We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Sovestro
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse(San Gimignano)(Great Value!)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Leon Bianco(San Gimignano)(Great Value!)
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo(San Gimignano)
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Cisterna Hotel(San Gimignano)(Great Value!)
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Pescille(San Gimignano)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel le Volpaie(San Gimignano)(Great Value!)
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villasanpaolo(San Gimignano)
US$311
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$296
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel La Collegiata(San Gimignano)
US$240
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (647)
Filter reviews
647 results
Traveller rating
438
182
24
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
438
182
24
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsristorante dagreat hotelmain poolhotel restaurant isquiet hotelwifi worked wellbreakfast buffet iscold meatsnice poollarge bathroomvisit san gimignanorented a cardirt roadwild boarstayed longerpastapools
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 647 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014

So,the dilemma is...do I stay within San Gimignano city walls..or choose a hotel nearby. I did the latter and had no regrets.
Hotel Sovestro is in a lovely spot,nestling in a vineyard strewn valley,within a ten minute bus ride,up the hill,to the main gate into the town.The bus stop is at the main entrance to the hotel and they come past every twenty minutes. We actually walked back on one occasion,using the main road,and it's quite a photo fest,there's also roadside vineyard outlet (a bottle of their excellent Vernaccia €5.5,June'14). It took 30 minutes and it's all downhill,but it is quite a busy road and there are no pavements as such,so I don't think it's something for the elderly or very young.We didn't attempt the back route from the hotel up to town,it's shorter and more scenic,but there were a few Mosquitos around and they seemed to like the taste of my blood.
Driving up to the town found car parks 1 and 2 full (bottom entrance near the bus stop),so used car park 4,at the back end of town and a five minute walk up through the city walls,near the church of St.Agostino (unmissable frescos).San Gimignano needs no endorsement,it's a stunning place.
Whilst having lunch at The Terazza,which appeared to be the external seating restaurant and bar of The Hotel Cisterna,(both very nice),we watched a family arrive and unload their car amidst the busy crowds in The Piazza and didn't envy them. There's no permanent parking within the city,so I don't know how they would go on if the nearest car park was full when they arrived.Incidentally,car park 4,the cheapest,was approx 3€ for half a day.
Hotel Sovestro:Lovely breakfast terrace,extensive breakfast selection of cold meats and cheeses,boiled eggs,tomatoes,cake,bread,etc,(no toast machine or bacon/sausage).Fabulous associated outdoor restaurant (Da Pode),with memorable meals cooked by the hotel owner's wife at very reasonable cost.Large bedroom with balcony (or terrace),HD TV with Sky,large bathroom.Nice bar with indoor/outdoor seating and Dab (German) beer.Spotless interior hotel decor and furniture,large immaculate swimming pool with bar service,small (cool down) pool with waterfall and both with extensive landscaped terrace/gardens and lots of loungers.Very helpful reception and service staff. In a nutshell...I could not fault it.
And,finally,when you travel out to the many nearby tourist areas,you simply step out of the hotel, into your car in the tree lined (cool) car park and off you go.No hassle and no battling through crowds.
We'll be back!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank PPAinsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Sir,
thank you so much for your amazing review and for the time spent to write it.
We are avery impressed of the awesome description of our hotel and the town of San Gimignano and its surroundings,

Thank you for choosing our hotel to spend your holiday, we were very glad to welcome you and we are happy to read that you appreciated the food in our restaurant as well.

We hope you will always have good memories of the days spent in our hotel,

we hope to welcome you back som day and we wish you a good Day,

best regards
Failli family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a five night stay at the Hotel Sovestro. This was our third visit and once again we can't speak too highly of this lovely hotel.The service by Laura ,Agnese and the rest of the staff is five star and you feel at home straight away. The double room facing the pool was perfect, spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated and the breakfast on the terrace was heaven. The walk on the back road/track to San Gimignano is a lovely way up to the town, with stunning views. The restaurant is very good, with great food and local wines. It even has a gym if you want to keep in shape .By far the best hotel that we have stayed in Italy.

Room Tip: Rooms face pool at the front and gardens at the back, both great
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paddyanddee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Responsabile reception at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Mr Paddy,
thank you very much for your beautiful review and for having written your opinion, which is for us very important.
Thank you also for choosing our hotel since already many years.
We are always very glad to welcome you,
Many greetings from the Failli family and all the staff,

we hope to welcome you again in San Gimignano

best regards
the reception
Agnese e Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

If you are looking for à place to go in tuscany ,stop looking,hotel Sovestro is the place.Laura at the réception is the first reason,she takes care of you like family,the 2 swimming pools,the fantastic breakfast on the terrasse,and on and on.You CAN walk to San Giminagno.The Price of a 3 stars but treated like in a 4 stars

Room Tip: On the side of the big swimming pool,on the second floor is the best location.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Responsabile reception at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Mr Marc,
thank you so much for your beautiful review
It was a great pleasure for us to welcome you and we are really happy that you spent a nice holiday in our hotel.
We hope that you will always have good memories of your holiday in San Gimignano and we wish you to welcome you again in the future.
Thank you

best regards
the reception-laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I spent 2 nights. Everything comfortable, well furnished, clean. Close to main road but in peaceful area- you can have real rest.
Big car park, luxurious swimming-pool in front, absolutely smashing restaurant with unprecedented choice of great wines. I had the best dinner in my life (so far:)
Rather high prices.

Plan to come back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agnieszka n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Mrs Agnieszka,
thank you so much for your kind and friendly review and thank you for having written your opinion and thoughts about your stay.
We are very glad that you spent a nice holiday and that you appreciated our services and facilities..
We hope you will remember your holidays at Sovestro as something pleasant.

we look forward to welcoming you again,

yours sincerely,
family Failli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Has to be one of my favorite places in the WORLD.

NOT overly fancy by any means, however the setting and service is unbeatable.

The onsite restaurant Da Pode is great for dinner and the breakfast is very good.

Only a short drive to the hill top where you will be impressed by the variety of shops, restaurants and local craft work.

Free parking and free Wifi is also at the hotel.

Room Tip: Ground floor over looking the Gardens
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank firstclassboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Customers,

we are very thankfull for your beautiful words describing your impression and feelings about our property,
we are happy that you enjoied both our hotel and restaurant and thank you for coming back soon to visit us.

We look forward to welcoming you in few months,
Thank you

best regards
The Failli family,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews