We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Week in Paridise!”
other travellers have booked this property
villa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
villa
pool living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
villa
pool
living room
terrace
'Tosca' room
bathroom n.3
'Butterfly' room
bathroom n.2
balcony
pool
kitchen
'Traviata' room
bathroom n.1
'Aida' room
bathroom n. 4
dining room
living and outdoor area n.2
outdoor area n. 3
outdoor
tv room
panorama
'al fresco' meals
pool
villa
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
San Gimignano, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
vinoroso2...
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Week in Paridise!”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were a group of seven who were extremely happy with our choice of this four bedroom villa with wonderful views of San Gimignano and surrounding vineyards. The location is very convenient; close enough for a walk into town, yet far enough to enjoy the wonderful views and seclusion. And an easy drive to the other hill towns and vineyards of central Tuscany, Florence, and Sienna. The pool very nice on those hot afternoons. Alessandro was extremely friendly and helpful. He arranged for his aunt to prepare a wonderful dinner that we thoroughly enjoyed. We definitely plan go back again!

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy H
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable villa, amazing views. Don't hesitate - book it!”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent two glorious weeks at La Porticciola. A family of four with two teenage daughters, we shared the villa with a bachelor uncle for the first week and elderly parents for the second. Despite intense heat outside, the villa remained cool and comfortable and we all slept well on comfortable beds in airy, clean rooms. The bathrooms look as if they were fitted last week. Our Tuscan dinner was a delight and a real treat; the views will stay with us for ever. The walk up to San Gim (as we now call it) was tough in the heat but meant we earned our ice creams. Alessandro is an angel in human form, returning the whole drawer ful of clothes that our daughter left behind without charge or complaint. A dream house. Would love to return one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the space
Liked least: the ants !
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willow060
Neath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I want to go back !”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Villa Porticciola is perfectly situated to enjoy the breathtaking views of San Gimignano and surrounding vineyards being within a 10-15 walk from the town. The villa was spotless as was the pool which was regularly cleaned by the host Alex. We enjoyed breakfasts and lunchtimes sitting outside on the various terraces surrounding the villa which was fully equipped with all you needed [incl' a dishwasher !]. The bedrooms all had wonderful views and the beds were really comfortable. Alex the host was very helpful and informative.

In my view the pictures on the website really do not do justice to the Villa or its location. The views surrounding the property are quite spectacular and being so close to San Gimignano meant you could walk into town for your evening meal where there is a plethora of good quality restaurants serving wonderful Italian food at incredible value.

I really do want to go back !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its amazing scenery and fabulous situation
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
digent
Quito, Ecuador
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous villa & pool with stunning views of San Gimignano”
Reviewed 7 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just spent a wonderful week at La Porticciola with our Son & Daughter in law & grandkids.Charming villa & great pool & the most stunning views of San Gimignano. The views are to die for ! You could not get a better view of the Towers & the beautiful Tuscan countryside with Nightingales & Eagles overhead.In the evening from the terrace the lights of San Gimangno & the magical sparkling fireflies in the garden.Spacious villa with lovely rooms & 4 ensuite bathrooms .
Thank you Alessandro for all your information & ideas for the local area & the wine you left us in the villa.We went to Siena, Volterra & Mounteriggioni.
Can't wait to go back again !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flats74
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Christmas in Tuscany”
Reviewed 14 May 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We travelled as 2 families of 4 and stayed the week of Xmas 2014. Allessandro was easily on hand to meet us and during the week came and cleaned out the pellet heater and answered any questions we had. We had a lovely welcome basket of fruit, chocolates and wine. We all had our own rooms with ensuite. The teenage kids shared. The Villa was well appointed and soaking in history...with its trap door under the kitchen and frescos in the bedrooms. The kids loved exploring the grounds ... noticing a truffle hunter wandering the grounds as they looked out the window ... we had nights by the open fire and beautiful sun filled days with crisp spectacular mornings. We woke on Christmas day to the glorious views of San Gimignano out every window...after the present opening and hearty italian brunch wandered up the road to town to enjoy a beautiful Italian Christmas Mass...this was a memorable Italian experience for us. The town was perfect at this time of year with all the christmas lights and we felt like we were the only tourists in town. We had a car which we think is a necessity. It is a 10 min drive to Poggibonsi where it is an easy bus or train to Florence and Siena. We drove through the tuscan hills to Volterra. It should be noted that a lot of Villas close at this time of year and there are limited timetables for buses. We were so happy to find Villa La Porticciola! the weather was glorious and San Gimignano was sensational.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Cost of heating
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golfnutts
Georgetown, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Villa with Killer Views but Be Aware”
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Discovered this location while researching properties online over a year ago. We completed a 2 week stay with several couples from our neighborhood near the end of April.

The Villa is a charming facility with good rooms that are very quiet thanks to ancient stone walls. The location near San Gimignano is marvelous, once you find it. You have to go a ways down a dirt road and turn on an unmarked driveway to get there. Once you find it though, it is a great location to hit all of the Tuscan highlights.

The views of the valley and ancient walled city are breathtaking. We found several folks walking up the drive toward the villa just to take in the view.

Now, the "be aware" part. This villa is run in what we understand to be the "traditional Italian manner". That means, other than towels, basic kitchen utensils, basic dishware, silverware and bed linens, you have to provide EVERYTHING. When you arrive there is no toilet paper, no paper towels, few spices, no dishwashing soap (although there were a few dishwasher tabs), no laundry soap, no soap in bathrooms, etc. You better stop by the local COOP or the PAM superstore in Poggibonsi before you get there. We also had a running battle with ants which the owner attributed to "it's summer" as he provided a fresh can of pesticide spray. We also found that only 3 of the burners on the cooktop worked which frustrated some ladies who came in to cook for the 8 of us.

Even with the inconveniences described above, we enjoyed our time there very much.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Expanding...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Tuscan Villa!”
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This villa is exactly what you picture when you think of a Tuscan holiday. The property is very large and all the rooms are wonderfully decorated with plenty of space and storage-the pictures do not do it justice! Because of the stone construction the rooms also stay comfortably cool. The villa is set well off the road and you have the feeling of your own private oasis. You can tell the villa has been modernized with care to preserve the original features (doors, shutters, fireplace), which all add to the charm. The pool is also beautiful and clean with plenty of chaise loungers. The villa is also spoiled with five modernized clean bathrooms. But what really makes the property special is the views. You can sit outside and have your meals with a full unobstructed view of San Gimignano-I have traveled extensively and this is arguably one of the most beautiful skylines I have seen. There is plenty of outdoor furniture and a BBQ which we made use of. From the villa you can walk or a quick drive up to San Gimignano and there are numerous other towns nearby to explore (eg. Volterra). A COOP is very close to the villa for all your grocery needs, with a larger PAM market just a >15 min. drive into Poggibonsi. The train station in Poggibonsi is also perfect for car free access to Florence, Siena, etc. Alessandro was very accommodating and a pleasure to deal with. Book with confidence! We were five adults and one toddler who stayed in this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large comfortable rooms, many bathrooms, Views!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing