We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable, convenient and spotlessly clean, but...”
other travellers have booked this property
villa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
villa
pool living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
villa
pool
living room
terrace
'Tosca' room
bathroom n.3
'Butterfly' room
bathroom n.2
balcony
pool
kitchen
'Traviata' room
bathroom n.1
'Aida' room
bathroom n. 4
dining room
living and outdoor area n.2
outdoor area n. 3
outdoor
tv room
panorama
'al fresco' meals
pool
villa
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
San Gimignano, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
MarvinR3
1 review
“Great location but interior leaves much to be desired.”
Reviewed 1 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Villa is in great location with walkable uphill climb into town. Road is gravelly/sandy with some rough spots. Can't imagine what road would be like after a rain. Some reviewers say 5-10 minute walk which is exaggerated. House is ideal for Europeans who wish to sit by the pool all day. But for Americans like us, house has important shortcomings. Beds are uncomfortable (we've rented all over Europe and these were among the worst). Pillows were thin rock-hard foam that should have been replaced years ago, unless you prefer waking with a stiff neck. And a sheet/wool blanket on each bed is from yesteryear. If you only use the house for breakfast, the kitchen, though very old, suffices. But if you prefer to cook or warm up stuff from the market, you're stuck with an old 5-burner cooktop with 2 burners hard to light. And there's no counter space.

In summary, the photos make the place look spectacular, but when you get close up, some of that fades away. At least it did for us.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2017
Thank you for your review but I am very disappointed at what you wrote regarding your experience at Villa La Porticciola.
“Via Vecchia” in San Gimignano is a gravel road, it cannot be tarmacked because it is part of an ancient medieval road, it is part of a scenic itinerary tied to UNESCO regulations. However, there are only 600m of gravel road before reaching the asphalted road. The mattresses are new. Mattresses come in different degrees of firmness, depending on one’s personal tastes. I bought mattresses that are medium firm to try and please all my guests but just how comfortable a mattress can be remains a subjective matter. The same thing goes for the pillows, I like thin pillows but if you had wanted them changed, it was enough to ask me. I am always available for my guests, I would have changed them within a few hours. Moreover, the day after your arrival, I asked your daughter if everything was all right. She answered that everything was perfect, she seemed happy and said nothing about the mattress, sheet/wool blanket and pillow. The kitchen is as is shown in the photo. It is not very big but enough to prepare all kinds of meals. I am sorry you did not have the experience of having a chef preparing dinner on the spot as I had suggested. You would have seen that everything works and a 5-course meal (Tuscan starters, 2 pasta dishes, meat, dessert) can easily be prepared for 9 people. You say that the house is suitable only for European customers but I must tell you that 50% of my guests are American and Canadian.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkh001
Seabrook Island, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable, convenient and spotlessly clean, but it was the patio and it's view that was the highlight.”
Reviewed 6 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

4 couples shared this lovely place for a week. Amazing view from the patio, where we met for breakfast, cocktails/dinner or any bit of down time. Great to have easy walk (uphill) to the interesting town. Bedrooms are very private. Living/dining areas comfortable, though we almost always chose to be outside, For the few minor issues, Alessandro was there right away and graciously took care of everything. We did have one evening fire in the wonderful fire place, and enjoyed a delicious dinner prepared in our kitchen, chef arranged by Alessandro. Trust your GPS and do take the little dirt road (Via Vecchia) to and from of the villa.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C S
Northport, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect setting !”
Reviewed 10 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Allessandro the owner was outstanding. The Villa was even better! Beautifully situated at the foothills of the magnificent the city , this four bedroom four bathroom Villa was perfect to house my three adult children and their families and myself for a week. Well within walking distance from SAN G - made enjoying the shopping and restaurants dosble and enjoyable . This is a lovely spot in Tuscany that is highly recommended !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pekkasimu...
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tuscany at its best”
Reviewed 22 September 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

For our extended family, Villa la Porticciola was the perfect combination of everything: Really lovely house and garden, all nice and clean and very well taken care of; views you just couldn't stop admiring (in two weeks we didn't have a single meal inside the house - the views from the garden just couldn't be resisted so we always ate on the terrace!), quiet location with real privacy including your own very private pool, yet walking distance to the picturesque San Gimignano with its groceries, bakeries, sights. All this in the heart of beautiful Tuscany. And the very nice owner Alessandro happy to help you. Highly recommended!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perry S
Newfoundland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 8 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our group of 8 (6 adults and 2 teenagers) spent a week at this beautifully maintained villa on the outskirts of San Gimignano. The location was perfect for us with the town only a short drive away while providing for a private setting among the vineyards. The villa is very well equipped for those times you want to cook at home and had enough of the basic ingredients to get you started. The bedrooms are spacious and well appointed with comfortable beds and nice linens. With several common areas to relax in it didn't feel like we were on top of one another during the stay. The private pool was an added bonus especially after returning from a long day of sightseeing! Pictures cannot fully capture the beauty of the villa with San Gimignano in the background.

Alessandro was a gracious host during our stay, arranging for a local lady to come in and prepare a couple of dinners for us. This is something I highly recommend. The payment process and meeting up with Alessandro on arrival went off without issue as well.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tom m
Poland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“AWESOME”
Reviewed 14 December 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Everything the reviewers say and MORE. Myself and a group of seven picked this vacation palace to base for tours in nearby Sienna and Florence and local sights. Far enough from the town to admire the beauty yet close enough to walk for an evening gialato! Great place to relaw for the day as well!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxed setting and great views
Liked least: had to leave after 7 days
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCTravelf...
Leland, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Villa la Porticciola”
Reviewed 12 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We recently spent a week at La Porticciola and loved every minute of it. The location, just a quarter mile from San Gimingnano is perfect. The views are wonderful in every direction. Alessandro, the owner, is friendly, helpful, and responsive. There are four bedrooms, all with private bathrooms. Everyone of them was beautiful. There is a huge fireplace in the primary living room which we used every night. The kitchen is fully stocked with whatever you might need. The wi-fi worked great. When we were there at the end of October, the pool was still open. I did a massive amount of research before I found this place. It was well worth it. Compared to many others, the price is quite reasonable. Great location in the heart of Tuscany to explore Florence, Siena, Pisa, Lucca, and more. Alessandro will help you plan where to go and what to see. He even meets you in the village and guides you to the house. I can't say enough about this lovely home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the views
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing