We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property. Friendly staff.”
Review of Fattoria Voltrona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fattoria Voltrona
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful property. Friendly staff.”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is such a wonderful property. We stay there for 2 nights. The hotel was very beautiful and clean. Staffs were friendly. When we asked them about the restaurant that we want to try in San Gimignano, the staff make the offer to call and make a reservation for us.

The internet connection was pretty good. It was not a fastest but it also not a slowest either.

Breakfast was average. You do not have many choices of food but at least you did not pay extra for it. The best thing about breakfast was you can make cappuccino, latte or any kind of coffee you want from the self serve machine.

We had dinner there on the first night. I was okay for me. Nothing special but at least you don't have to drive in to town to find the restaurant.

We love this place and highly recommend it to anyone. We probably going to come back and stay at here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug2225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    163
    38
    12
    2
See reviews for
146
327
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

If your GPS finds the place you are very close to heaven.
We stayed here for one night. The hole apartement was spacious and clean.
Towls were supplied.
The location is great and is embedded in a typical toscanian landscape....
Breakfast from an open terrace while sunrise. What else do you want.
No TV and a weak wifi. You don't need it here.
Helpfull and nice staff.
We will come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank INKA97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wynyard, SK
Level Contributor
293 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

What a beautiful place! We stayed here for 4 nights and it was everything we thought Tuscany would be. With amazing views of San Gimignano at night. I loved driving the winding road to San G everyday really fun drive. This area around San G is heaven on earth and we loved walking around San G at night when all the tourists are gone. Cant comment on the restaurant as we only had the breakfast and then were gone all day exploring in our rental car but it looked very good. We stayed in the seperate building farther along the road and it was a very nice big room with a balcony. Only thing we wished was that we could have had a view of San G from the balcony at night but beggars cant be choosers. Highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheldon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heusden, Limburg, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

we really enjoyed our stay at the fattoria: situated in the countryside with a magnificent view over the valley and San Gimignano. Very friendly staff. Very good restaurant. I am on a gluten-free diet and they really did their best to prepare gluten-free meals for me. Thank you for that! If you enjoy peace and quiet, this is the place to be!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed here for a week in April with my family. We were with a large group of students (my daughter's school spring break trip). The room was very comfortable and the restaurant was excellent. They went out of their way to know our needs and accommodate food allergies. This was a great base to explore the near bye area and then return each night. The views are amazing. I wish we could have had time to explore on horse back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jnlsnyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2014

What a charming place to celebrate a wedding with family and friends. They bent over backwards to make us feel at home, the views were spectacular, the rooms simple but clean and adequate. The best part, no TV! You just don't go to Italy to watch TV. Step outside to see San Gimignano over the hill. The food was very Tuscan, simple yet fresh and delicious. Hats off to the staff for a wonderful wedding weekend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We went here for riding a tour since a bad experience at Vecchio Maneggio, another place in San Gimignano. At Fattoria Voltrona the horses are very well taken care of and they are living a pleasant and natural life in a herd on big areas. The riding is wonderful with beutiful landscape. Me and my friends have got 25 years riding experience we booked the 2-hours tour for more experienced riders.
We rode with a Danish couple, also them experienced with horses at home, in toelt and galopp. The horses are funny and not typical tour-horses. They are trustable and some of them calm and others with more "gas". Linea the Swedish guide is very pleasant, cares about every detail and loves her horses.
After the tour we had lunch at the farm on a beautiful terrace with another stunning view.
Unfortunatley we had no more time to get back during our vacation. But next time we will stay by them directly to ride the horses, enjoy their food and bath in the pool.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.7 mi away
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
#5 of 111 in San Gimignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
5.7 mi away
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Farmhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fattoria Voltrona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria Voltrona

Property: Fattoria Voltrona
Address: Localita San Donato, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 111 Speciality Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fattoria Voltrona 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by extensive gardens with fishing pond and outdoor pool, Fattoria Voltrona offers country-style rooms 6 km from San Gimignano centre. Vespa scooters and fishing equipment can be rented on site. The on-site restaurant serves authentic homemade Tuscan dishes. Dinner is served every evening in the barn, or under the stars on the terrace. Simply furnished rooms at the Voltrona have tiled floors and heating. The private bathroom comes with shower. Volterra is 23 km away, while Siena is reachable by car in 45 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Fattoria Voltrona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fattoria Voltrona Hotel San Gimignano
Fattoria Voltrona San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing