We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Podere Casanuova
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We spent 5 nights in Caesius apartment at the end of May. The Podere is very comfortable, sympathetically decorated and we loved our stay there. Close to San Gimignano and with many beautiful Tuscan places easily accessible, it is an ideal location for a perfect Tuscan holiday. The nearest supermarket is close by so it was easy to stock up on the day we arrived. It was unseasonally warm when we were there and the only slight disappointment was the fact that the swimming pool was not usable but Lucia told us that they would probably open it earlier next season, but this is something worth bearing in mind if you plan to go before or after high season. I am very pleased we found this place and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josephine86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2011

My boyfriend and I spent five nights at Podere Casanuovo - it was absolutely amazing!
If you're driving through Tuscany for a few days this spot is a great location as well - we had no trouble getting to Siena, Pisa, Volterra, Chianti and of course San Gimignano.

If you're looking for a peaceful, beautiful setting with a traditional Tuscan feel then this is highly recommended. You won't want to leave! We enjoyed cooking our own pasta dishes as well - the kitchen it well equipped for this sort of thing. The farmhouse is also perfect for lounging around during the day - you feel like you have the property all to yourselves!

Thanks Lucia for a wonderful stay! It was an absolute highlight of our 2 month Europe adventure!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank BrionyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2011

We (me, dh and dd (4)) had a brilliant four Day stay in the Ruber apartment. Lush green grounds, well apointed apartment, beautiful views and surrounds. We followed the instructions after we picked up our rental car in la spezia and the Podere was easy to find. Be prepared for the long windy rocky driveway - all part of the charm. Great central location in Tuscany with access to many hill towns and sienna and Florence not far away. Only disappointment for our dd is that pool doesn't open until 30 May. Def will stay again if in Tuscany.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BellaGirlTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

we enjoyed the best days in Tuscany! Wonderful location, two minutes from San Gimigniano and from major sites: Volterra, Siena,... Wonderful apartment and gardens. Great swimmingpool for the whole family.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
Thank teresa083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Converted farmhouse with spacious, sympathetically-restored and decorated apartments in a calm setting with views over the rolling Tuscan landscape. Good pool. Helpful and friendly staff. Pets welcome. 2km from San Gimignano. Day trips to Siena, Florence and Pisa all do-able by car.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick_888_Geneve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

If you are looking for a truly Tuscan looking farmhouse that has been completely renovated and offers apartment style accommodations that overlooks the countryside, you've found the place. We rented a car in Florence and drove to San Gimignano where the Podere is located 2 km from the city. The owners Lucia and Giampiero have put lots of thought, quality, and $$$ into making the Podere a comfortable and peaceful experience. The house was completely refurbished between 2000-2002 and then they started work on grounds. With a sunken swimming pool, gardens and orchards that are enclosed within a fenced property, the entire complex is perched on the side of a hill with a view that stretches for several kilometers.
We stayed in The Violaceus, their smallest apartment, set up as a bachelor with it's bedroom, kitchen counter and table/chairs/TV all in the same space. They also have 2- bedroom apartments. Our room and bed were very comfortable and the bathroom, though tight, was very clean. They provided a CD/DVD player in the room as well. The kitchenette was functional with 2 gas burners, half fridge with very small freezer, toaster, coffee percolator, pots/pans, dishes...there was also salt/pepper/sugar/olive oil/balsamic vinegar/dried pasta, all left behind by previous renters. We replaced the sugar and added some dried spices to the shelf. Outside our room was a covered patio made of tiled floor and terracotta roof with vines growing down a corner pillar. It was a spectacular setting for our breakfasts and dinners. After a day of site seeing, we'd come back and enjoy a beer or glass of wine along with a plate of antipasto, followed by a quick pasta (all bought from the local Coop store in San Gimignano). Lucia was on site every day and helped us with directions and suggestions on where to visit. She was always available and so helpful, a wonderful hostess. I really enjoyed my conversations with her about life in Tuscany. We took daily trips that included San Gimignano, Montalcino, La Pienza, Montepulciano and the perfect Mediterranean seaside town- Porto San Stefano.
We've decided we'll be back and stay here again. We'd love to visit during the fall to experience the harvesting of the vineyards and olives.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan_Anna_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2010

I have thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Podere Casanuova. Lucia and Gianpiero are very discreet, yet always at your disposal hosts. The house is perfectly located away from the main road, a few minutes drive from Sangimignano, and I thought very practically located for Firenza, Sienna and many beautiful small Toscan towns, and of course great shopping malls. The house is very pleasant, very clean and you can get your peace and quiet whils sitting on the terrace or by the pool which is very clean and a very nice size. Just like I said at the begining: I am going back this year!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cvekiZagreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
4.5 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
670 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Le Renaie
Hotel Le Renaie
#1 of 1 in Pancole
263 reviews
3.3 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
#6 of 29 in San Gimignano
918 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
805 reviews
2.5 mi away
Villa Dini
Villa Dini
#1 of 2 in Castel San Gimignano
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Podere Casanuova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere Casanuova

Address: Loc Montauto, 53036, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 108 Speciality Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range: £90 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe apartments in a restored 17th century farmhouse on the outskirts of the medieval Tuscan town of San Gimignano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Podere Casanuova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Podere Casanuova San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing