We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Civilisation at its best”
Review of Hotel Sovestro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sovestro
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Tremelo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Civilisation at its best”
Reviewed 4 July 2011

A sweet hotel with very helpful and friendly personnel. Good food and excellent swimmingpools. Quiet and great comfort in the rooms. A great bonus is that one can easily walk to the town of San Gimignano, a walk uphill with great rewarding sights.It was our great pleasure to stay in this hotel for 6 days and acclimatize to Tuscany. Certainly to be recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeerleTremelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
We thank you for your lovely review and we are glad that you have spent good time
by us.
We want to apologize for our late answer, but we supposed we already did, maybe we made a mistake..sorry, we really appreciate your opinions

We will be very glad to welcome you in San Gimignano in the future.

With our best regards
the owners
Failli Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    175
    21
    2
    0
See reviews for
171
330
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mason City, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We took our yearly journey to San Gimignano, and the Hotel Sovestro. This year we had booked 9 nights...We liked it so much we asked to stay another night, and then another, and another! We finally had to leave due to our flight back to the States. We stayed 12 nights and wished we could have stayed more. Sergio and the entire staff made us feel welcomed back to our favorite hotel and restaurant (Ristorante da Pode). They offer free Wi Fi, the best pool in Tuscany (great for late day relaxing with a drink!), comfortable rooms, a great buffet breakfast, and service above and beyond. We've been returning every year for the past six years and look forward to many more returns (in fact, October this year is in the works). If you stay there, you will see why it is the number one hotel in San Gimignano!

Room Tip: Lounge around the pool until the tour buses leave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdmckay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
Thank you so much, it is always a joy for us to read your beautiful words, it makes us very happy and thankful, and it is always a very big pleasure to welcome you and see you every year.
You are always very kind..
We hope to welcome you soon ..!
Many greetings from everyone here..
sincerely
Sergio and Lucia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Excellent hotel with very helpful & friendly staff, the rooms are spacious and clean, lovely gardens & pool area to relax in. The buffet breakfast was great & the food in the adjoining restaurant was fantastic. A great base for exploring the delights of tuscany.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IanCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 3 July 2011
We want to thank you for your wonderful review, we are happy that you enjoyed our swimming pools and garden and you had a good and relaxing time here..
Thank you also for the compliments about our restaurant.

Looking forward to welcome you again
our best regards
the owners
Failli family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Upon our arrival the staff was most helpful with our luggage, the check in, and escorting us to our room. The hotel was well maintained and clean definitely of five star quality. The atmosphere was peaceful and relaxing however the all inclusive breakfast bar was excellent and the dinners at the adjoining resturant were excellent. The rates are reasonable and the staff excellent they advised us of local activities and proceeded to schedule the activities that we had selected.

Room Tip: All rooms are the best at Hotel Sovestro.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bemmerz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 3 July 2011
Many thanks for your beautiful words about our hotel and restaurant, we are very pleased that you spent a relaxing and peaceful holiday here, it is the most important thing for us.
It was a plasure for our staff to help you and welcome you.
We hope to welcome you again in the future..
best regards
The owners
Family Failli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Hotel Sovestro was exactly what we wanted as we toured the Tuscan region. Close to lovely San Gimignano (walked home to hotel in the moonlight...how perfect is that?), as well as a perfect location to use as a jumping off point to other areas of interest. Our room was comfortable, exceptionally clean and quiet, with a little patio area that opened to a vista of indecribably serenity. The restaurant was an added bonus with wonderful food and service. Best of all, we were treated with such care and kindness, that we will return...hopefully, as soon as possible! Thanks for a perfect time!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FeliciaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 3 July 2011
Thank you so much for your beautiful review and your nice words about the rooms and the resaurant, the atmosphere you describe is really a good encouragement for us to improve always more.
It was a pleasure for us to have you had as our welcome guests and we really hope to see you soon in the future
with our warm regards
the owner Sergio and Lucia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the hotel Sovestro for 4 nights at the end of April 2011. The hotel is very clean,the staff helpful and friendly, excellent breakfast with a rich buffet and fresh ingredients.The only problem was that twice there was no hot water early in the morning.Nevertheless we warmly recommend staying at this hotel while travelling to Tuscany.Hope we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJTRlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 3 July 2011
Thank you very much for your nice review about our hotel and we are glad that you spent a good time with us.
We are sorry about the problem of the warm water, but it was really unexpected, because there was a stuck due to some thunderstorm of the previous days..
We really hope to welcome you again in the future..

With our best regards
The owner
Failli Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2011

This is without doubt the best hotel I have stayed in during a 5 month trip to Europe. It is exceptionally well maintained and very clean. It is a credit to the
Failli family who maintain high professional standards,
The restaurant provides good wholesome food and the breakfast is consistently good.
The grounds are very well maintained and there are two sparkling pools to choose from. As has been noted before there is a magic short walk up to San Gimignano via a back road, The bus stops right outside the driveway.

A good value quiet place to relax and recuperate,

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the rear of the hotel,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcsavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 14 June 2011
Thank you so much for your wonderul words,it is very kind of you.
We are so glad that you spent a good holiday in our hotel and good dinner in our restaurant..this is very encouraging for us and for this reason we try to do the best we can to satisfy our clients and to improve us always more.
We hope to welcome you again in the future,

best regards,
The owner
Sergio and Lucia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 30 in San Gimignano
1,195 reviews
1.0 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 30 in San Gimignano
615 reviews
2.9 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#4 of 30 in San Gimignano
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
655 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 30 in San Gimignano
736 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Cisterna Hotel
La Cisterna Hotel
#8 of 30 in San Gimignano
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sovestro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sovestro

Property: Hotel Sovestro
Address: Localita Sovestro 63, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sovestro 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sovestro has 40 rooms, 28 of which are situated on the ground floor with a small private garden and 12 rooms on the first floor with fitted Balcony .All the rooms have a wonderful view on the countryside of San Gimignano or a suggestive view of our swimming pools.All our rooms have private bathroom with shower, hair-drier, telephone, minibar, safe, TV LCD of 26’’, with Sky Silver programmes and air conditioning or heating. WI-FI free in all the rooms, in common area inside or open-air.We have a private free wide- parking, in the small pinewood, is available only for the hotel- guests.Two are the swimming pools, available for our clients, the bigger allows you to swim, have fun and take the sun, the other one, smaller, is in a very silent and discrete corner of the garden, has a small waterfall for massage and a waterline for a moment of relaxation and sun bathing. … Moreover … We inform you that, we realized a small fitness room available for our clients.The use of the gym is free.We wish you finally to give you a small suggestion to let you enjoy the beauty of our hearth, a beautiful walk, through a path deeped in the countryside, which from Hotel Sovestro leads to San Gimignano, with its towers, in only 20/30 minutes.Furtherore we suggest you to enjoy one of the best Tuscan cuisines in the restaurant “Da Pode”.Once it was a farmhouse and now managed directly from the Failli family, who will invite you to savour the Tuscan-dishes.Monday is the day of rest of the restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sovestro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sovestro Hotel San Gimignano
Hotel Sovestro San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing