We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel near San Gimignano”
Review of Hotel Sovestro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sovestro
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2011

Good location in the Tuscan countryside a few kilometers from San Gimignano. By staying outside of the walls of the town, you can avoid the considerable cost and inconvenience of parking a car in San Gimignano. The room was clean and well-equipped, and the bed was comfortable. Our room had a small balcony that overlooked the pool. Breakfast was very good, but the buffet tended to become congested when diners returned to the line for coffee refills - the coffee machine was in the middle of the buffet. The outdoor dining area was very pleasant. Families with children who visit in the summer will enjoy the large swimming pool. The hotel has a restaurant, which appeared to be busy, but we did not eat there.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Responsabile reception at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2011

Many tanks foryour nice review about our hotel, we are glad tat you spent a good time in our hotel, and we'll try to improve our services to satisfy our client always more..
We hope to meet you again in the future as our welcome guests.

kind regards
the reception
laura
x Failli Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2011

Thank you for a wonderful stay in Tuscany.
Hotel Sovestro, just a few miles from town, all was relaxed and peaceful. Beautiful location, amid vineyards and rollng hills. Your staff are always extremely helpful, efficient and friendly.The food in the restaurant is excellent and the setting is delightful.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelerMUPU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Responsabile reception at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2011

thank you vry much for your nice review and beautiful words about our hotel ,
we are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we greatly hope to welcome you again.

best regards,
laura
x Failli Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

My wife and myself have just returned from a weeks stay at this family run hotel. All I can say is that everything was perfect, from the hotel's location, just outside San Giminiano, where otherwise parking would have been a problem, exceptional cleaniness, good restuarant, friendly staff, central location to explore Tuscany, no parking problems at hotel.
The only thing that we can fault is the traffic noise from the main road, if one leaves the balcony doors open. Will certainly return to this hotel run by the ever helpful Sergio and staff if we return to San Giminiano, which is probably the most enchanting place in Tuscany.
Mr & Mrs Visanich
Malta

Room Tip: Request a room facing the main pool and not facin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lahamada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Responsabile reception at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2012

Thank you so much for your very nice review on our htel and restaurant, and sorry sorry for our late naswer, but we thought we answered you but we don't see our answer..
we were happy that you appreciated our services and we are glad that you spent a good time with us,
we hope to welcome you again in the future, you'll be always our welcome guests.

best regards
the reception
laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

From the moment that we arrived until we left, we were thrilled with the location, the comfort, the style and the wonderful service. So near to San Gimigiano but not overwhelmed by this beautiful village. Though slightly out of season, nothing was too much trouble - we want to return for a longer stay with this lovely family.

Room Tip: It is stylish , so make the effort too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianemyers25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2011

Many thanks for your nice review about our property and we are pleased to listen that you spent a good time in our hotel..
We really hope to welcome you again in the future

best regards,
the owners
Sergio and Lucia Failli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2010

We first visited Sovestro for dinner 10 years ago, and decided that we must return as guests - and have been doing so repeatedly ever since - first on our own, and then as family group. It is simply the most wonderful place, in a beautiful setting, run by the magnificent Failli Family whose nonogenerian head, Signor Alfredo (92 next year) still works in the wonderful Da Pode restaurant - and keeps everyone smiling! The staff too are magnificent - and remain with the hotel year after year. Their quiet, unobtrusive, but efficient and attentive service, led by Signor Sergio, with Agnese and Laura, is of the highest standard of care and charm.

We have recommended it to (carefully selected) friends and colleagues - who we knew would appreciate it - and they and their families too have returned. We meet many of the same guests year after year. The Da Pode terrace serves some of the finest food anywhere - (apparently) simple and magnificent - in a setting that takes the breath away. It is Tusan cooking of the highest order - indeed so far as we are concerned, has the finest kitchen in Tuscany.

The pool area is quite and restful - a great place to read, rest, lounge - and even swim. The grounds are beautiful. The rooms are comfortable, spotless, and carefully prepared and restored every day. This was the find of our life - and we will always return.

Sovestro quite simply happy, restful home from home - and its family owners and staff we now regard as friends. My only reluctance in writing this is that - very understandably - we would like to keep its secret to ourselves - but that would be most unfair.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jodowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2011

Thank you very very much for your wonderful review and for your beautiful words about our hotel and restaurant an about the people who work here..
A big hug from Alfredo and many greetings from Agnese and Laura..
Thank you for the nice description of our property and its swimming pools.
We are so happy that you choose our hotel since so many years and moereover that you feel like at home..
We can't wait to see you again

sincerely
Sergio and Lucia Failli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

The peace and simple luxury of the Hotel Sovestro is surpassed only be the graciousness of the Failli family, the warmth of the employees and the idyllic Tuscan surroundings. Snuggled within the rolling hills of Tuscany, this serene setting is highlighted by magnificent meals on a picture-perfect patio, sipping wine by a luxurious pool or visiting nearby Medieval towns. It remains our special home away from home.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UbaldoGlenRidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2011

Thak you very much for your beautiful words about out hotel, we are so pleased to welcome you already since many years and can't wait to see you and your family again.
It is a pleasure to listen that you fell home when you are here, forthis reason we try always to improve our service and our property.

Sincerely
Sergio and Lucia Failli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

We have stayed at Hotel Sovestro each year for the past 9 years and love it. The Failli family and their staff are both friendly and highly professional. Everything is spotless, each year there have been improvements, and the rooms are very pleasant and the beds are comfortable. I love the main swimming pool ( there are 2), and the delicious meals available at the adjoining Ristorante da Pode. Prices are good and the wine excellent value. Just a couple of kilometres from San Gimigniano and within easy striking distance of Florence, Sienna and Pisa. The whole package is great. Enjoy meals on the terrace overlooking typical Tuscan countryside. Our favourite dessert is an icecream from the World Champion Icecream maker in the main square in San G. We have recommended this hotel to a number of friends and they have all enjoyed it ( some returning a few times).

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clemente96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2011

Thank you so much for your beautiful review about or Hotel and restaurant, we are happy that you enjoyed our swimming pool during the day and at night the cuisine at our restaurant.
Thank you also for recommending our hotel to other people.
We hope to welcome you again in th future

best regards
Sergio and Lucia Failli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
2.9 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,349 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
670 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#5 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
809 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
#6 of 29 in San Gimignano
918 reviews
1 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#10 of 29 in San Gimignano
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sovestro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sovestro

Address: Localita Sovestro 63, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
#2 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range: £80 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sovestro 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sovestro has 40 rooms, 28 of which are situated on the ground floor with a small private garden and 12 rooms on the first floor with fitted Balcony .All the rooms have a wonderful view on the countryside of San Gimignano or a suggestive view of our swimming pools.All our rooms have private bathroom with shower, hair-drier, telephone, minibar, safe, TV LCD of 26’’, with Sky Silver programmes and air conditioning or heating. WI-FI free in all the rooms, in common area inside or open-air.We have a private free wide- parking, in the small pinewood, is available only for the hotel- guests.Two are the swimming pools, available for our clients, the bigger allows you to swim, have fun and take the sun, the other one, smaller, is in a very silent and discrete corner of the garden, has a small waterfall for massage and a waterline for a moment of relaxation and sun bathing. … Moreover … We inform you that, we realized a small fitness room available for our clients.The use of the gym is free.We wish you finally to give you a small suggestion to let you enjoy the beauty of our hearth, a beautiful walk, through a path deeped in the countryside, which from Hotel Sovestro leads to San Gimignano, with its towers, in only 20/30 minutes.Furtherore we suggest you to enjoy one of the best Tuscan cuisines in the restaurant “Da Pode”.Once it was a farmhouse and now managed directly from the Failli family, who will invite you to savour the Tuscan-dishes.Monday is the day of rest of the restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sovestro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sovestro Hotel San Gimignano
Hotel Sovestro San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing