We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“close enough to san gimignano”
Review of Hotel Sovestro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sovestro
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
berlin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“close enough to san gimignano”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

stayed here for one night as we were touring tuscany by car. great property which reminds me of modern motel in usa. wifi worked well and we had german tv channels for the first time in a week.
short drive to san gimignano (5mins), i enjoyed not being right in the middle of the town as it is a tourist destination with hundreds of people swarming through the alleys at any time. breakfast buffet is nice but as mentioned in previous posts the coffee machine is not up to the standard of the great coffee they serve all over italy.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomasmarkerttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Responsabile reception at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 13 October 2012
We thank you for your nice review and we are very glad that you spent a good time
with us.. we hope to solve those things that are not very good yet and we'll make our best to satisfy our clients.

We will be very glad to welcome you again in San Gimignano in the future.

Best regards from Failli family and the all staff

the reception
laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    174
    21
    2
    0
See reviews for
169
324
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2012

For both my husbad and I this would be our 3rd visit here again. All the staff are very helpful/ friendly and nothing is a problem for them and thats's one of the reasons we keep coming back. We love Italy and the Hotel location to San Gimignano is spot on. The food we can't fault both breakfast and in their resturant. The rooms are cleaned everday and the bedding changed can't fault it ... Overall with everything we had a fantastic time there and Tuscany Italy, many, many from us Both

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 13 October 2012
Dear Clients,
thank you so much for your compliments, your words are very precious for us, because it is a very big satisfaction in our job..
We are happy that you spent good moments in our hotel and our food and we hope you'll have always good memories of your holiday

Looking forward to welcoming you

best regards
Failli family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

My last stay was in August/September 2012 - actually my 14th stay in this hotel in the last decade, Do I need to say more? For my wife and me, it's like coming back to friends, Sergio, Alfredo, Agnese, Laura and all the staff know what we like or need and make every stay a great pleasure.
It's a small hotel run by the family, comfortable, great pool, excellent restaurant Da Pode, walking distance (20 min) to San Gimignano, the perfect place to struggle around Tuscany, tasting food and wine, enjoy the overwhelming culture. For us, the perfect place for one or two weeks away from daily business.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serreto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 13 October 2012
Dear Sir and Madame,
heartfelt thanks for your beautiful review and the wonderful compliments you dedicate to us..this is a very big joy for all of us and for this reason we always wish t make our best to satisfy our clients.
Thank you for being our lovely guests since some many years it is always a big pleasure to welcome you every time !!

We look forward to seeing you soon and many greetings from all the staff and Agnese and Laura

sincerely
Sergio Lucia Alfredo and all the family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

This is a 3 star hotel, which must be kept in mind. The room was clean, with a balcony to the pool (you should book a room to the pool, to the street is very noisy). It is overall a functional place. Breakfast is ok, exept the coffee from a self service machine. But is is very well located to S.G. You can even walk about 30 min. to town and the same back over nice little streets. That helpes to enjoy the wine without having to drive. The staff is friendly, the manager generous (he did not charge our mini bar, saying: next time), the pool great. Overall a good place to stay to explore S. G., Siena and Volterra.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Afrika200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 13 October 2012
We want to thank you for your wonderful words we really appreciate a lot and it is very important for our job..it was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to welcome you again in San Gimignano as our welcome guests

thank you

best regards
the owners
Sergio and Lucia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Hotel Sovestro is so well situated and the place is beautiful. The rooms are lovely, the grounds are wonderful to walk around and explore, the pool is lovely at the end of the day and the staff were all friendly, courteous and very welcoming. We would absolutely recommend this hotel if you are traveling to San Gimignano, Pisa or even Lucca. It is just ideal!

Room Tip: ask for a room over looking back (not poolside)..much prettier and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winston_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 13 October 2012
Dear clients
thank you very much for your beautiful review, we are happy that you liked our hotel and you appreciated the work of our staff it was a pleasure for us to welcome you and we are also glad, that starting from our hotel you could visit the beautiful towns and the amenities of our region

Looking forward to welcoming you again

best regards
Failli family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We had a tremendous 4 day relaxing stay at this hotel as part of a driving tour of Italy. All the staff are very friendly and helpful, the room was spotless and a good size with balcony overlooking an olive grove. The pool is a good size with plenty of sun loungers available on a good size terrace, hence no overcrowding. The breakfast had a good range of buffet style food, and fresh cooked eggs were available on request. The walk to San Gimignano is not difficult and the first view of the town is stunning.
The restaurant is also excellant, with good food, good reasonably priced wine and very welcoming and friendly staff.
We could not fault our stay and will return. This was the first time we had been to this part of Italy and it far exceeded our expectations - it's beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waldsWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Responsabile reception at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 13 October 2012
Thank you so much for your beautiful review about our hotel and we are glad that you had a nice and especially relaxing stay with us, thank you also for appreciating our restaurant and services
We hope to welcome you again in the future and we wish you a happy week end !!

best regards
the reception
laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississippi
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

After three days and nights in Rome, our group of four adult friends found the Hotel Sovestro a welcome respite in the Tuscan countryside. From arrival through departure two days later, we were treated as very special guests by the well trained and cheerful staff.

The rooms are simply furnished but very comforable and feature lovely, private terraces with views of the surrounding olive groves. The Hotel Sovestro is a perfect base from which to explore San Gimignano, the beautiful countryside, and even Florence, just a 50 minute drive to the north.

In addition to the comfortable, quiet accommodations, we would recommend the delightful on-site restaurant, Da Poda. Our food was fresh and tasty and reasonably priced.

If you are looking for a special retreat in the Tuscan countryside at a reasonable price, Hotel Sovestro is the place to stay!

Room Tip: All rooms appear to have similar, beautiful views of the countryside. If, however, you prefer a quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkRatay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Responsabile reception at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 13 October 2012
Dear Sir,
thank you so much for your wonderful words about our hotel and restaurant, we were very pleased to welcome you and your friends in San Gimignano and thank you for finding the time to write your review, which is very important for us..

We look forward to welcome you again as our very appreciated clients

We wish you a lovely day

best regards
the reception
laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
2.9 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#4 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
#5 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
1.0 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sovestro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sovestro

Property: Hotel Sovestro
Address: Localita Sovestro 63, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
#2 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sovestro 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sovestro has 40 rooms, 28 of which are situated on the ground floor with a small private garden and 12 rooms on the first floor with fitted Balcony .All the rooms have a wonderful view on the countryside of San Gimignano or a suggestive view of our swimming pools.All our rooms have private bathroom with shower, hair-drier, telephone, minibar, safe, TV LCD of 26’’, with Sky Silver programmes and air conditioning or heating. WI-FI free in all the rooms, in common area inside or open-air.We have a private free wide- parking, in the small pinewood, is available only for the hotel- guests.Two are the swimming pools, available for our clients, the bigger allows you to swim, have fun and take the sun, the other one, smaller, is in a very silent and discrete corner of the garden, has a small waterfall for massage and a waterline for a moment of relaxation and sun bathing. … Moreover … We inform you that, we realized a small fitness room available for our clients.The use of the gym is free.We wish you finally to give you a small suggestion to let you enjoy the beauty of our hearth, a beautiful walk, through a path deeped in the countryside, which from Hotel Sovestro leads to San Gimignano, with its towers, in only 20/30 minutes.Furtherore we suggest you to enjoy one of the best Tuscan cuisines in the restaurant “Da Pode”.Once it was a farmhouse and now managed directly from the Failli family, who will invite you to savour the Tuscan-dishes.Monday is the day of rest of the restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sovestro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sovestro Hotel San Gimignano
Hotel Sovestro San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing