We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A peaceful respite in the Tuscan countryside”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sovestro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sovestro
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Mississippi
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A peaceful respite in the Tuscan countryside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

After three days and nights in Rome, our group of four adult friends found the Hotel Sovestro a welcome respite in the Tuscan countryside. From arrival through departure two days later, we were treated as very special guests by the well trained and cheerful staff.

The rooms are simply furnished but very comforable and feature lovely, private terraces with views of the surrounding olive groves. The Hotel Sovestro is a perfect base from which to explore San Gimignano, the beautiful countryside, and even Florence, just a 50 minute drive to the north.

In addition to the comfortable, quiet accommodations, we would recommend the delightful on-site restaurant, Da Poda. Our food was fresh and tasty and reasonably priced.

If you are looking for a special retreat in the Tuscan countryside at a reasonable price, Hotel Sovestro is the place to stay!

Room Tip: All rooms appear to have similar, beautiful views of the countryside. If, however, you prefer a quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkRatay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Responsabile reception at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 13 October 2012
Dear Sir,
thank you so much for your wonderful words about our hotel and restaurant, we were very pleased to welcome you and your friends in San Gimignano and thank you for finding the time to write your review, which is very important for us..

We look forward to welcome you again as our very appreciated clients

We wish you a lovely day

best regards
the reception
laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    171
    20
    2
    0
See reviews for
167
321
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

Great hotel, just mintes from San Gimignano, either walking or driving. Wonderful breakfast spread, has some of everything. It was great having 2 pools to relax in after a day of visiting vineyards and towns under the hot Tuscan sun. And it was hot! Even if you don't walk all the way to San Gimignano, ask about the walking route. It is an easy walk through the country side and provides postcard worthy views of San Gimignano that you won't get driving up the main road.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dirtbomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 13 October 2012
Dear Guests,
thank you so much for your beautiful review we are glad that you appreciate our hotel and especially our swimming pool, where you could have relaxing moments..we are happy that you could also appreciate the beauty our our region and that you enjoied the walk to San Gimignano seeing the beautiful countryside

We hope that you always remember your holiday in San Gimignano with great pleasure and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future..

best regards
Family Failli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEEDS
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

From the moment we booked Sovestro to settling the bill and leaving was a pleasure. Our flight times dictated a late arrival at the hotel which was no problem to the staff (they kindly let us have something to eat and drink after the bar had closed). The breakfasts were a fresh blend of local foods and the normal cereals etc. It was hard to resist going back two and three times as plates were constantly being re-stocked and changed by the staff.
Our family room ( girls aged 6 & 11 so no problem sharing), comprised of two double beds. It was spotlessly clean, very good air conditioning and peaceful, ensuring a good nights sleep.
Our children loved both pools in between the site seeing, and the waiter service for drinks and snacks was a relaxing way to end the day after visiting Siena etc.
We only ate at the restaurant once, because San Gim has lots of good ones on offer and begging to be tried, but I can certainly recommend it. All of our party thoroughly enjoyed their food, service and setting. During our stay all the staff were very friendly and only too pleased to help with any query.
To get to San Gim from the hotel on foot you can use the main road or take a more direct dirt track right into town. By day the track has stunning views leading uphill to San Gim and by night is perfectly safe to travel ( a torch would be pretty handy though) and takes less than twenty minutes at a fairly brisk pace.
All in all if I find myself in this beautiful part of the world again I would have no hesitation in staying at Hotel Sovestro.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MICK B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 13 October 2012
Dear Family,
thank you so much for your wonderful review, we were very pleased to welcome you and your family and we are also very pleased that you spent a lovely holiday here with us..
We are happy that your kids enjoied our pools and that you had also the chance to relax!!
We hope that you will always have good memories about your stay in San Gimignano and we really hope to welcome you again in the future !!
Thank you and have a nice day!!

our best regards
the owners
Sergio and Lucia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

This is our second visit to the Hotel Sovestro and it did not disappoint one iota. Ideally situated just outside San Gimignano, with an excellent restaurant attached, swimming pools and family run. If you are looking to explore Tuscany we would thoroughly recommend that you use this hotel as a base as it is close to Siena, Pisa, Florence, Colle di Val D'Elsa, Arezzo and Lucca. The standard of the rooms and the overall service is as high as you would find in any Italian hotel in our experience and yet they only qualify as a 3*. The breakfast, although continental, is of excellent standard with freshly baked pastries which are to die for!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Dear Clients,
thank you for writing your opinions about our Hotel and for your beautiful review .. it is very important for us to know if our guests are satisfied or if we have to improve on our job..
We are happy that you enjoied our hotel and restaurant and that you had the possibility to visit also the beautiful towns and cities of our region!

Looking forward to welcoming you again,

best regards
Failli Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Me and my wife spent 5 nights at the hotel, and I can emphasize that we enjoy every moment.
The staff, room, pool, cleanliness, breakfast, polite and more. The hotel localized near San gimignano (3 KM). We recomends to stay in the hotel and bestow 5 stars.

Room Tip: Second floor in the corner with view to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shlomo_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Responsabile reception at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
We thank you for your lovely review and we are very glad that you spent a good time
with us. We are happy that you appreciated every moments you spent here with us!!

We will be very glad to welcome you again in San Gimignano in the future.

Thank you

best regards
the reception
laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lichfield
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

Lovely hotel, with very friendly & helpful staff who speak excellent english. We had a very pleasant room with a balcony. There was a lovely pool which was great for a cool down after sight seeing in San Gimignano and Sienna. A nice touch was the complimentary bottle of red wine on the dressing table with our name on it when we arrived! Nice to share on the balcony. There is some noise from the nearby main road, but when the windows and shutters are closed it is very quiet. Breakfast was on the terrace in the sun, and there was a decent continental buffet, though little in the fresh fruit range. The only criticism i have is that breakfast was a bit of a scrum, mainly because of where the one coffee machine is situated - right in the middle of the buffet. There were often queues for the hot drinks so then there would be a problem getting the food too.

We did walk into San Gimignano both in the day and a couple of evenings, but it is quite a walk along a dusty but well used track (also used for local traffic). I would think it is about 4km. The view of San Gimignano as you walk there is spectacular. If you're going to do this in the evening, do take a torch. It feels very safe but have comfy shoes and some insect repellent on.

We did have a meal in the restaurant on the last night of our stay and it was excellent. It was also the most expensive meal of our trip to Tuscany, but we did enjoy it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jam4teaLichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thank you very very much for your review and for your beautiful words about our hotel and restaurant and our staff..we are happy that evrything was agreable.
We are sorry for those things that were not so good, but we hope to improve our services always more..
We are so happy that you have chosen our hotel and hope to welcome you again in the future

sincerely
Failli Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hod Hasharon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

2 KM from San Gimignano, in tthe heart of tuscany, The Sovestro is an ideal Base for day trips around Tuscany! The staff were very helpfull pointing out restaurants and attractions in the area. Having breakfast in the garden was a great start for the day.

Room Tip: A room on the ground floor with a little garden...!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaffaelHodHasharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Responsabile reception at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thank you for havinf written your beautiful opinion about our hotel, we are happy that starting from our hotel you could visit and appreciate the beautiful surroundings of our region..
We hope you'll always have nice memories of your holiday and we look forward to welcoming you again..

best regards
the reception
laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
2.9 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#5 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
#4 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
1.0 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sovestro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sovestro

Property: Hotel Sovestro
Address: Localita Sovestro 63, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sovestro 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sovestro has 40 rooms, 28 of which are situated on the ground floor with a small private garden and 12 rooms on the first floor with fitted Balcony .All the rooms have a wonderful view on the countryside of San Gimignano or a suggestive view of our swimming pools.All our rooms have private bathroom with shower, hair-drier, telephone, minibar, safe, TV LCD of 26’’, with Sky Silver programmes and air conditioning or heating. WI-FI free in all the rooms, in common area inside or open-air.We have a private free wide- parking, in the small pinewood, is available only for the hotel- guests.Two are the swimming pools, available for our clients, the bigger allows you to swim, have fun and take the sun, the other one, smaller, is in a very silent and discrete corner of the garden, has a small waterfall for massage and a waterline for a moment of relaxation and sun bathing. … Moreover … We inform you that, we realized a small fitness room available for our clients.The use of the gym is free.We wish you finally to give you a small suggestion to let you enjoy the beauty of our hearth, a beautiful walk, through a path deeped in the countryside, which from Hotel Sovestro leads to San Gimignano, with its towers, in only 20/30 minutes.Furtherore we suggest you to enjoy one of the best Tuscan cuisines in the restaurant “Da Pode”.Once it was a farmhouse and now managed directly from the Failli family, who will invite you to savour the Tuscan-dishes.Monday is the day of rest of the restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sovestro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sovestro Hotel San Gimignano
Hotel Sovestro San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing