We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tastefully renovated and impeccably kept”
Review of B&B Le Undici Lune

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B Le Undici Lune
Ranked #3 of 67 San Gimignano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Le Undici Lune was originally the fodder store for the underlying medieval stables. The owners have not only tastefully renovated it but they keep it impeccably. One reaches it by climbing two flights of steep narrow steps, which might be a problem for people with particular physical disabilities, but this probably is something which cannot be helped or improved, considering the structure of this property. The owners are very professional in their attitude, which is both informal and very forthcoming. Their advice is accurate and helpful. All sites are within walking distance and San Giminiano is really a gem not to be missed. The Duomo was difficult to visit in January and we managed only after five attempts. An elderly lady helper turned us away four times for reasons which were neither logical nor practical.
San Giminano has many excellent restaurants. The one which impressed us most was 'Trattoria Rigoletto' in Via Roma 23 just outside Porta San Giovanni, near the bus station. The place is small and crowded, mostly by locals, but he food was superb and very reasonably priced. The service was also excellent.

Room Tip: Our room was more than adequate but the proprietors are renovating a suite for those with more extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthur F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

That is something fantastic for those who wants to learn more about San Gimignano spirit. Very friendly hosts and home atmosphere. Great service, fresh and tasty breakfast.
Fairy tail in the heart of the medieval town.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StACMilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This is one of the best B&B I have stayed at in all of Europe. Everything from the room to the food to the service was perfect. The B&B is located in a gorgeous old building with a great view of the city.Our room was very spacious and modern. A vaulted ceiling added even more space and charm. The bathroom was very modern and pleasant. The breakfast was amazing. If I could have eaten everything served, I would have but I worried about exploding at the breakfast table. Customer service was topnotch. If I ever come back to San Gimignano, this would be the place to stay and I will definitely recommend it to all my friends.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlexandriaGirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

While we were staying in Florence, we took a bus tour to Siena, Pisa and San Gimignano and we instantly fell in love with the city of San Gimignano. So my husband and I decided to spend a whole day there and needed a place to stay. After researching several hotels and budget minded decided to take the most inexpensive place and that was Le Undici Lune. Best decision we made during our entire trip there.

We arrived in the middle of a rainstorm so we weren't in the best of moods. But meeting the owners Gabrielle & Sofia quickly turned our spirits around. Gabrielle greeted us, was extremely friendly and very accommodating during our entire stay. From the moment we walked through the door of this quaint bed & breakfast, you could feel the history of this fully preaerved medieval town eminating through the air. There was even a real suit of armor in the dining room, (my husband loved that). Even though the building was ancient and dated to the 12th century, everything was emmaculate and had the comfort of modern conveniences. When we entered the bedroom, there were candles, beautiful bedding and everything in the bathroom (sinks, toilets, etc.) were brand new. The bed was super comfortable and we slept like babies that night. The next morning we awoke to a breakfast of cappuccino, tea, juices, fruits, pastries and wonderful homemade pies made by Gabrielle himself, delicious!! Gabrielle and Sofia were kind enough to let us hold our luggage there, after check-out, while we went out to explore the town. As we departed, we took a photo with Gabrielle, a new friend that we made over our travels through Italy. Overall an excellent experience and a lovely place to stay. Highly recommend it!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank museumoftheweird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ketty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank girolamo2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
805 reviews
3 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
670 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#4 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,277 reviews
3.4 mi away
Locanda dell' Artista
Locanda dell' Artista
#1 of 67 in San Gimignano
378 reviews
2.7 mi away
Torraccia di Chiusi
Torraccia di Chiusi
#2 of 67 in San Gimignano
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Le Undici Lune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Le Undici Lune

Address: Via Mainardi 9, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in San Gimignano
Price Range: £72 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of San Gimignano, Le Undici Lune is set in a renovated 13th-century palace. It offers colourful, rustic-style rooms with a medieval atmosphere and free Wi-Fi. Featuring city views, all rooms boast wood beamed ceilings, terracotta tiled floors and a flat-screen TV. The private bathroom includes a shower. A sweet Italian breakfast is served daily in the common room or in the bedroom, upon request. From bed and breakfast Le Undici Lune, guest can visit the nearby Tuscan towns such as Poggibonsi, a 20-minute drive away. The Florence Peretola Airport is 60 km from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your B&B Le Undici Lune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B Le Undici Lune San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing