We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming B&B in Charming Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Locanda La Mandragola
Ranked #19 of 66 San Gimignano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
chicago, il
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming B&B in Charming Town”
Reviewed 31 October 2010

What a beautiful and charming B&B. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend it. Ask for a room with the garden/tower view if possible, it was great! There is also a great roof deck where you can get incredible views of Tuscany! Although we went up the towers, you hardly need to, you can get a great view just on the roof here.

Note there is not always someone at the reception desk so do communicate about check-in, check-out times. We arrived at 2 pm and i think check in was at 3, so no one was there. Someone came (the owner?, older lady who didn't speak English) from across the street and was able to let us drop our bags off and get in our room and we just came back at 3 to sign the papers. It wasn't a problem, just something to be aware of.

San Gimignano was my absolute favorite town in Tuscany. It is sooo charming and beautiful I cannot say enough about it. It is very small and can easily be seen in one day, but we were very glad we spent a night. Its great at night when all the tourists leave and its nice and quiet.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tgfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    84
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
41
154
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Located centrally in San Gimignano, just far enough from the tourist crowd within walking distance of tourist areas, buses to Siena, Florence & station. Exceptionally clean,- ask for a garden view and go up through trap door to rooftop veranda for 360 degree view of town and Tuscanywith your wine, bread & cheese at sunset. Value for money exceptional. Only drawback is that noone on site between 11am & 3pm to drop off bags - so we had to treck back to heart of town for a few midday drinks. Not luxury but excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretSydney_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at La Mandragola. It is a lovely little hotel, beautifully and tastefully decorated bedrooms and en suite. Lovely views from the hotel bedroom and from the roof terrace. Great little garden which guests could relax in. Breakfast was good, typical continental selection, with warm pastries but was only served between 8:30 and 9:30 which was a bit limiting. We arrived on a Sunday from Florence and because the buses were not very frequent on a Sunday we arrived earlier than the check in time, hoping that we could . There was nobody around to let us in. In the end the maid opened the door and it was lucky that I could explain in Italian why we were early as she sisn't seem too impressed. However she did warm to us and after a phone call to the manager let us leave our luggage in our room until it was time to check in later that afternoon.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2010

A very nice hotel. Very quiet - located adjacent to a small park within the city walls. The breakfast was very good. We had two rooms - a triple on the first floor and a double on the second floor. The view from the second floor window was lovely, and the rooftop view was even better as you could see in all directions. And later in the evening we could even hear a concert from one of the piazza's in the distance. The air conditioning in both rooms worked very well and was much needed since it was a particularly hot spell in Italy when we were there.

Driving in San Gimignano can be frightening. When we realized we had no idea where to find the hotel we called them. Very promptly we received a return phone call and given directions on where to go. Someone met us at the nearest city gate and kindly showed us where the private parking was (very convenient just outside the gate) and then he walked with us to the hotel. Very nice service.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnMadison10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2010

We stayed at Locanda La Mandragola for 2 nights and enjoyed our stay. The value for what you get is very good. The rooms were spacious and clean and very quiet. The breakfast in the mornings was one of the best that we had while travelling through Italy. The staff was friendly, but did not go out of their way to be helpful or accomodating. Most of the other hotels we stayed in offered maps of the area upon check-in and would tell us about the area, good dining options, etc.... - they did not do any of this. We also found them to be difficult to find and the directions they provided were not very accurate ( I believe they told us they were right on the main road and we "couldn't miss them") - they are not on a main road and their sign is not very large - also, the house numbers do not go in order in San Gimignano so we turned around before reaching them thinking we had gone too far - maybe our own mistake, but if they had shared that with us when giving us directions that would have been helpful. We enjoyed San Gimignano very much and would definitely return - because of the great value at this hotel we would probably stay their again, but I wouldn't expect to get very much service from them if I was staying there.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggiemoosmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2009

After some initial problems with the booking (I booked 6 months in advance but when I attempted to confirm by email about a month prior to the trip they didn't know me so I rebooked on hotels.com) the hotel turned out to be a delight. We had the "Marguerita" room with a view of the park and the wall. The little tower on the top provided a fabulous view of the town. Take a champagne up there wtih your loved one at dusk. I agree with the other travellers about the mosquitos though. I don't recommend the restaurant which is connected to the hotel. The "special" deal isn't that good as the food is still expensive. It was large, impersonal, and the waiters "hovered". Also, don't try the raspberry and rosemary gelato at the famous gelaterium. Rosemary was never meant to be in icecream. I agree with all previous comments about the lovely breakfast. However, if you go to the "forno" just down the road you can get croissants baked on the spot (we happened to be passing in the side alley and we saw them through the open door being made from scratch) . Heaven.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyhoneymooner9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coulsdon, Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2009

We thouroughly enjoyed our nine nights at the Locanda, which we used as our base while touring Tuscany. On a quiet alley with a peaceful garden and tiny roof terrace with fabulous views it's hard to beat for location and value for money.
Our room on the ground floor was spacious and spotlessly clean, although with hindsight we would choose an upper floor room as the hedge screening our room from the garden inevitably meant it could be a little gloomy and meant we had no view. Nevertheless it was very comfortable with a nice bathroom.
Breakfast was great. Warm rolls with Tuscan ham and cheese, cereals, yogurt, fresh fruit and wonderful apple pastries and coffee freshly made to order.
The cost of parking is annoying if you're staying for several nights. The Locanda have some private parking outside the walls for 5 euros a day, but also showed us a small area of free parking where we were lucky enough to find a space each day of our stay.
You are allowed to bring your car close to the Locanda to load and unload luggage.
We ate at the Mandragola's restaurant at the other end of town twice. They offer a reduced price 18 euro 3-course meal to residents and we found the food and service good, although the restaurant is a bit cavernous and lacks atmosphere. We preferred the Trattoria Chiribiri nearby, which has good, reasonably priced meals in a more lively atmosphere.
San Gimignano is a great place to stay. The day-trippers come and go, but the town is yours early and late in the day. The frescoes in the cathedral are breathtaking, as are the views from the top of the one tower which you can still climb, and the award-winning gelato in the main square is the best in Italy!
One word of warning if you suffer from mosquito bites: - we weren't expecting them in October, but got eaten alive!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taxidiotissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.2 mi away
La Cisterna Hotel
La Cisterna Hotel
#8 of 29 in San Gimignano
742 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 29 in San Gimignano
739 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
#10 of 29 in San Gimignano
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
#5 of 29 in San Gimignano
887 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
656 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda La Mandragola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda La Mandragola

Property: Locanda La Mandragola
Address: Via Diacceto 7, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda La Mandragola 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Locanda La Mandragola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda La Mandragola San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing