We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Locanda dell' Artista
Ranked #1 of 66 San Gimignano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thank you!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband and I have stayed in very many hotels , including five amd boutique hotels, across the world, and I think that this is my favourite. The views over the countryside with the sky line of San G in the distance are stunning. The farmhouse and pool are beautiful , charming and comfortable. It is easy to drive to the surrounding towns . Or ho for a walk on the countryside Most important, Baker, Christian, and Barbara are utterly delightful. They are attentive without being intrusive ; you really do feel like a guest not a customer. On a couple of days we decided to laze by the pool, and Christian cooked some lunch up just for us. For a quiet adult holiday I could find no fault, and we will definately be back.

Room Tip: Well I should say choose the secret garden room, except I am so jealous of anyone else having "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanHautbois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baker B, Owner at Locanda dell' Artista, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Susan and David,
Thank you for taking the time to write this incredible review of your stay. We are so grateful and happy that we met your expectations and needs. We are continually trying to improve our services...and it is nice to know it seems to be working! :0) We will look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Warmest wishes from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
255
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Keller, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We spent 5 glorious nights here last week & hands down it could not have been more perfect! The Inn is lovingly restored to perfection with no detail left undone. We stayed in a beautiful room with our own patio and outdoor garden. Sipped wine under the stars every night! The views from the inn are absolutely stunning and the pool, terrace and outdoor areas are incredible!! Breakfast is impeccable and served on the outdoor terrace and I must say that Baker reigns supreme when it comes to making cappuccinos!! An absolute treat and highlight is dinner prepared at the inn for the guests! We had the most awesome dinner served by Cristian & Baker - they are the perfect hosts!!! They anticipated our every need and absolutely nothing was too much for them. They were happy to give directions, dinner suggestions/reservations and plan out glorious days for us!!! Thank you Baker, Cristian & Barbara for a beautiful vacation!! Simply amazing!!! We will be back as soon as we possibly can!!! Terry & Billy

Room Tip: The Il Giardino Segreto has it's own private patio and garden!! Loved spending time out there un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baker B, Owner at Locanda dell' Artista, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Grazie...Terry and Bill for this review and for the sentiments within it. We will forever remember your "sparkiling" personalities, laughter and smiles. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, especially being your first trip to Italy and even Europe! Come back and see us again soon, but until then, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

After many years of travelling we have found the perfect place to stay....such a beautiful, relaxing place and the warmest of welcomes from Baker, Cristian and Barbara. The accommodation is supremely comfortable, the food (both breakfast and dinner if you are lucky enough to be there on a night when dinner is served) is delicious and the conversation so entertaining. Nothing is too much trouble and we were given lots of advice about interesting places to go that we wouldn't have found in the guide books as well as suggestions for the best local restaurants. We'd love to return, sooner rather than later!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baker B, Owner at Locanda dell' Artista, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dearest Allison and Chris,

We miss you! After having you stay with us for a week, we felt part of our family left! Thank you for this super review, but mostly thank you for being such a terrific couple and guest. We just finished serving dinner, and each dinner i think of you saying to me "I am not sure i can eat four courses"....but there wasnt a crumb on any of your plates! :0) Warmest wishes until we meet again. Baker, Cristian and Barbara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Whatever your dream may be of life in Tuscany you can multiple it by 1000% at Locanda dell' Artista. My 13 year old daughter and I stayed for (a far too short) 3 day visit in April and wished we could have stayed FOREVER! As a 20 plus year business traveler I have had the opportunity to stay at more 5 star hotels than I care to remember and the experience offered by Baker, Christian and Barbara far exceeded all of my expectations. Instead of the feeling that you are just another guest it is as if you are being welcomed as a member of their family.

The property has been exquisitely renovated and offers a beautiful panorama of San Gimignano. Baker’s hospitality is unmatched as he sees you off each day with the perfect itinerary to enjoy the best of the region and welcomes you back with genuine interest in your experience of La Dolce Vita.

For me it is not a question of will I return but how soon can we visit this truly magically part of the Tuscan countryside and our wonderful hosts. Do not hesitate book this experience now and stay longer than you were originally planning you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baker B, Owner at Locanda dell' Artista, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Ciao Janice! Grazie....for this lovely and heartfelt review. We too wish you were with us for a longer stay. You are your daughter were terrific and it makes us so happy that you enjoyed your brief stay so fully. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Warmest wishes from all of us at the Locanda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

How ever many days you're planning to stay here, do yourself a favor and book an extra week! At Locanda dell' Artista, you will NEVER want to leave. My husband and I are still waiting for Baker and Cristian to adopt us :)

From the moment you arrive, you will instantly feel the love and dedication Baker and Cristian have put into their B&B and its guests. The views are stunning, the rooms are impeccably clean and exquisitely decorated, the breakfasts are delicious and filling and the hospitality you receive is UNMATCHED!

Baker and Cristian are the kindest, most caring hosts you will ever come across. Your happiness and comfort is their #1 priority here, and they will do everything they can to ensure a first-class stay. It has taken me a whole week to write this review because I feel that I cannot put into words just how AMAZING they are. You just have to experience "the magic" for yourself.

Thank you Baker and Cristian for everything!!! Tuscany will have a special place in our hearts because of you two! Please also give Barbara (aka Sharon) a big hug for us! We miss you all!

XO, Char & Rex

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baker B, Owner at Locanda dell' Artista, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dearest Charlene and Rex,
Reading your review brought tears to our eyes. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for the emotions and kindness expressed herein. It was a complete delight to have you with us, and our only regret is that your stay was so brief. Saying good bye to guest is the HARDEST part of our job, as we make connections and then you leave. Needless to say, you are most welcome here in your home in Tuscany, whenever you may return...and i promise to show you both some Disney art...NOT on display. :0) Warmest wishes to you both. Baker, Cristian and Barbara (aka sharon). LOL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muenster, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

We went to the Locanda at the end of our 2-weeks-trip through Italy and were just stunned by the beauty of the surrounding and the Locanda itself when we arrived.

Baker and Christian welcomed us more than warmly and made us feel immediately "at home". It is quite difficult to find the right words in english that could describe how we experienced the Locanda, as well as Christian, Baker and Barbara, but we will try :-).

All three of them are such nice, warm and open-hearted people, who are nowadays not that easy to be found. Every day when we woke up, we looked forward to the cheerful "buongiorno!" that filled the dining-room, where we were welcomed to have a wonderful (!!) breakfast.

Baker and Christian are a lovely couple who put a lot of love and hard work in creating this beautiful, wonderful place, and you can see and feel that in every corner. We have been to many different hotels all over the world, but this is a place we would really love to return to.
Some nights we tiptoed to the beautiful terrace (they light candles there every night), a bottle of red wine in our hands, and just enjoyed the silence and the view over to San Gimignano.

To finish in German: Dieses wunderschöne B&B ist ein wahrer Geheimtipp und wir können es nur wärmstens empfehlen. Baker, Christian und Barbara könnten nicht herzlicher sein. Ein wahrer Schatz!

Thank you for everything, take care and hope to see you soon.

"Ciao";-) from Anna & Thomas

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ankams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baker B, Owner at Locanda dell' Artista, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Thomas and Anna,
It was such a pleasure for us having you stay at our Locanda last week. Though it rained every day, you both are such a bright ray of sunshine, it made it feel sunny! Your review of your stay humbles us and reminds us how lucky we are to be living here and hosting guests like you. With your help, we continue to experience our Locanda in new ways. We loved how you enjoyed the terrace every evening...moments like these fill us with joy as our home becomes your home. We also thank you for the delicious salame and wine which you o graciously left for us and which we enjoyed as we remembered you. We hope to see you soon, as it will be our complete pleasure. Thank you. Cristian, Baker and Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Fabulous captivating views are just the beginning of our experience with Baker and his team. We have stayed in hotels that have charged far more and provided far less. Locanda dell' Artista is a truly magical experience. They went above and beyond in every way to assist and provide for our every need. If you miss San Gimignano you missed Italy. If you miss Locanda dell' Artista you cheated yourself out of an experience not to be believed.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annwhitespunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baker B, Owner at Locanda dell' Artista, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Ciao Patsy and Ann,
Thank you for this lovely note and review. We were so sorry you both fell ill at the end of your stay and were glad we could help you recover with a little TLC! We thought of you in Alabama the week after you left as we heard about the flooding and hope that you and your families were kept safe and dry. Our Locanda will be your home in Tuscany whenever you can return, and we will welcome you with big hugs. Until that time, we send you our very best wishes. Cristian, Baker and Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Gimignano
22.0 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
696 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#4 of 30 in San Gimignano
1,275 reviews
14.3 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
655 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 30 in San Gimignano
1,193 reviews
20.9 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda dell' Artista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda dell' Artista

Property: Locanda dell' Artista
Address: Loc. Canonica-Lucignano 43, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to the luxury bed and breakfast market in Tuscany, Locanda dell' Artista opened recently in June 2013 and has been receiving wonderful reviews and awards ever since. Located high in the hills between Florence and Siena, near the ancient walled city of San Gimignano, lies Locanda dell' Artista, a romantic country inn nestled in the heart of beautiful Tuscany. The Locanda's forty acre estate commands spectacular views of the towers of San Gimignano and the surrounding countryside, including sprawling vineyards, verdant forests, and the inn's own lush olive groves and luxurious swimming pool.With a maximum of twelve guests, this is a private retreat of newly restored 18th century farmhouses combining the modern amenities of a luxury hotel with the personality, individual service and comfort of an elegant bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Locanda dell' Artista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Dell' Artista San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing