We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely holidays”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
“Lovely holidays”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We've spent a lovely time in Poggiacolle. Apartment in which we stayed was very comfortable, cleen and well-furnished. WE were very impressed with the owner who is a great, friendly and helpful person. We are looking forward to going back to this lovely place

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregorowicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    55
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
95
218
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed at the Poggiacolle with friends last week as we traveled through Italy. The property is simply stunning with picture-perfect views over the San Gimignano valley.The location was ideal and we were able to explore nearby Tuscan hill-towns like Volterra, Siena and Castellina. The accommodation was charming and rustic, yet had modern conveniences like a fully-fitted kitchen and a modern bathroom. There was a variety of games equipment to keep the kids entertained. Our host, Stefano, was amazing. Even though his wife had just had a baby, he was patient and helpful and made sure we were well taken care of. Overall, 5 stars to the Poggiacolle - the sunsets, the vineyards, the towers of San Gimignano in the distance, the fog rolling in from the hills, the church bells pealing across the countryside. This is the Italy of the coffee-table books. Pack your bags and go!

Room Tip: We had 1 studio and the Rosa apartment. Both were perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SaraV72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

All the reviews are true. If you want a lovely apartment, a pool with the best view of vineyards and San Gimignano (a requirement when we were looking around), friendly host, but still an arms reach from the city look no further. It was the perfect way to sit back, relax, sip some wine and watch the tuscan sunset every night! There were even bikes for guest use to stroll around the country side, just stop looking and stay here :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Myself and my husband stayed for 6 days here in June, this was our second visit to Stefano and Poggiacolle. We stayed in a studio apartment which has a bedroom upstairs with a view of the swimming pool and the garden and out over the lovely countryside. Its only 5 minute drive by car from San Gimignano and Stefano is great at recommending very good restaurants.
You can also use the bike's that are available, breakfast is also available. We arrived at 9.30 on Sunday evening and Stefano came out to meet us and he also supplied some food for us which I requested as we were arriving so late, he gave us as a welcome gift, olive oil and wine from their own vineyard and breakfast on our first morning was also a welcome gift.
I would highly recommend Poggiacolle if you are looking for peace & tranquillity, and a warm welcome. Marcella (who doesn't speak any English) and "Ciara" her dog who are the caretakers of the property,they live there and Marcella does the breakfast are also very welcoming.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank B O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We spent a week here, with three generations of the family. We had a great week. The apartment was very comfortable and had everything we needed. The pool and views were superb and the owner, Stefano, was extremely helpful. A perfect base to explore many beautiful places or just relax. We thoroughly recommend Poggiacolle.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We were a family of 8 plus 2 friends and we couldn't have been more comfortable. The apartment was amazing with good size kitchen and bedrooms. Breathtaking views and great relaxing garden with a pool. Couldn't of found a better place. Lovely couple who owned it, very helpful and friendly. Great location, close to many tourist attractions. Simply awesome!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marialuyisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

What a GEM! My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon. This was our second stop in Italy for our honeymoon. We traveled from Rome to Firenze via train, then rented a car to drive from the train station to the agriturismo. We had instructions from the internet that we printed out. They got us pretty close to the agriturismo but we were a bit turned around when it came time to get off the highway. The instructions from the internet were not very clear. We stopped at a gas station to ask for help and then we were on our way. Once we were on the right road, it was easy to find the agriturismo. The countryside is so beautiful and the city of San Gimignano is so charming up on the hill (which we had an excellent view of from our bedroom window). There was ample covered parking onsite.

The owner, Stefano, was magnificent. He greeted us warmly and gave us a bottle of white wine he produced on site himself. He showed us to our room and around the property. Anything we needed or questions we had, Stefano assured us he would be happy to help, day or night.

Our room was great. Big window that looked out over the rolling hills, vineyards, and to the city of towers. Inside our room, we had a private bathroom. It was a beautifully freshly remodeled bathroom. Everything we could have needed was supplied for us.

The room we stayed in was in a large house, with each room being a guest room. In the middle of the four rooms, there was a large common area with a full kitchen, dining table, and even a lookout tower to climb up to and have an even more spectacular view of the scenery. There was also many books up in that room and chairs to relax.

Outside the house, there was a huge sprawling yard with a nice, clean pool, many lounge chairs, lounging outdoor furniture with tables for alfresco dining, and then a vineyard to wonder. The agriturismo also offers use of their bicycles, ping pong table, and other outdoor games.

Breakfast was served daily in the house next door to the guest room house. The woman who maintained the property and breakfast was very nice. She did not speak a word of English and our Italian wasn't so good, therefore, communication was interesting. The food provided was fresh bread, cheese, meats (salami, ham), ceareal and milk, yogurt, pastries, juices and some fruits. The breakfast host also made fresh coffee's for the guests. Great food!

We had a great experience here at this agriturismo. The room, the food, the surrounding lands, was all perfect. The other hotel guests were great as well. We made friends with another couple and even toured Tuscany with them.

San Gimignano was only a few minute car ride from the hotel. Very convienent. It was also a good central location to visit other locations such as Sienna, Pisa, etc...

When booking our stay here, we asked Stefano if he could recommend a place for us to do a cooking class. He told us his mother would be more than happy to offer us this class. The price offered was more than fair for the experience we got. Stefano had also set this class up with the couple we made friends with at the hotel. The four of us had the most amazing time at Stefano's parents home. It was trully a priceless experience. His mom and dad are so sweet and we trully got an authentic Italian experience with excellent food! This is not a service they advertise or do often. Stefano said his parents only do these classes a few times a year. So if you want to do it, talk to him well in advance while planning your trip.

If you come here, and I hope you do, I hope you enjoy it as much as my husband and I did.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
3.3 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#5 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Farmhouse
2.1 mi away
Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo
1.2 mi away
Fattoria San Donato
Fattoria San Donato
#13 of 111 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Poggiacolle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Poggiacolle

Property: Agriturismo Poggiacolle
Address: Strada di Montauto 58, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 111 Speciality Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Agriturismo Poggiacolle 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poggiacolle holiday farmhouse is only 2 kms from San Gimignano. It extends over 2 hills which overlook the old medieval town, providing a truly magnificent panoramic view of the area. The guest accomodation is a recently renovated eighteenth century farmhouse. We offer rooms with breakfast service and apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Agriturismo Poggiacolle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Poggiacolle Hotel San Gimignano
Agriturismo Poggiacolle San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing