We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great! ”
Review of Molino di Foci

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Molino di Foci
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Heidi & Luca are very nice couple that welcomes you on arrival at any time!
The rooms are very clean & comfortable.
The view around the gardens is charming.
Don't forget to ask about the history of the place.

Very recommended place!

Thanks Heidi & Luca!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Guy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

After reading all the great reviews on Trip advisor we chose to stay at Molino di Foci during our trip to the Chianti region. We received great service from the B&B staff and were even given the choice to choose between two different rooms to stay in which was great! The room we choose was stylishly furnished and very comfortable, it had a lovely large bathroom and a massive shower. Our room was spotlessly clean and close to the car park so we didn't have to lug our bags very far. The breakfast was plentiful with a wide variety to choose from including cereals, croissants, meats and cheeses plus the host made us fresh cappuccinos each morning. The grounds surprised me a little as I had viewed all the photographs on this property beforehand and it looked pristine but when we stayed I think because it was off peak season things had been left to not look so tidy plus the pool was brown and full of algae. A huge downfall I think for this B&B is it doesn't have wifi in the rooms, the only wifi is accessible from outside the reception/breakfast area which late on a cold Autumn evening when needing to checking online for a flight the next day wasn't a very pleasant experience for me to endure shivering in the cold nights air. I would have also liked a clean dry towel for my 2nd nights stay as I had left my wet one on the bed when we went to breakfast during which time our room was cleaned but my wet towel was folded not hung and put back in the bathroom to be used again : (

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amyskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi S, Proprietario at Molino di Foci, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback! We are happy that you appreciated the room and service and I appologize for the not towel change, they normally change when the clients leave them on the floor or in the shower....Concerning the garden and the pool, we were damaged by 2 big inundations end of october with 1 meter of water and mud in the garden and the whole basement.....We are very sorry that the pool is still in bad conditions but it winter and it was more important to repair everything inside....In march also the outside will be in perfect conditions again...:) So we hope to see you again in spring or summer when tuscany is even nicer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

...to Luca and Heidi for creating a most wonderful and relaxing vacation spot in the heart of Tuscany. We have spent a week there (during late September) in each of the last 6 out 7 years - the only reason we missed one is because we tried to book too late and they could not fit us in..!
The boutique hotel is situated on the outskirts of the old town of San Gimignano, among beautiful hills and wild daisy fields. It is an easy stroll to the old town and only an hours drive from each of Florence and Siena. Luca & Heidi are among the most accommodating proprietors that we have ever encountered, and the 4-course Tuscan dinners that they serve 3 times per week are a culinary delight and not to be missed.
We have thoroughly enjoyed the time we have spent there and we will continue to do so as long as we are able to. So, thank you Luca and Heidi - arrivederci, or better said in German: Auf Wiedersehen (translated: until we see each other again!).

Room Tip: It worth paying a little extra for the tower suite (on two floors).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jandali J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Wa had a great stay at Molino Di Foci. Very friendly staff, willing to give a good service 24/7! For example, on our first day there they surprised us with a battle of prosecco to celebrate our honey moon properly. The Tuscan food, offered 3 evenings a week, is really great. I do not think I've ever eaten so well in Italy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MathiasVanhecke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We were tired and hungry and lost after a day in our Fiat touring Tuscany in the rain. We arrived at the south gate of San Gimignano and found a shop with owners who called Luca at Molino di Foci for us. Luca got on the phone, assured us that our tears were not necessary, told us where to eat and then drove to meet us after dinner so we could follow him back to the hotel and not continue our day of being lost. We had a terrific room, fine breakfast, and lots of good advice and directions from Luca about where to go and what to see. We stayed an extra night-- and I'd be fine staying there still, frankly. It was just lovely, perfect, and welcoming.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mannyma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

A great beautiful hotel just 5 minutes away from San Gemignano.
The hospitality is worth mentioning, a really good atmosphere!
A money worthy, Friday dinner with great food.
Big and comfortable bed.

*The Wi-Fi is weak,
*The air condition gets only to 25 degrees - we asked for an extra blanked and got it right away.
*A bit hard to find for the first time, there is a sign telling you to turn around and then turn right to the hotel, but , when driving we missed the turn around part and didn't find the place for sometime..

Over all - very recommended

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nimi-Astro-Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Though having only had the Chance of staying for 2 Nights due to some reservation problems (we actually booked 8 nights) caused by the staff (however this is/was really the only Point of criticism) we enjoyed outstanding days at the Molino.
Apart from the highly idyllic Pool and Garden, a Perfect place for pure relaxation, the aspect that is Probably Most characteristic for the Molino is the atmosphere among the staff, which is transferred One to One to the guests.
Never before have we ecperienced such a warm and easy atmosphere, starting from the cleaning staff via the service guys to the two owners themselves. We really felt comfortable from the very First Minute in this familiar atmosphere.
Though being only a B&B officially there was Full-Time Service available and Drinks and Snacks were offered on the balcony from which you had a great view to the scenic landscape.
The next village, San Giminigiano is 4km away, which means that a Car is obligatory for going to Dinner. All other important sights in Tuscanny are all in moderate driving distance (max. 1 Hour).
Molino is highly recommandable for a Holiday perfectly combining relaxation with culinaric and cultural ecperiences.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Very85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
3.5 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#5 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,265 reviews
2.6 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 29 in San Gimignano
660 reviews
4.5 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hotel le Volpaie
Hotel le Volpaie
#14 of 29 in San Gimignano
178 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
632 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Molino di Foci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Molino di Foci

Address: Localita Molino di Foci, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in San Gimignano
Price Range: £77 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Molino di Foci 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Molino di Foci is an old watermill dating back to the 14th century. After being abandoned for over 40 years it has been carefully restored into a characteristic small hotel, ready to offer guests a warm welcome to the fascinating tuscan countryside. Restoration work has been sympathetically carried out over a number of years using materials and colours typical of Tuscany. As a result, Molino di Foci now offers its' guests the possibility to clearly envisage the life and history of the old watermill while enjoying any modern comforts, amid a wonderful setting surrounded by fields of wheat and spectacular sunflowers. The English speaking owners have a long experience in first class hotellerie and with the restoration they have realized their big dream of their own hotel. Situated on the via Francigena, which originally lead pilgrims from Canterbury to Rome, the Molino di Foci is an historic building protected by the Belle Arti. The Molino di Foci is only 4 kms away from the historic medieval centre of San Gimignano and ideally located for visiting both Siena and Volterra which both lie just 30 kms away, distance to Florence is 45 kms and Pisa airport 80 kms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Molino di Foci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Molino Di Foci San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing