We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel!!!!!!”
Review of Hotel Sovestro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sovestro
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel!!!!!!”
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We stayed at Hotel Sovestro for 7 nights.It is quite a big hotel with 2 amazing pools.When we walked into our room there was a complimentary bottle of wine for my parents which was really nice of them. Our room was comfortable, quite and had an authentic feel. The breakfast was amazing it included: fruit, yoghurts, cereals, pastries, cold meat, breads and coffee/tea.There is a restaraunt was fantastic at the hotel. I could happily eat there every night. You need to hire a car because the hotel is situated about 5kms out of San Gimignano, but still in a very good location. The staff were very helpful, espically Laura. She gave us advice on some small towns around San Gimignano that were quite pretty and helped me when i had alot of mossie bites!!!There is free internet access in the reception, but you have to ask reception for a username and password that is validated for 72 hours. That was very helpful for us as we needed to check in online for our flight that was leaving Rome. We didnt visit alot of the other towns nearby but we went to Volterra- which is a hiltop town and Poggibonsi. You could do as much or as little as you wanted to. There is lots of places you can visit such as(Pisa, Lucca, Chianti, Florence, Siena and Volterra) which are all easy day trips. We just needed to relax by the pool so we didnt get enough time to explore these towns. If you are looking for a relaxing stay, beautiful view and great service, then Hotel Sovestro is exactly that. We are looking dorward to returning in the future!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the main pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuniorTraveller14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Responsabile reception at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
We wish to thank you for your wonderful review and for your beautiful words , it was very kind of you to find the time to write it and it is for us a good reason to improve our job and our services always more!
We are happy that you had a nice holiday here an that you could visit all the surroundings in tuscany and it was a pleasureto give you some suggestion..
Many greetings to you from the owner Sergio and Lucia together with all the staff.
We look really forward to welcome you again in the future,

best regards
the reception
laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    175
    21
    2
    0
See reviews for
171
330
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, VA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We stayed 4 nights in Hotel Sovestro, just outside San Gimignano. Our room was very quiet and comfortable. The included breakfast was excellent. The food at the restaurant, Da Pode, was very good as well. It was in a good location for visiting other places in Tuscany (Florence, Siena, Chianti are all easy day trips). There is a unpaved road that runs behind the hotel directly to San Gimignano - the walk in to town (about a mile) was along vineyards and olive groves with very nice views of the surrounding countryside. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking for a pleasant place to stay in the heart of Tuscany.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDBinns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Responsabile reception at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Thank you very much for your beautiful words about our hotel and especially about our restaurant. It was a pleasure for us!
we are glad that you had a comfortable stay with us..
We look forward to welcoming you again in San Gimignano.

best regards
the reception
laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Found a true gem on our first visit to Tuscany. Superb service in all respects and especially at the front desk and restaurant. The room, pool area and common parts are excellent and the geographical situation is great for Siena, Firenze, hilltop villages and Chianti country. Overall, a week which will see a return visit and based on our personal opinion happy to recommend with no concerns whatsoever. Thanks to all who made our stay so enjoyable! The Allens from Switzerland.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAAbcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Thank you for your wonderful compliments, and for having found the time to write your review, we are glad that you have good memories about your stay in our hotel and we really hope to welcome you again in the future,

our best regards
The owner
Sergio and Lucia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arklow, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

staff were amazing. breakfast was good. room was fine. would reommend to friends!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 119traveler119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Responsabile reception at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Thank you very much for having written your nice review,
it was very kind of you and we really hope to welcome you again in the future

best regards
the reception
laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

A quite large hotel with 2 excellent pools and very attentive service, we stayed for 1 night. If you like medium sized hotels then this will suit you and the price was pretty competitive.

  • Liked — Just outside San Gimignano (too far to walk), it was a good location and comfortable
  • Disliked — For us, the hotel was a little too large but good for 1 night
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJBEReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Responsabile reception at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 25 September 2011
Thank you for your review about our hotel, we hope, that even if only for 1 night, you spent a good time here and especially we hope to welcome you again in the future

thank you
best regards
the reception
laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We returned yesterday from a stay of 11 days in Hotel Sovestro, and it was great, we also enjoyed the meals we had in restaurant Da Pode. Excellent!!
I work at a travel agency in Holland and I will surely recommend this hotel to our clients.
It´s also in the middle of Tuscany, so easy to reach all the beautiful places and spots in the area.
Everyone in the hotel is very kind and helpfull, so we will come back!

Fam. van den Berg

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vandenbergjoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 25 September 2011
Dear Family,
thank you very much having published your nice review, you are very kind ..
we are glad that you had a good holiday in our hotel and we hope to welcome you again in San Gimignano

best regard
the owners
Failli Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Truly a rare case of great value for money at three star hotel in Italy. Easily a cleanest one out of two dozen I remember over the last 25 years of visiting the country. Hotel restaurant worth at least one visit during the stay. And the pool, well, on arrival seemed nothing special, but on close inspection proves to be good enough to give a very sensible option for a break at a siesta time or even late afternoon.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waldemar188113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Thank you very much for your beautiful review about our hotel and restaurant and the staff..
We are glad that you spent a nice stay..and we really hope to welcome again..

We are sorry if we didn't answered you before, honestly we were sure we did, but maybe there was a misunderstanding..but we want to tell you that we really appreciate your review!!


with our best regards
Sergio and Lucia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 30 in San Gimignano
1,195 reviews
1.0 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 30 in San Gimignano
615 reviews
2.9 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#4 of 30 in San Gimignano
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
655 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 30 in San Gimignano
736 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Cisterna Hotel
La Cisterna Hotel
#8 of 30 in San Gimignano
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sovestro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sovestro

Property: Hotel Sovestro
Address: Localita Sovestro 63, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sovestro 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sovestro has 40 rooms, 28 of which are situated on the ground floor with a small private garden and 12 rooms on the first floor with fitted Balcony .All the rooms have a wonderful view on the countryside of San Gimignano or a suggestive view of our swimming pools.All our rooms have private bathroom with shower, hair-drier, telephone, minibar, safe, TV LCD of 26’’, with Sky Silver programmes and air conditioning or heating. WI-FI free in all the rooms, in common area inside or open-air.We have a private free wide- parking, in the small pinewood, is available only for the hotel- guests.Two are the swimming pools, available for our clients, the bigger allows you to swim, have fun and take the sun, the other one, smaller, is in a very silent and discrete corner of the garden, has a small waterfall for massage and a waterline for a moment of relaxation and sun bathing. … Moreover … We inform you that, we realized a small fitness room available for our clients.The use of the gym is free.We wish you finally to give you a small suggestion to let you enjoy the beauty of our hearth, a beautiful walk, through a path deeped in the countryside, which from Hotel Sovestro leads to San Gimignano, with its towers, in only 20/30 minutes.Furtherore we suggest you to enjoy one of the best Tuscan cuisines in the restaurant “Da Pode”.Once it was a farmhouse and now managed directly from the Failli family, who will invite you to savour the Tuscan-dishes.Monday is the day of rest of the restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sovestro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sovestro Hotel San Gimignano
Hotel Sovestro San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing