We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant wait to return in September 2014... LOVED IT !!!”
Review of Hotel Sovestro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sovestro
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast - Australia
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Cant wait to return in September 2014... LOVED IT !!!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Has to be one of my favorite places in the WORLD.

NOT overly fancy by any means, however the setting and service is unbeatable.

The onsite restaurant Da Pode is great for dinner and the breakfast is very good.

Only a short drive to the hill top where you will be impressed by the variety of shops, restaurants and local craft work.

Free parking and free Wifi is also at the hotel.

Room Tip: Ground floor over looking the Gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firstclassboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Customers,

we are very thankfull for your beautiful words describing your impression and feelings about our property,
we are happy that you enjoied both our hotel and restaurant and thank you for coming back soon to visit us.

We look forward to welcoming you in few months,
Thank you

best regards
The Failli family,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    175
    21
    2
    0
See reviews for
171
330
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a 3 night stay at the Hotel Sovestro and we found it very welcoming. Agnus and Laura made our stay very enjoyable. We had a rear view onto the swimming pool with balcony. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room with pool view with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leeryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Responsabile reception at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Mr Lee,
thank you so much for your beautiful review of our hotel,
we are very glad to read that you spent some good days here and we hope you will always remember your holiday in San Gimignano,
For us, it was a pleasure to welcome you,

We hope to welcome you again in the future,

best regards
the reception
Agnese e Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed there with our two children during Easter time. A wonderful place very nicely located in Tuscany. Everything was perfect even if the rooms were a bit small for 4 and also a bit cold due to some energy saving policy(!?). In addition to its perfect location, the advantages of this hotel are the nice pool and the excellent restaurant. Really no need to go far to get the best food in the region! This was made even more perfect by the passion and talent of Raphaella (our waitress): her smile, her great grasp of languages (french in our case) and her perfect knowledge of the local specialties will remain a very special memory of our stay. Thank you Raphaella!
If you would liketo discover Tuscany and it is your first trip there, dont hesitate to book at Sovestro.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwissFamilyLausanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Customers,
thank you very much for your beautiful review and for having written this important opinion.

We are very glad to read that you spent a nice Easter holiday in our Hotel
we are also very pleased that you tasted and appreciated our tuscan food in our restaurant.
A special Thanks also from Raffaella...

We hope to welcome you and your family again in San Gimignano,

best regards
Failli family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

What a great spot in Tuscany. My wife found this family run place that has tons of charm and is well situated for a visit to Tuscany. We used it as a home base for visits to Orvieto, Cortona and San Gimignano. Rooms are big and comfortable. Ours had a nice patio overlooking olive trees and vines. Very quiet hotel. Excellent restaurant as well. Good amenities in the room. Wifi was a bit spotty and slow but not a big problem. The buffet breakfast is excellent and appeals to many traditions. Decent cappuccino machine too! The staff show a great deal of pride in their work and service. Nice people. Good value hotel for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for room on the ground floor with a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LikethetripFantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Sir and Madame,
thank you so much for your wonderful review , you are very kind for writing such a beautiful of our property.
We are very happy that you spent a nice holiday in our hotel,

we hope to welcome you again in Sa Gimignano

Yours sincerely,

Failli family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montville, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed here after seeing no bad reviews, which we find unusual. But the bottle of local Chianti waiting for us, the clean room, the service, and great location put us at ease, and our stay was so enjoyable we understand why they have no terrible reviews. Plenty of parking, twenty-five minute walk to the old town, quiet, very good restaurant on premises and a good European style breakfast, with plenty of great looking pastries. We only stayed five days, but should have stayed longer and used this location to explore this part of Italy instead of moving to other hotels in Pisa and Florence.

Room Tip: Balconies on the road side might provide a view, but there is some highway noise, although the windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CountVernon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Customers,
we are very grateful to you for the beautiful words you wrote for us.
We are happy that you enjoyed your holiday in our hotel and that you appreciated our services..
It was a pleasure for us to have welcomed you and we hope that you will come back soon to visit us.

We hope to welcome you again in San Gimignano and we wish you a Happy and Joyful New Year.

best regards
Family Failli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haifa israel
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

this nice family run hotel is located very close to the enrence to the old city of San Gimignano . It is nestled among the grape vineyard and beautiful hills of toscany . Rooms are spacy and nice even though a bit oldy. Nice terrace with exit to the garden and pool/ The view is beautiful/ The location is great to explore other parts of Toscany like Siena , Florence and even cinque terra which is great. Breakfast and dinner were great. Very tasty and big selection of Italian cuisine. Suitable for customer who sick a nice clean hotel property to explore this part of Italy whith reasonable price.

Room Tip: You should ask for a room with exit to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avigail s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Mrs Avigail,
thank you very much for your very appreciated and beautiful review,
we are very glad that you sppent a nice vacation in San Gimignano, staying in our hotel.
Thank you for writing your opinion, which is for us very important.
We are also pleased to read that you visited also the beautiful surroundings of this side of Tuscany.. we hope you will always have good memories of your hoilday.

We hope to welcome you again in San Gimignano and... we wish you a Happy and Healthy and Wealthy 2014 ..

best regards
Family Failli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Nice room, well located and comfortable. Breakfast was adequate and staff friendly and helpful. I had emailed 3 weeks prior to our trip to inquire if they could make restaurant reservations for me and they did!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MargaretA308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Mrs Margaret,
thank you very much for your very frienldy review and for writing your opinion, so much appreciated.
we hope that you will have always good memories of your journey to San Gimignano.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in the future,
we wish you a nice Evening,

best regards
the Failli family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 30 in San Gimignano
1,190 reviews
1.0 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 30 in San Gimignano
613 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#4 of 30 in San Gimignano
1,274 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#5 of 30 in San Gimignano
735 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
#6 of 30 in San Gimignano
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sovestro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sovestro

Property: Hotel Sovestro
Address: Localita Sovestro 63, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sovestro 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sovestro has 40 rooms, 28 of which are situated on the ground floor with a small private garden and 12 rooms on the first floor with fitted Balcony .All the rooms have a wonderful view on the countryside of San Gimignano or a suggestive view of our swimming pools.All our rooms have private bathroom with shower, hair-drier, telephone, minibar, safe, TV LCD of 26’’, with Sky Silver programmes and air conditioning or heating. WI-FI free in all the rooms, in common area inside or open-air.We have a private free wide- parking, in the small pinewood, is available only for the hotel- guests.Two are the swimming pools, available for our clients, the bigger allows you to swim, have fun and take the sun, the other one, smaller, is in a very silent and discrete corner of the garden, has a small waterfall for massage and a waterline for a moment of relaxation and sun bathing. … Moreover … We inform you that, we realized a small fitness room available for our clients.The use of the gym is free.We wish you finally to give you a small suggestion to let you enjoy the beauty of our hearth, a beautiful walk, through a path deeped in the countryside, which from Hotel Sovestro leads to San Gimignano, with its towers, in only 20/30 minutes.Furtherore we suggest you to enjoy one of the best Tuscan cuisines in the restaurant “Da Pode”.Once it was a farmhouse and now managed directly from the Failli family, who will invite you to savour the Tuscan-dishes.Monday is the day of rest of the restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sovestro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sovestro Hotel San Gimignano
Hotel Sovestro San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing