We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay with perfect hosts”
Review of Molino di Foci

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Molino di Foci
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2009

Molino di Foci is a beautiful B&B. It is in a converted watermill which has lots of character, a delightful terrace area and a lovely pool area.

The owners and staff were all very friendly and helpful. Thankfully, due to our lack of language skills, they spoke excellent English, as did the majority of the other guests, most of whom were German.

Our room seemed to be one of the small ones. It was immaculately clean and although it was basically furnished it was comfortable and quiet. The bathroom was little strange, requiring two folding shower screens to be put in place to create a small shower area, but we quickly got used to that. The lack of air conditioning would probably be an issue in the hottest months of the year.

For us the best thing about our stay was the excellent evening meals served on the terrace three times a week. The standard of the food was excellent and the relaxed atmosphere of sharing the experience with the other guests was very pleasant. It was also very good value for money.

The owners helped us with very good restaurant recommendations and reservations on other nights, both in San Gimignano (about a five minute drive away) and in the surround villages.

The staff serve drinks and snacks to guests all day and on evenings when meals are not served. We found this a useful service but it did mean that guests were asked to consume their own food and drink only in their rooms. We would like to have been able to relax outside to enjoy our purchases collected on our drive through Chianti country.

We would certainly recommend a stay at Molino di Foci. If you do stay, be sure to take advantage of their evening meals.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Creamegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2009

Great hotel. Heidi and Lucca and their staff could not do more to help. Dinner (20 euros per person)is served on Mon/Wed and Fri and snacks are available all day.
The wine is really good value for money. There is also a great bar less than 1km away that sells great food and does a BBQ night on a Thursday. Our room was on the ground floor and had its own access to the gardens. You can also get the bus to San Gimignano at the end of the road, which is great if you don't have a car like us. Pool side and gardens were beautiful and well looked after. We will return.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shamu1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

I've stayed at two other hotels in San Gimingano before (La Cisterna and Leon Blano). Both have a better location, but this hotel was a better value. Still central, with a great suite in the tower which was perfect for all of us, as we were traveling with two kids. Most of the other guests were German, as the innkeeper is as well and likely markets to that audience. We thought the grounds were nice and the rooms were spotless. Not a high-style place, but comfortable and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dqcrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2009

We stay at Molino di foci for one week and we had our best vacation in our stay in Italy, the Hotel is small and the service is perfect the staff is very frendly and they give to us a itinerary with suggestions in town and restaurant that we must see and try. We had also a beautiful dinner at Molino di Foci the dinner was delicious with fresh thinks direct from the market. The breakfast was very good and everidays they have different choise of salad and fruits. the day of the departure we ask to visit a few rooms ..are all different with nice colors there is only one room that is close to the road but the rest are very quiet. we hope to come again soon in this lovely atmosphere.

Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank principino101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2008

Molino di Foci is in a perfect place, has an very very nice swimming pool but when we stayed in Molino di Foci the wheater wasn't good so we didn't have the change to enjoy the pool. The rooms are in Tuscan style but a little oldfashioned as far as our taste concerned. It is not a place to stay many hours at your room. Although it was very clean, some things were a old: the heathing didn't work and we didn't like the bed. Service is very good, even snacks until late in the evening (some fresh, some frozen). We also stayed in other hotels during our trip and were a little disappointed about Molino di Foci. I choose Molino di Foci because of the recommendations but wouldn't go there for an second time although the hotel it is above avarage.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank EsenE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2008

For those of you planning a stay in San Gimignano or reading the reviews on Molino di Foci, my fiancé Cathy and I would ask that you please “consider the source” when reading the options from those in our neighboring state California.

With that said, the Molino di Foci is, without a doubt, a piece of heaven in one of the most beautiful places on earth. You will not find pollution (smog), crime, traffic jams or obnoxious an arrogant people.

Cathy and I have been to over 90 countries and we loved everything about Tuscany, San Gimignano as well as Molino di Foci.

Everything in this property is fantastic. The pool is great, breakfast was great by any standards and the property is meticulously kept. The property boosts the most beautiful roses, grounds and architecture quintessential of Tuscany.

The service exceeds excellence and the owners and operators are wonderful people. There is no way to go wrong by choosing this property when in Tuscany.

Stay and enjoy one of the most beautiful places on earth.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Capitalist4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2008

I was expecting a "quiet place, far from the nearest road with views of the countryside," as described by other reviewers.

The nearest road was just outside our window. It is a dirt road that leads to the molino, and also to some other place further down the road. The problem is that since there is no A/C, we had to sleep with the window open. Everyday between 6 and 7 AM I got woken up by several cars driving on this road. It may have been just our room that has this problem.

Everything else in this property is really good. The pool is great, breakfast is good by Italian standards. Service is excellent and the people are nice. They also gave us very good recommendations for restaurants in the area. Room was very clean. Shower was great. They give you pool towels.

It is a good place to come back for a mid-day dip in the pool before heading out for dinner.

I also wanted to clarify that the snacks that are available during the day are not free, not that I expected them to be free, but from other reviews you may think that.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank adar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
4.5 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,391 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
826 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#6 of 29 in San Gimignano
641 reviews
3.7 mi away
Relais Cappuccina
Relais Cappuccina
#20 of 29 in San Gimignano
549 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#4 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Molino di Foci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Molino di Foci

Address: Localita Molino di Foci, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range: £73 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Molino di Foci 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Molino di Foci is an old watermill dating back to the 14th century. After being abandoned for over 40 years it has been carefully restored into a characteristic small hotel, ready to offer guests a warm welcome to the fascinating tuscan countryside. Restoration work has been sympathetically carried out over a number of years using materials and colours typical of Tuscany. As a result, Molino di Foci now offers its' guests the possibility to clearly envisage the life and history of the old watermill while enjoying any modern comforts, amid a wonderful setting surrounded by fields of wheat and spectacular sunflowers. The English speaking owners have a long experience in first class hotellerie and with the restoration they have realized their big dream of their own hotel. Situated on the via Francigena, which originally lead pilgrims from Canterbury to Rome, the Molino di Foci is an historic building protected by the Belle Arti. The Molino di Foci is only 4 kms away from the historic medieval centre of San Gimignano and ideally located for visiting both Siena and Volterra which both lie just 30 kms away, distance to Florence is 45 kms and Pisa airport 80 kms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Molino di Foci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Molino Di Foci San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing