We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations!!!”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed at Agriturismo Pogiaccolle for 4 days and highlight the very place exceeded our expectations. Location - Next to the beautiful city of San Gimignano ( 2km ) which has numerous dining options of real Italian cuisine. The restaurants were kindly given by Stefano, owner of the Farmhouse , with all the tips , including the dish that is the specialty of each restaurant . If you prefer to cook for yourself, there is a full kitchen(Lavanda apartment)with all the accoutrements needed to prepare an Italian meal, the ingredients can be bought at great supermarket COOP , which is the first retail outlet when you're coming to San Gimignano . The strategic location of the Agriturismo is for anyone who wants to know the Tuscany region , with easy access to nearby towns for sightseeing and taste wine (Chianti) . Facilities - We stayed in the apartment " Lavanda " which is composed of two great complete suites ( with bath ) and a combined kitchen , fitted fireplace . Wi Fi is free internet throughout the apartment . The heating of the suites worked very well , as well as water heating . Wear The place is on the top of a small hill with an amazing view of the city of San Gimignano . We had the opportunity to taste the freshly picked olive oil produced on the farm and were impressed with its flavor and aroma. I plan to return to Agriturismo one day and highly recommend it to anyone who wants a hosting in Tuscany. We thank Stefano for having treated us like good friends !

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    58
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
103
226
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This is a beautiful, relaxing place to stay. We felt very welcome from the moment we drove onto the property and met Lorita. They gave lots of advice on where to go and what to see & answered lots of questions about the Tuscany area. Mom was interested in farming and crops which Stefano was more than happy to explain.

Breakfast with Marcella was great every morning with cappuccinos or café latte made fresh. Lots of good, fresh food to choose from.
Farm is easy to find and central for sightseeing all over Tuscany.

Views from everywhere on the property are amazing Tuscany views of vineyards, villas and San Gimignano. Beautiful infinity pool with shade trees, views and lots of loungers and chairs plus a gazebo for shade from the sun and protection from the rain. We were there in late September and had unexpectedly hot weather with only one day of rain. The rainy day was fun anyway as we got to visit with other guests in the communal kitchen … visiting included drinking great Tuscan wine. One couple we met actually lives in our small home town. For some of the guests we met this was a return visit to the farm.

How nice to have a gift of the wine from the farm when we arrived. His wine is exceptional! We got to see them harvesting grapes but were unfortunately too early for their olive harvest. Would have been fun to experience harvesting olives!

Thanks to Stefano and Lorita for a wonderful week – the perfect Tuscan vacation! We would highly recommend staying here when visiting Tuscany.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianKatnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This was our third time at Poggiacolle. The experience get better each time. Spacious and clean apartments, excellent location for travelling or walking to San G. Stefano is the best host for information, days out etc.

Each time we go something has improved and been added , Wifi now added

Planning our next return trip .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Spectacular would accurately sum up our stay at Poggiacolle. We are a young couple in our late 20's and we couldn't have picked a better place for our stay in Tuscany. Rows and rows of beautiful vineyards overlooking the majestic San Gimignano truly enhanced our honeymoon experience. Stefano is a gem of a host and truly made us feel at home. He gave us wonderful recommendations on wineries to visit and great places to eat at. We are returning to Tuscany for sure and Poggiacolle would definitely be our base yet again.

Ciao from India!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kinjal8410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Our family group of eight adults stayed at Poggiacolle for one week in September 2013 in the four bedroom apartment. We absolutely loved this place and I cannot speak highly enough of the generous hospitality of our host Stefano and his wife and parents whom we were also privileged to meet. The location of the farm house with its breathtaking view of San Gimignano and the surrounding hills, the peace and quiet and the standard of accommodation make this a very special place to stay. A very big thank you to Stefano and your amazing family for making our time in San Gimignano so special. We all hope we might be able to return one day.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juchrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caledon, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

When we arrived we were greeted by our gracious host Stefano. Breathtaking views make this Villa an unforgettable experience. The pool area has awesome views of San Gimignano, the surrounding area and the vineyard. We were fortunate to be there during harvest time and enjoyed experiencing the harvesting first hand. Our Villa had a large kitchen, spacious bedrooms with stone ceilings. We enjoyed cooking some of our dinners on the wood burning stone BBQ. We took a cooking class with Stefan's mother at her home in San Gimignano. It was a highlight of our trip. We would highly recommend this Villa.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 64healey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santos, SP
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

One year ago I went to Poggiacolle with my girlfriend seeking for relaxing and romantic moments in a month trip to Italy. After 12 years together, I chosed this hotel to get engaged and the option COULDN't be more perfect.

Prices are really decent, rooms are well decorated, with an astonishing view from San Gimignano and Stefano Bartalli, the owner, was SUPER SUPER nice with us. On my next trip to ITaly I will defintelly stop by there again.

Room Tip: Try to get the room right in front of the swimming pool. The view is incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuizMurat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
1,171 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
605 reviews
1.1 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 31 in San Gimignano
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#4 of 31 in San Gimignano
1,260 reviews
5.1 mi away
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Farmhouse
2.1 mi away
Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Poggiacolle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Poggiacolle

Property: Agriturismo Poggiacolle
Address: Strada di Montauto 58, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 111 Speciality Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Agriturismo Poggiacolle 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poggiacolle holiday farmhouse is only 2 kms from San Gimignano. It extends over 2 hills which overlook the old medieval town, providing a truly magnificent panoramic view of the area. The guest accomodation is a recently renovated eighteenth century farmhouse. We offer rooms with breakfast service and apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Agriturismo Poggiacolle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Poggiacolle Hotel San Gimignano
Agriturismo Poggiacolle San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing