We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Locanda La Mandragola
Ranked #18 of 67 San Gimignano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We stayed 8 nights here and it was great. We loved it. The girl, Aleesia was wonderful - she spoke English well and was very helpful. The rooms are great - quite spacious and clean. The beds are fairly hard but after one night we were used to them. (They seem to be hard everywhere). And the air conditioning worked very well. We had rooms overlooking the garden - and you can see over the rooftops to some of the towers. We sat in the garden a few times for either lunch, dinner or pre-dinner drinks. And spent some time one night star gazing from the small roof terrace. The breakfasts were wonderful - a choice of cereal, fruit salad, fruit, meats and cheeses and the best croissants. As soon as we left our room to go down for breakfast the smell of the warm croissants wafted up. And Aleesia also did cappucinos and hot chocolates for the guests. The location is fantastic - right in town and closest to the free parking area. Its only a few minutues to the main piazzas in town. We would definitely recommend this place to anyone wanting a lovely stay in a beautiful hilltop town.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JuliaGiovanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
There are newer reviews for Locanda La Mandragola
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2011

Our communications through email with Locanda La Mandragola were very impersonal and curt so we were not expecting friendly staff.So we were pleasantly surprised when the girl who was on reception and serving our breakfast was friendly and very helpful.
Our room was great overlooking the garden and the towers and the garden was a pleasant spot to relax in.
The breakfasts were very good too.
The only problem is this check in time only between 3pm and 7pm. We cannot understand this as the restaurant appears to be quite a separate operation. We had to wait and hour and a half to check in and there is nowhere to even leave your luggage.
Also it is a very difficult place to find.
Apart from that we really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harold38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

La Mandragola is a very pretty hotel in a quiet yet convenient location in San Gimignano. A stone throw from the central square yet in a quiet road away from the hustle and bustle. The room was lovely and the common areas with the rooftop terrace and the garden are a lovely place to relax. Only sour note was that when we arrived we were informed that they had just noticed that the bathroom in our room (the only one available) was infested by termites which were falling onto the sink (a lot of them). We were offered to be placed in another hotel but after spending a lot of time selecting a specific hotel and location I did not want to be placed in any random hotel in town so we accepted to stay in the room after I offered a workaround to prevent the termites from falling onto our head while using the sink. This meant waiting a while before obtaining our room at check in. The following morning pest control eliminated the termites but the room was left with a strong smell of pesticide which we had to sleep with. We kept the window open all night but I worried it might have been harmful. Although we mentioned at check-in that we would have appreciated a discount for the inconvenience we were charged the full original amount at checkout. While I understand that a termite invasion may have come unexpectedly and that maybe the pungent smell of pesticide was unavoidable, I would have expected a discount (and an apology on checking out) for the inconvenience caused. We accepted to stay in a room that would have otherwise remained empty (at least for one night) so a gesture of appreciation, even if small, would have gone a long way to making a positive long lasting impression. I took it as a sign of greed and poor customer service. Shame. Because the place in itself is lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ros_in_wonderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Locanda L, Direttore generale at Locanda La Mandragola, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013
Google Translation

Caro signore, nella ns locanda ci sono le travi in legno e i materiali naturali possono essere aggrediti da tarli,piccoli organismi che attacano il legno,ma non le persone, talvolta può succedere, come una mela appena staccata dall'albero che può essere ,se non trattata con pesticidi,attaccata da qualche animaletto.
Comunque per l'inconveniente le è stato proposto un altro albergo a nostre spese, forse lo ha rifiutato per poi polemizzare sulla vicenda accaduta?
Forse non è riuscito a capire che noi se le facevamo cambiare posto era per la sua tranquillità, visto che non avevamo altre camere libere.
Comunque ci scusiamo,ma non pensiamo sia una vergogna! Pensiamo invece sia più vergognoso screditare un luogo che si è prestato per l'inconveniente ad ospitarvi altrove e non in una semplice locanda ,ma in un hotel stellato.
Poi scopriamo che avete accettato di rimanere convinti di risparmiare!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2010

I was happy to be somewhat away from the very center of things, since during the day the town is PACKED w/ bus tours. We took advantage of sightseeing in nearby spots to avoid them. San G is almost too beautiful! Hotel Mandragola proved to be an excellent choice; the rooms were larger than most, tastefully decorated, and featured a garden and roof terrace. Best of all was the discount at their restaurant in town--best meals we had in Italy at an unbelievable price!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROSE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

What a beautiful and charming B&B. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend it. Ask for a room with the garden/tower view if possible, it was great! There is also a great roof deck where you can get incredible views of Tuscany! Although we went up the towers, you hardly need to, you can get a great view just on the roof here.

Note there is not always someone at the reception desk so do communicate about check-in, check-out times. We arrived at 2 pm and i think check in was at 3, so no one was there. Someone came (the owner?, older lady who didn't speak English) from across the street and was able to let us drop our bags off and get in our room and we just came back at 3 to sign the papers. It wasn't a problem, just something to be aware of.

San Gimignano was my absolute favorite town in Tuscany. It is sooo charming and beautiful I cannot say enough about it. It is very small and can easily be seen in one day, but we were very glad we spent a night. Its great at night when all the tourists leave and its nice and quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tgfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Located centrally in San Gimignano, just far enough from the tourist crowd within walking distance of tourist areas, buses to Siena, Florence & station. Exceptionally clean,- ask for a garden view and go up through trap door to rooftop veranda for 360 degree view of town and Tuscanywith your wine, bread & cheese at sunset. Value for money exceptional. Only drawback is that noone on site between 11am & 3pm to drop off bags - so we had to treck back to heart of town for a few midday drinks. Not luxury but excellent value.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargaretSydney_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at La Mandragola. It is a lovely little hotel, beautifully and tastefully decorated bedrooms and en suite. Lovely views from the hotel bedroom and from the roof terrace. Great little garden which guests could relax in. Breakfast was good, typical continental selection, with warm pastries but was only served between 8:30 and 9:30 which was a bit limiting. We arrived on a Sunday from Florence and because the buses were not very frequent on a Sunday we arrived earlier than the check in time, hoping that we could . There was nobody around to let us in. In the end the maid opened the door and it was lucky that I could explain in Italian why we were early as she sisn't seem too impressed. However she did warm to us and after a phone call to the manager let us leave our luggage in our room until it was time to check in later that afternoon.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#5 of 29 in San Gimignano
764 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Cisterna Hotel
La Cisterna Hotel
#8 of 29 in San Gimignano
757 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
#10 of 29 in San Gimignano
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
#6 of 29 in San Gimignano
901 reviews
0.0 mi away
Residenza d'Epoca Palazzo Buonaccorsi
0.0 mi away
B&B Le Undici Lune
B&B Le Undici Lune
#2 of 67 in San Gimignano
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda La Mandragola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda La Mandragola

Address: Via Diacceto 7, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in San Gimignano
Price Range: £65 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda La Mandragola 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Locanda La Mandragola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda La Mandragola San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing