We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worth It - So So Qiuet”
Review of Antica Dimora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Antica Dimora
Ranked #25 of 67 San Gimignano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
243 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 413 helpful votes
“Well Worth It - So So Qiuet”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This is another little gem in Tuscany, about 6K outside the old town and about a 15 Euro cab ride well worth the trip.
This is a very comfortable purposefully designed B&B. we had to arrive outside their normal check in times but his was quickly and easily organised on the day via e mail.
The room was spotless and tastefully decorated in-keeping with the surroundings of this stunning old Tuscan property.
There is a communal well equipped kitchen available to all.
It was so beautifully quiet.
If you can find Sonia she runs a private taxi service Highly recommended, most of the hotels know her.

Room Tip: Be sure and let them know expected arrival times
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FirmfriendsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    27
    23
    4
    4
See reviews for
24
49
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Right by beach in the heart of the old town. Room spacious and quaint.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cprctxr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Studley, Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2010

Set in a beautiful little medieval village we found the atmosphere to be very pleasing and certainly to our tastes. The aggravating part was arriving to find the place locked up tight with only a phone number on the sign. Since we didn't have a phone we were faced with driving back up to San Gimignano to find one until the charming gentleman who we believe is the the proprietor of Fattoria San Donato, next door, saved the day. We only (?) had to wait 15 minutes for a young lady on a motorbike to arrive and check us in. The rooms are lovely, and it is a short distance to San-G. We could only imagine that if it was run with dedication it would be a great place to stay. No breakfast the next day. If interested you can read more about the place and our trip to Assisi and San G at: http://edjoseph.blogspot.com/2009/10/san-gee-wiz.html. No ads or anything just a couple of retired Americans traveling around enjoying life.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2006

the room was lovely with a good bathroom and lovely fluffy towels. This B&B is easy to find, being in a tiny village you really can't miss it. You really need a car though. However, we had a couple of problems which soured our stay. Firstly, we waited nearly two hours for the owner to send someone to let us in. We made several phone calls and were told by the owners husband that someone would be 5 minutes, and hung up on us. We only had success when a very kind helpful neighbour rang for us. As we were only there for 1 night, this effectively cancelled our afternoon of sightseeing. The second problem was breakfast. We had booked bed and breakfast, but when we arrived were told breakfast was not included. What had the potential to be a lovely night in a charming little village in tuscany left us feeling cheated and bitter.

  • Liked — surroundings, room size, close to san gimignano
  • Disliked — owner's unhelpful, dismissive attitude
  • Tips/Secrets — this is probably better for a longer stay
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmonaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 8 April 2006

Antica Dimora would be fine for a backpacker who requires the minimum service but for someone wanting to enjoy a holiday it is a place to avoid. This is not a 'bed and breakfast' in the true sense of being a private house shared with guests - it is a series of bedrooms and a small kitchen. There is no-one to welcome you (you have to phone to be let in and we waited 15 minutes), there is no comfortable sitting area, the heating was off and had to be requested (again by phone), and the breakfast was the cheapest supermarket food possible and in our case more than 24 hours old. Nothing cooked is offered. In short, Antica Dimora wants the most from you and offers the very minimum in return.
Do not get taken in by the website picture: it is not a hilltop farm with views, but stands in a shabby village street with only a tractor shed opposite to look at. You have to have a car to get there and there are no services or restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
2.3 mi away
Podere Montese
Podere Montese
#30 of 67 in San Gimignano
112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Baciolo
Villa Baciolo
#14 of 67 in San Gimignano
119 reviews
2.2 mi away
Antico Borgo il Cardino
Antico Borgo il Cardino
#17 of 67 in San Gimignano
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Donna Nobile
Donna Nobile
#24 of 67 in San Gimignano
179 reviews
2.3 mi away
Al Pozzo dei Desideri
Al Pozzo dei Desideri
#21 of 67 in San Gimignano
111 reviews
2.3 mi away
B&B Le Undici Lune
B&B Le Undici Lune
#2 of 67 in San Gimignano
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Dimora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Dimora

Property: Antica Dimora
Address: Localita San Donato, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the countryside sorrounding San Gimignano, "Antica Dimora", notified as historical and monumental residence, offers to its own guests the opportunity of staying with complete relax and comfort in rooms/suite/apartments furnished with antiques,canopy beds and precious fabrics. Of common use is a wide lounge with tuscan fireplace,equipped kitchen,table chairs and armchairs. Parking reserved to our guests in front of our house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Antica Dimora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Dimora San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing