We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a wondeful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Locanda La Mandragola
Ranked #17 of 66 San Gimignano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This is a wondeful place”
Reviewed 21 May 2009

I couldn't fault anything about La Mandragola. It's inside the walls of San Gimignano but on a very quiet street. All the rooms are large, well furnished, with excellent showers and have breathtaking views. The staff are delightful. The breakfast is far and away the most generous I have ever had in Italy. I stayed there for a week with my daughter and it was totally relaxing, the more so because there is a lovely private garden with loungers and parasols for the guests. You couldn't find better in a 4* hotel. And the prices are very reasonable. Evening drinks at the Bar Le Torri in Piazza del Duomo were served by charming staff and we had delicious meals at the Antica Macelleria just two minutes walk from the Locanda. Pefection. I want to go back, tomorrow!

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbigailScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    84
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
41
154
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2009

This was great place to stay. We were here for 2 nights and had a lovely time.

The hotel is quite small but the attention to detail and service is excellent. The room we had was very good - very clean and well maintained. The breakfast is excellent - although continental in style (unsurprisingly) there is loads of choice and very nice pastries, cereals and yoghurts, etc.

Francesco was very helpful in arranging transport for us at the end of our stay.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr&MrsWilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balcombe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2009

Locanda La Mandragola is a real gem of a place, as the other reviewers on here all indicate. It is a place where the staff take a lot of care over the details.

We stayed for two nights, €70 per night for a double room and breakfast. The place was spotlessly, the bathroom and shower were so clean they could have all been installed just prior to our arrival. There are lots of nice little touches, bottles of wine (€6 each) left out downstairs to help yourself to and leave the money on the side, free complementary snacks, a well stocked mini-bar, bottle opener and glasses in your room, lots of toiletries, supper fluffy towels, fantastic coffee at breakfast etc.

La Mandragola is ideally situated in the middle of town; it has a gorgeous garden and terrace, is surrounded by a park on three sides and has fantastic views across town. They have free parking just a short walk away, although you will have to get them to give you directions as it is a bit hidden.

La Mandragola, as it bills itself, is more a posh bed and breakfast than a hotel. During our stay there were no staff present after 7.00 pm. You are given a set of keys so can come and go as you please.

We didn’t try their restaurant in town, but if they pay as much attention to the food there as they do the details in the B&B it has got to be good – you can also get a discount if you are a guest. I would also recommend the nearby Il Trovatore for a pizza and Antica Taverna for wine and bruschetta.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank up_for_a_bit_with
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north west england
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2009

We stayed 2 nights at this great little hotel. The room was excellent, spacious and clean, with a great view over the little park behind the hotel, and of the countryside beyond. It is in an excellent location, just off one of the busy main streets which leads to the main square, so it is quiet but still very close to the main attractions - a maximum of 5 minutes walk from the main square.There are also several restaurants very close by. A real bonus is the garden and roof terrace. The garden is a little less "open" than the photos on the website show, as the boundary hedges have grown since the picture was taken. This makes it a little more private, a lovely spot to unwind after sightseeing. The roof terrace is small but fantastic as it provides excellent views over the town and the surrounding countryside. We enjoyed going up there with a glass of wine after an evening in one of the lovely restaurants. A great place to look at the stars! My husband is a keen photographer, so he found the terrace a great place to take photos of dawn over the Tuscan countryside. These features (garden and terrace) are rare in San Gimignano and make this hotel even more atractive. The breakfast was a standard European buffet, with plenty of choice and the staff were very helpful. Although the description of the hotel does not mention it, the hotel does have its own car park so it is worth driving as close as you can to the hotel and getting directions right away, rather than wasting time and money on the big town car park at the bottom of the hill. I would not hesitate to go back there, and have recommended the hotel to friends. I found it to be excellent value and a real gem.

  • Liked — the roof terrace
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 31songs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ct
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2008

Time spent in Tuscany could not possibly get better than than La Mandragola! I hesitate to say too much because I always want there to be a spot for us :) It was perfection in every way----perfect bedroom, wonderful garden in old city center! Excellent breakfast and dinner at the owners fabulous restaurant for 18 eu was a steal!!!!
But the rooftop was the best--sigh!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — everythig
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jskart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel-Aviv, Israsel
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2008

We had a wonderful night at the "Locanda Mandragola" on October 2008. paying attention to the small details. large rooms. excellent location inside the village (you an bring the car inside the village for the luggage only). Hover, one should notice that this is not an ordinary hotel: the crew is available in the morning only, and during the rest of the time you are alone in the hotel. it's about honesty: if you open a bottle of wine, you are expected to leave the amount of money on the desk.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the staf is not there during most of the day
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2008

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and we were absolutely delighted. The staff were friendly & helpful & the rooms spotless. The location was fantastic & I would have no hestitation to book this hotel again.
The only small gripe was that the air conditioning unit was directly under the window sill so it was not very effiective in the very hot conditions that we were lucky enough to encounter. This said the large picturesque window compensated this.
A tip for anyone making their own way to the hotel. It is situated closer to the far entrance of the city walls so do not get off the bus at the main entrance (or if you do there are shuttle buses that will take you to the centre). Do not make the mistake we did and head straight for the signs for the Mandragola restaurant under the mistaken impression that the hotel will be next door as this is not the case. The restaurant by the way is a gourmet delight for approx £15 per person
Overall fantastic value for money

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Air conditioning
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.2 mi away
La Cisterna Hotel
La Cisterna Hotel
#7 of 30 in San Gimignano
732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
#12 of 30 in San Gimignano
334 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#5 of 30 in San Gimignano
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
#6 of 30 in San Gimignano
875 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
655 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 30 in San Gimignano
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda La Mandragola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda La Mandragola

Property: Locanda La Mandragola
Address: Via Diacceto 7, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda La Mandragola 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Locanda La Mandragola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda La Mandragola San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing