We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sovestro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sovestro
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

Upon our arrival the staff was most helpful with our luggage, the check in, and escorting us to our room. The hotel was well maintained and clean definitely of five star quality. The atmosphere was peaceful and relaxing however the all inclusive breakfast bar was excellent and the dinners at the adjoining resturant were excellent. The rates are reasonable and the staff excellent they advised us of local activities and proceeded to schedule the activities that we had selected.

Room Tip: All rooms are the best at Hotel Sovestro.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bemmerz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 3 July 2011
Many thanks for your beautiful words about our hotel and restaurant, we are very pleased that you spent a relaxing and peaceful holiday here, it is the most important thing for us.
It was a plasure for our staff to help you and welcome you.
We hope to welcome you again in the future..
best regards
The owners
Family Failli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    171
    20
    2
    0
See reviews for
167
321
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
99 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

Hotel Sovestro was exactly what we wanted as we toured the Tuscan region. Close to lovely San Gimignano (walked home to hotel in the moonlight...how perfect is that?), as well as a perfect location to use as a jumping off point to other areas of interest. Our room was comfortable, exceptionally clean and quiet, with a little patio area that opened to a vista of indecribably serenity. The restaurant was an added bonus with wonderful food and service. Best of all, we were treated with such care and kindness, that we will return...hopefully, as soon as possible! Thanks for a perfect time!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FeliciaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 3 July 2011
Thank you so much for your beautiful review and your nice words about the rooms and the resaurant, the atmosphere you describe is really a good encouragement for us to improve always more.
It was a pleasure for us to have you had as our welcome guests and we really hope to see you soon in the future
with our warm regards
the owner Sergio and Lucia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the hotel Sovestro for 4 nights at the end of April 2011. The hotel is very clean,the staff helpful and friendly, excellent breakfast with a rich buffet and fresh ingredients.The only problem was that twice there was no hot water early in the morning.Nevertheless we warmly recommend staying at this hotel while travelling to Tuscany.Hope we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJTRlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 3 July 2011
Thank you very much for your nice review about our hotel and we are glad that you spent a good time with us.
We are sorry about the problem of the warm water, but it was really unexpected, because there was a stuck due to some thunderstorm of the previous days..
We really hope to welcome you again in the future..

With our best regards
The owner
Failli Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

This is without doubt the best hotel I have stayed in during a 5 month trip to Europe. It is exceptionally well maintained and very clean. It is a credit to the
Failli family who maintain high professional standards,
The restaurant provides good wholesome food and the breakfast is consistently good.
The grounds are very well maintained and there are two sparkling pools to choose from. As has been noted before there is a magic short walk up to San Gimignano via a back road, The bus stops right outside the driveway.

A good value quiet place to relax and recuperate,

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the rear of the hotel,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcsavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 14 June 2011
Thank you so much for your wonderul words,it is very kind of you.
We are so glad that you spent a good holiday in our hotel and good dinner in our restaurant..this is very encouraging for us and for this reason we try to do the best we can to satisfy our clients and to improve us always more.
We hope to welcome you again in the future,

best regards,
The owner
Sergio and Lucia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
briarcliff manor, new york, usa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

Every year for the past seven years, we look forward to our week at the Sovestro. It is a perfect location in Tuscany, just a few km from San Gimignano, amidst the beautiful landscape of olives and grapes all around. The pool is very refreshing after a hot day in the summer, and we always look forward to a great meal of rosemary grilled chicken with a bottle of Chianti at the Pode restaurant. Sergio, the owner, and Alfredo, his father, along with the rest of the family make sure that it is always a great visit. Laura and Agnese, at reception, make all of our vacation plans much easier to attain with very helpful information and phone calls, if needed. A really fine place to spend a day or a week under the Tuscan sun.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevlang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 14 June 2011
Thank you very much for your beautiful review and your wonderful words about our hotel and restaurant..
A specal thanks also because you are our guests since so many years and you always are so kind describing our hotel.
A big hug from Alfredo and many greetings from Agnese and Laura.
We really look forward to welcoming you again in San Gimignano as our very special guests.
our best regards
Sergio and Lucia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2011

Good location in the Tuscan countryside a few kilometers from San Gimignano. By staying outside of the walls of the town, you can avoid the considerable cost and inconvenience of parking a car in San Gimignano. The room was clean and well-equipped, and the bed was comfortable. Our room had a small balcony that overlooked the pool. Breakfast was very good, but the buffet tended to become congested when diners returned to the line for coffee refills - the coffee machine was in the middle of the buffet. The outdoor dining area was very pleasant. Families with children who visit in the summer will enjoy the large swimming pool. The hotel has a restaurant, which appeared to be busy, but we did not eat there.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Responsabile reception at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 28 May 2011
Many tanks foryour nice review about our hotel, we are glad tat you spent a good time in our hotel, and we'll try to improve our services to satisfy our client always more..
We hope to meet you again in the future as our welcome guests.

kind regards
the reception
laura
x Failli Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
215 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

Thank you for a wonderful stay in Tuscany.
Hotel Sovestro, just a few miles from town, all was relaxed and peaceful. Beautiful location, amid vineyards and rollng hills. Your staff are always extremely helpful, efficient and friendly.The food in the restaurant is excellent and the setting is delightful.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelerMUPU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Responsabile reception at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 28 May 2011
thank you vry much for your nice review and beautiful words about our hotel ,
we are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we greatly hope to welcome you again.

best regards,
laura
x Failli Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
2.9 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#5 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
#4 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
1.0 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sovestro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sovestro

Property: Hotel Sovestro
Address: Localita Sovestro 63, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sovestro 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sovestro has 40 rooms, 28 of which are situated on the ground floor with a small private garden and 12 rooms on the first floor with fitted Balcony .All the rooms have a wonderful view on the countryside of San Gimignano or a suggestive view of our swimming pools.All our rooms have private bathroom with shower, hair-drier, telephone, minibar, safe, TV LCD of 26’’, with Sky Silver programmes and air conditioning or heating. WI-FI free in all the rooms, in common area inside or open-air.We have a private free wide- parking, in the small pinewood, is available only for the hotel- guests.Two are the swimming pools, available for our clients, the bigger allows you to swim, have fun and take the sun, the other one, smaller, is in a very silent and discrete corner of the garden, has a small waterfall for massage and a waterline for a moment of relaxation and sun bathing. … Moreover … We inform you that, we realized a small fitness room available for our clients.The use of the gym is free.We wish you finally to give you a small suggestion to let you enjoy the beauty of our hearth, a beautiful walk, through a path deeped in the countryside, which from Hotel Sovestro leads to San Gimignano, with its towers, in only 20/30 minutes.Furtherore we suggest you to enjoy one of the best Tuscan cuisines in the restaurant “Da Pode”.Once it was a farmhouse and now managed directly from the Failli family, who will invite you to savour the Tuscan-dishes.Monday is the day of rest of the restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sovestro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sovestro Hotel San Gimignano
Hotel Sovestro San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing