We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Locanda La Mandragola
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo(San Gimignano)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Il Pino(San Gimignano)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Leon Bianco(San Gimignano)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Cisterna Hotel(San Gimignano)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Le Vecchie Mura(San Gimignano)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Hotel Bel Soggiorno(San Gimignano)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Villa Belvedere(San Gimignano)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (262)
Filter reviews
262 results
Traveller rating
164
87
6
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
164
87
6
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate parkingthe air conditioningluggagedirectionstownhill
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 262 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We spent 2 nights at Locanda La Mandragola. It was very clean and well appointed in a quiet location just off the main street in San Gimignano. It is located within the walled hill city, restaurants and stores are in walking distance. Good wifi and having a small bar refrigerator was handy for cooling our own drinks. Breakfast was very good with lots of variety of meats, cheese, breads, cereal, juices, etc. The view from the rooftop was wonderful and it has a nice garden with chairs for guest use. Since it is a bit of a walk from the bus stop or parking lots outside of the city, travel light. Be prepared for walking up and down the village's hills. We would happily stay at this location again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Locanda L, Proprietario at Locanda La Mandragola, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014
Google Translation

Grazie molto per seere stati da noi e per la vostra eccellente recensioni, quando ritornerete nelle ns zone sarete sempre i benvenuti
Saluti cari Alessandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed at this lovely hotel for 11 days. Lovely quiet back street just a short walk from the centre of San G. Pleasant friendly staff, with great rooms, Air Con and Wifi and also has a garden to relax in. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank franspaintings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This B&B which is like a boutique hotel was chosen by our tour hosts and what a great choice with the town square being a very short stroll from the front door. Our small group had three of the eight rooms and all were delighted by the atmosphere and amenity of each. The only shared grumble is that the wifi was a bit hit and miss, otherwise everything else was delightful. There is a lovely enclosed garden in which we shared per dinner drinks before heading out in to the town now devoid of day trippers.
Breakfasts were nice with a good range of choices with plenty of fruit and hot drinks made to order.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lance C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

We booked this place based on TA reports and were not disappointed. It's a great location when wanting to experience living in the centre of a hill town and readers will expect to encounter reasonably steep and narrow streets. The room and breakfast facilities were great and there was the bonus of a large shady garden to rest in after a tiring day. Driving within the town is restricted however the staff told us about a free carpark which was 500m away.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank popone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I'm just back from my fifth stay at Locanda La Mandragola and it's as good as ever. Lovely clean, comfortable rooms. The bathrooms are a good size with good power in the showers. The mini-bar is a bonus, as it has enough room for your own water or wine.

It's such a treat to have the use of the pretty garden right in the centre of San Gimignano. Great place for a chill-out after a day's walking. The roof terrace is a great hidden treat for relaxing or for photo-ops!

Breakfast is ample and the pastries are still as good as ever, with very good coffee and tea. The family who own the house are helpful when you want them to be and leave you to your own devices when you want to do your own thing. Perfect for me, and, I'd imagine, many independent tourists.

Looking forward to my next visit already!

Room Tip: Garden rooms would be my preference, and they're the same price as the one's facing the park. Just ask when you're booking.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank funnierfecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews