Podere was too far from San Gimignano but it is less than 10 minutes' drive and 30 minutes' walk down a pretty road.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mjm1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    26
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
24
81
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2010

This is a an astonishing property in so many ways. Beautiful views, grounds, accommodation and pool. The only criticism is that we did not receive a change of towels during our four day stay. Considering the heat (32-36ª) and the amount of showers we had, this would have been most appropriate. Apart from that, our hosts (especially Barbara, the owner) were very helpful and energetic. Breakfast was a treat with assorted meats, eggs, sandwiches, yogurts, cereals and a large assortment of pastries provided by Barbara's and her husband's other business (a pastry shop). They will make a cappuccino and have plenty of beer, wines and water on hand. A great experience all round.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chocosophists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2010

My mother and I went on holiday to Tuscany this June. We both absolutely loved Podere Sant'Elena. Unpretentious, welcoming, it made an idea base from which to explore Tuscany, reaching Siena, Florence, Chianti and Voltera within an hour.

Breakfasts in the morning were simple, yet delicious. The whole family seems to help out with the running of the Podere, which is not only lovely to see, but also adds a very homely feel. There is a great swimming pool there which lends itself perfectly to the odd day of relaxing and doing nothing. And the views over to San Gimignano are incredible, especially at sunset.

I would recommend buying a bottle of Olive Oil onsite - this is made by Nonna herself from the olives in the garden and is divine!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigga_too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2010

I really loved this place as I'm a country kind of woman. It's a short, maybe 5 minutes or so, to San Gimignano sitting high on a hill opposite. This B & B sits up on a high will a panoramic view of the countryside and the city at night when the lights are on. Magical for sure. The room were very large with lovely amenties plus a swimming pool, acres of olive trees and vineyards all around. A secure parking area with gate. Great breakfast and it allows a lot of relaxation. Do go, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vibrantlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATHENS
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2010

Hotel has excellent views over San Gimignano, but you need a car and to pay for parking if you want to actually go within the wall. Hotel's best rooms are in the upper floor, rooms 6 and 7 (we stayed at Nr.7). Ground floor rooms more suitable for families with children (pool and playground just outside). Hotel very clean, nice rooms, adequate breakfast, very helpful staff.
We stayed for 1 week with great sunny days and explored Tuscany (if it rains you can't do much) . San Gimignano is great, easy to walk, great food at Le Vecchie Mura, climb up the big skyliner for great views. Favorite town of our trip was Lucca (1,5 hours away though) combining nature, middleage architecture and art and shopping-nightlife. Florence,Pisa and Siena are nice but too crowdy, prefer afternoons. Arezzo, Cortona and Volterra (which is also very close) are beatiful for spending your days (although from 14-17 at noon the cities "rest"). Chianti roads are great to drive, villages are OK (Greve, Castellina and Radda). Pienza and Pistoia are nice for 2-3 hours. Prato is nothing special.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FKYRHELLAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2010

This beautifully renovated farmhouse in Tuscany is located just minutes away from San Gimignano for dining and shopping. Our room was extremely clean and cozy with a magnificent view of their olive groves and lofty towers of the hilltop town. Each morning the Hostess would arrive with an array of delicious fresh- baked pastries from their bakery located in San Gimignano. She and her husband were gracious and friendly hosts. This B&B far exceeded our expectations. Texas

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2010

We cannot recommend this place enough. Restrained service and very relaxing environment.
Excellent proximity and far enough form the village to escape the hoards form the buses!!!
Fantastic location - and the view! Weather was absolutely perfect and the Trattoria down the drive is highly recommended - especially the wild roast pork! Exceptional value, great wholesome local food, and so handy.
We were in the village for the Harvest festival and what a visual feast. Recommend this to any traveller to the region. A much better village than Moltepuciano etc.
Excellent shopping in the village and easy to get around.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancescoNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
2.4 mi away
Casolare di Libbiano
Casolare di Libbiano
#4 of 66 in San Gimignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
1.0 mi away
Podere Montese
Podere Montese
#25 of 66 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Podere Bellavista
Podere Bellavista
#16 of 66 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Antico Borgo il Cardino
Antico Borgo il Cardino
#17 of 66 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Fornace di Racciano
La Fornace di Racciano
#9 of 111 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
2.6 mi away
Torraccia di Chiusi
Torraccia di Chiusi
#3 of 66 in San Gimignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Podere Sant'Elena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere Sant'Elena

Property: Podere Sant'Elena
Address: Localita Racciano 42/A, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonial house, fully rebuilt, respecting the original Tuscan architectural lines and antique traditions. Panoramic view over San Gimignano and its tower. Characteristic furnishing with terracotta floors and wooden ceiling-beams. The rooms, as well as being surrounded by the beautiful Tuscan countryside, are sound proofed and fitted with satellite TV and bathroom with shower, air conditioning and telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Podere Sant'Elena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Podere Sant'Elena San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing