We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value”
Review of Hotel Sovestro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sovestro
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2011

A quite large hotel with 2 excellent pools and very attentive service, we stayed for 1 night. If you like medium sized hotels then this will suit you and the price was pretty competitive.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJBEReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Responsabile reception at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2011

Thank you for your review about our hotel, we hope, that even if only for 1 night, you spent a good time here and especially we hope to welcome you again in the future

thank you
best regards
the reception
laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2011

We returned yesterday from a stay of 11 days in Hotel Sovestro, and it was great, we also enjoyed the meals we had in restaurant Da Pode. Excellent!!
I work at a travel agency in Holland and I will surely recommend this hotel to our clients.
It´s also in the middle of Tuscany, so easy to reach all the beautiful places and spots in the area.
Everyone in the hotel is very kind and helpfull, so we will come back!

Fam. van den Berg

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank vandenbergjoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2011

Dear Family,
thank you very much having published your nice review, you are very kind ..
we are glad that you had a good holiday in our hotel and we hope to welcome you again in San Gimignano

best regard
the owners
Failli Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Truly a rare case of great value for money at three star hotel in Italy. Easily a cleanest one out of two dozen I remember over the last 25 years of visiting the country. Hotel restaurant worth at least one visit during the stay. And the pool, well, on arrival seemed nothing special, but on close inspection proves to be good enough to give a very sensible option for a break at a siesta time or even late afternoon.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Waldemar188113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2012

Thank you very much for your beautiful review about our hotel and restaurant and the staff..
We are glad that you spent a nice stay..and we really hope to welcome again..

We are sorry if we didn't answered you before, honestly we were sure we did, but maybe there was a misunderstanding..but we want to tell you that we really appreciate your review!!


with our best regards
Sergio and Lucia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We are glad to tell that we have returnes to Sovestro 6 times and every time with the same expierence of hospitality, kindness and proffesionalism. We feel every time like comming home

Room Tip: All rooms are the best room, but we prefer a room next to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Balslev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2011

Thank you very much for your beautiful review about our hotel, and mostly for being our guests since so many years and for choosing us everytime.. it is a joy for us to have you as our welcome guests..
Looking forward to welcome you again next summer

sincerely
the owners
Sergio and Lucia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

This hotel was everything my husband and I hoped it would be. After traveling for 2 weeks around Italy, we were exhausted and in much need of some R&R. We found it at Hotel Sovestro. Because of a little confusion (on our part), my husband and I arrived a day late to the hotel. They were so warm and welcoming, immediately making us feel at home. They said it was no problem we had arrived a day late and had our room waiting for us. The staff helped us a book a wine tour, recommended restaurants, and was extremely quick to answer any questions we had. The wi-fi in the office area is free and only a slight fee to use it in your room. The 2 pools on the property were immaculate. The water was clean and cool and there were plenty of nice quality chairs and umbrellas. The hotel also provides pool towels if you didn't bring any. They also have a waiter that comes around and takes lunch and drink orders. We couldn't have asked for anything better!

The breakfast served each morning was a large spread. There were the typical meats, cheeses, danishes, and fruit. They had an excellent cappuccino machine that my husband loved!

The restaurant, on the premises, was fantastic and the service there was excellent. They had a great menu with a nice wine selection as well.

The rooms were a good size and it looked as if all rooms came with a balcony or terrace. It was nice to sit on the terrace at night and drink the wine we had purchased in town. The air-condition in the room worked extremely well, although we were lucky that the weather was so pleasant, we didn't really need it.

The hotel is about a mile and a half from San Gimignano. You can definitely walk but just be forewarned that almost the entire walk into town is up hill. There is a dirt road you can take to get you directly into town. However, if you plan on walking this at night, be aware there are no street lights so it will be a VERY dark walk. There are several parking lots that you can drive to and park and walk into town. That's what we ended up doing at night when we went into town for dinner.

The town of San Gimignano is gorgeous and my husband and I would definitely go back. However, it is VERY touristy and I wouldn't want to stay in a hotel within town. Hotel Sovestro gave us the best of both worlds - close proximity to town, but we could get away from the tourists and relax as well. Absolute heaven!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the corner room/bottom floor. Restaurant is a definite must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank justinnessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2011

Many thanks for your beautiful words about our hotel and restaurant, we are very pleased that you spent a good and relaxing holiday here, it is very important for us.
It was a plasure for us and our staff to help you and welcome you.
We hope that you will kep good memories about your stay here..
We hope to welcome you again in the future..
best regards
The owners
Family Failli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

This little three star hotel, just down the hill from the amazing small town San Gimignano, is a hidden gem in Tuscany! We stayed five days i july 2011, in a large familyroom. The location is great for exploring most of central Tuscany. We went to Florence, Chianti, Siena and more in about an hour.
The Sovestro is a familiy driven hotel, with the cleanest rooms in Italy! It is quiet, but a good place for families. The breakfast is good, for european standards! And being so close to the most beautiful town of Tuscany it is a wonder that they had availability at all!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank carinao1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Responsabile reception at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2011

Good afternoon from San Gimignano!
Thank you so much for publishing your review about us.. it was a pleasure for us to have welcomed you as our very kind guest.
Your description is really very much appreciated and it encourage us to improve always more!

We hope to welcome you back again in the future,

best regards
the reception
laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

This hotel is spotlessly clean with beautiful garden like grounds and a good-sized swimming pool for cooling off. Our room had a patio and English TV channels. It also had air con but getting the temp right was a challenge. The hotel offers free wifi but you can't get a signal in your room. You have to sit in the corridor or the lobby. The included breakfast is a nice buffet that you can have on a sunny patio in summer.

Not sure how accessible this location would be without a car. With a car it's easy to find. Apparently you can walk to San Gimignano although we drove and paid for parking outside the old city walls. It was about a 10 minute drive.

This hotel wasn't a bargain but you get quality for the money you spend. You can tell that the staff work hard.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilberries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Responsabile reception at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2011

Thank you very much for your nice review about our hotel, we hope that you enjoyed your holiday in San Gimignano,
and we hope to improve always more our job and our services

Looking forward to welcome you again in San Gimignano,

best regards
the reception
laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
2.9 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,341 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
666 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#5 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 29 in San Gimignano
661 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel le Volpaie
Hotel le Volpaie
#15 of 29 in San Gimignano
178 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#4 of 29 in San Gimignano
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sovestro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sovestro

Address: Localita Sovestro 63, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
#2 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range: £79 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sovestro 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sovestro has 40 rooms, 28 of which are situated on the ground floor with a small private garden and 12 rooms on the first floor with fitted Balcony .All the rooms have a wonderful view on the countryside of San Gimignano or a suggestive view of our swimming pools.All our rooms have private bathroom with shower, hair-drier, telephone, minibar, safe, TV LCD of 26’’, with Sky Silver programmes and air conditioning or heating. WI-FI free in all the rooms, in common area inside or open-air.We have a private free wide- parking, in the small pinewood, is available only for the hotel- guests.Two are the swimming pools, available for our clients, the bigger allows you to swim, have fun and take the sun, the other one, smaller, is in a very silent and discrete corner of the garden, has a small waterfall for massage and a waterline for a moment of relaxation and sun bathing. … Moreover … We inform you that, we realized a small fitness room available for our clients.The use of the gym is free.We wish you finally to give you a small suggestion to let you enjoy the beauty of our hearth, a beautiful walk, through a path deeped in the countryside, which from Hotel Sovestro leads to San Gimignano, with its towers, in only 20/30 minutes.Furtherore we suggest you to enjoy one of the best Tuscan cuisines in the restaurant “Da Pode”.Once it was a farmhouse and now managed directly from the Failli family, who will invite you to savour the Tuscan-dishes.Monday is the day of rest of the restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sovestro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sovestro Hotel San Gimignano
Hotel Sovestro San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing