We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelence stay at hotel Sovestro”
Review of Hotel Sovestro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sovestro
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excelence stay at hotel Sovestro”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Me and my wife spent 5 nights at the hotel, and I can emphasize that we enjoy every moment.
The staff, room, pool, cleanliness, breakfast, polite and more. The hotel localized near San gimignano (3 KM). We recomends to stay in the hotel and bestow 5 stars.

Room Tip: Second floor in the corner with view to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shlomo_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Responsabile reception at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
We thank you for your lovely review and we are very glad that you spent a good time
with us. We are happy that you appreciated every moments you spent here with us!!

We will be very glad to welcome you again in San Gimignano in the future.

Thank you

best regards
the reception
laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    174
    21
    2
    0
See reviews for
169
326
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lichfield
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Lovely hotel, with very friendly & helpful staff who speak excellent english. We had a very pleasant room with a balcony. There was a lovely pool which was great for a cool down after sight seeing in San Gimignano and Sienna. A nice touch was the complimentary bottle of red wine on the dressing table with our name on it when we arrived! Nice to share on the balcony. There is some noise from the nearby main road, but when the windows and shutters are closed it is very quiet. Breakfast was on the terrace in the sun, and there was a decent continental buffet, though little in the fresh fruit range. The only criticism i have is that breakfast was a bit of a scrum, mainly because of where the one coffee machine is situated - right in the middle of the buffet. There were often queues for the hot drinks so then there would be a problem getting the food too.

We did walk into San Gimignano both in the day and a couple of evenings, but it is quite a walk along a dusty but well used track (also used for local traffic). I would think it is about 4km. The view of San Gimignano as you walk there is spectacular. If you're going to do this in the evening, do take a torch. It feels very safe but have comfy shoes and some insect repellent on.

We did have a meal in the restaurant on the last night of our stay and it was excellent. It was also the most expensive meal of our trip to Tuscany, but we did enjoy it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jam4teaLichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thank you very very much for your review and for your beautiful words about our hotel and restaurant and our staff..we are happy that evrything was agreable.
We are sorry for those things that were not so good, but we hope to improve our services always more..
We are so happy that you have chosen our hotel and hope to welcome you again in the future

sincerely
Failli Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hod Hasharon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

2 KM from San Gimignano, in tthe heart of tuscany, The Sovestro is an ideal Base for day trips around Tuscany! The staff were very helpfull pointing out restaurants and attractions in the area. Having breakfast in the garden was a great start for the day.

Room Tip: A room on the ground floor with a little garden...!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaffaelHodHasharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Responsabile reception at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thank you for havinf written your beautiful opinion about our hotel, we are happy that starting from our hotel you could visit and appreciate the beautiful surroundings of our region..
We hope you'll always have nice memories of your holiday and we look forward to welcoming you again..

best regards
the reception
laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

This was our second stay at Sovestro, having spent a week here at same time last year (late July/early August). We loved it last year and we loved it this year. All the same comments apply.....we will return and have no hesitation in recommending Sovestro to others,

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank B-Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Dear Clients,
thank you for your very kind review, we are pleased that you came to us for the second time and that you spent happy moments here..
We hope to welcome you again in San Gimignano,
thank you

best regards
the owners
Sergio and Lucia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

My husband and I spent 11 nights at Hotel Sovestro from 14th July. We loved it. Perfect location, lovely rooms, helpful and friendly staff. The adjoining restaurant Da Pode was fabulous also. We hope to come back again sometime. Denise from Ireland.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thank you very much for your beautiful words about our hotel and especially about our restaurant. It was a pleasure for us!
we are happy that yopu enjoied your holiday here

and we look forward to welcoming you again in San Gimignano.

best regards
the owners
Failli Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Perfectly located for visiting the surrounding towns, this hotel is just right for a relaxing break. The rooms are a good size and very clean, we had rooms in the older, one-storey part of the hotel which overlooked the pool and had their own little patio. Breakfast is plentiful, and dinner in the adjoining restaurant a pleasure. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We shall certainly be visiting again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisFWokingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Many thanks for your beautiful words about our hotel , we are very pleased that you spent a nice holiday here and appreciate the environment of our building,

It was a plasure for our staff to welcome you and we hope to see you again in San Gimignano ..

kind regards
Failli Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmacolm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I feel I should rate this hotel as 1 and not 5 because if everyone sings it's praises it will be full all of the time and I won't be able to get a room in future! One of the beauties of this hotel is that it isn't too large. There's plenty space to sit by either of the two pools without rubbing shoulders with other guests. The rooms are spacious and each has air conditioning and a balcony or private terrace. It is in a beautiful setting which is well maintained and is well located for travelling around central Tuscany. The hotel is family owned and run and they take great pride in the service and facilities provided to guests. The standard of cleanliness is excellent and the staff always helpful. The restaurant provides a good selection of local cuisine which is always of a high standard and the selection of wines is excellent. Breakfast is superb.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pia2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Dear Madame,
first of all we want to thank you for coming visiting us already since many times and especially thank you for your very nice review and very much appreciated words..
No worries, even if we'll have many many guests here..you will always hold a special position ;) !!

We hope you will have good memories of your holiday in San Gimignano and we hope to welcome you again

warmest regards
Sergio and Lucia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
1,171 reviews
2.9 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#4 of 31 in San Gimignano
1,261 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 31 in San Gimignano
602 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 31 in San Gimignano
730 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
#5 of 31 in San Gimignano
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sovestro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sovestro

Property: Hotel Sovestro
Address: Localita Sovestro 63, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sovestro 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sovestro has 40 rooms, 28 of which are situated on the ground floor with a small private garden and 12 rooms on the first floor with fitted Balcony .All the rooms have a wonderful view on the countryside of San Gimignano or a suggestive view of our swimming pools.All our rooms have private bathroom with shower, hair-drier, telephone, minibar, safe, TV LCD of 26’’, with Sky Silver programmes and air conditioning or heating. WI-FI free in all the rooms, in common area inside or open-air.We have a private free wide- parking, in the small pinewood, is available only for the hotel- guests.Two are the swimming pools, available for our clients, the bigger allows you to swim, have fun and take the sun, the other one, smaller, is in a very silent and discrete corner of the garden, has a small waterfall for massage and a waterline for a moment of relaxation and sun bathing. … Moreover … We inform you that, we realized a small fitness room available for our clients.The use of the gym is free.We wish you finally to give you a small suggestion to let you enjoy the beauty of our hearth, a beautiful walk, through a path deeped in the countryside, which from Hotel Sovestro leads to San Gimignano, with its towers, in only 20/30 minutes.Furtherore we suggest you to enjoy one of the best Tuscan cuisines in the restaurant “Da Pode”.Once it was a farmhouse and now managed directly from the Failli family, who will invite you to savour the Tuscan-dishes.Monday is the day of rest of the restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sovestro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sovestro Hotel San Gimignano
Hotel Sovestro San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing