We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palazzo al Torrione
Ranked #13 of 66 San Gimignano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed 2 nights in one of the nicest rooms on our trip. The spotless, well furnished rooms were larger than the typical Italian hotel room. The breakfasts featured fresh bread and pastries from a local bakery. We traveled just befor the high season and negotiated the breakfast into the very reasonable room rate. It was an ideal base to explore the city, its shopping and restaurants. The hotel was highly recommended by Rick Steve's plus there is a 10% discount by showing his book.

The ancient building has been lovingly renovated into a 10 room hotel with nice sized rooms, some with a patio or balcony. We had a small patio room overlooking the countryside, ideal to sip a sunset glass of wine. The B&B was located one block from the main drag and next to the medieval city wall - probably 200 feet above fields below. You could see forever.

The owners, Vanna and Francesco, operate a Tabbacci on the main drag, one block (5 min) away. You “check in” there and are escorted to the hotel. Parking was outside the city walls, about 5 minutes to the hotel. The rooms were quiet with no outside street noise. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil and Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    98
    27
    7
    7
See reviews for
41
136
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bexley
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We had a wonderful stay for 4 nights in December in a suite that accommodated our family of four. Our hostess graciously helped us settle in on Christmas Day and pointed us in the direction of a good place for dinner. They were always helpful with directions, destinations, a ride to our car with bags, and restaurant recommendations.
The rooms were very clean and felt authentic. The breakfasts featured fresh baked pastries from the local bakery.

Room Tip: The two adjoining rooms with a shared bathroom worked well for us. We had plenty of light. Locate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Was really pleased with how good the rooms are and how nice the place is. Is just off the main street but is completely quiet and great.

Highly recommended. Eat at the small local restaurant just up the road to the left as you look at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We were at this hotel for only one night. The fact this is not a typical hotel is not easy to get the keys and you need to arrive at the latest for 7:00 pm.

The room was charming, clean and well decorated. However, the air conditionning was not working properly, hence it was quite hot in the room.

Also, we had to take a fast shower as the water would not drain properly in the shower and would risk spilling over the little ledge.

Those problems can be easily fixed however.

Hotel is very close to everything and perfect for visiting this very nice town. Parking was outside the city walls but was only a few minutes walk once you know your way around.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The Palazzo Al Torrione really lived upto it's promises. It is vaue for money and quality. As with many old buildings there is no lift but only stairs but if you are healthy - no problem! Hostess is great as are the staff. Making reservations and assisting wherever possible. We should have stayed longer!

Room Tip: All rooms are great and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadforitalyPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Gimignano
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We got a warm welcome and good information about the city. Next morning she made breakfast for us in the little kitchen. Nice to be there.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Aage B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We were here only for a night but very nice stay, and a very helpful lady. The room was clean and nicely decorated with a cute bathroom.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Miruna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
#4 of 31 in San Gimignano
837 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 31 in San Gimignano
714 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Cisterna Hotel
La Cisterna Hotel
#7 of 31 in San Gimignano
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
#10 of 31 in San Gimignano
325 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
595 reviews
0.3 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 31 in San Gimignano
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo al Torrione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo al Torrione

Property: Palazzo al Torrione
Address: Via Berignano 76, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palazzo al Torrione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Al Torrione San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing