We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING food, people, and atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agriturismo Il Vecchio Maneggio
Certificate of Excellence
Logan, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING food, people, and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

We recently spent four days at the agriturismo Il Vecchio Maneggio and it was a wonderful place for our family of four to stay on our first visit to Tuscany. Hostess Tziana and her husband make you feel like family the instant you arrive and it will remain that way throughout your stay. Tiziana loves children of any age and goes out of her way to s/mother them with affection which made our two teenagers feel very at home and happy. We wanted our kids to have cultural immersion during our two and a half weeks in Italy and France and this was exactly the kind of experience we hoped to have.

The 13th century walled town of San Gimignano is clearly visible on a hilltop across the valley from IVM and Florence, Siena, and Volterra were all about 45 minute drives away making IVM a convenient base for visiting major Tuscan attractions. Tiziana and Elisa are always ready and eager to help you plan your day trips.

A breakfast buffet and multicourse dinner are part of your stay at IVM and the food was unbelievable. While the breakfasts are terrific, the dinners, starting promptly at 800p each evening, include outstanding freshly prepared local cuisine including out of this world pasta dishes, main courses, cheese and IVM-produced honey, deserts and wonderful (and unlimited!) IVM bottled wines. Tiziana is renowned for her expertise on growing and cooking with saffron and we were fortunate enough to have saffron rice during one of the dinners (another evening we had the greatest lasagna –EVER!) The dinners are served family-style and we enjoyed delightful conversation long into the evening with not only other house guests but also dinner guests from neighboring agriturismos.

The bedrooms with private baths are clean and comfortable. The pool is large and refreshing. The family had a fun ride on IVM horses through the forest and vineyards. The kids caught fireflies after dinner. I was able to wander through the IVM vineyards and study vine pruning and trellising to apply to my own grapevines back home in the US. Tiziana can give Italian cuisine and cooking lessons. Overall, our stay at IVM was the highlight of our entire trip to both Italy and France! It would be wonderful to be there in the fall to experience the saffron and grape harvests and wine bottling. Next trip!

There may be agriturismos with greater panache and elegance, but if experiencing the charm and energy of Tuscan farm life, eating delicious regional foods and dishes, sleeping in the peaceful countryside after daily visits to hectic tourist-filled cities, and making new and warm friendships are what you seek in your travels, you’ll find them all at Il Vecchio Maneggio.

Thank you Tiziana! Carol, Clara, Ethan, and Larry

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    52
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
126
296
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

My husband and I did not stay here, but were referred by another agriturismo for the trail riding. It was such a lovely experience, I'm already scheming ways to get back! Our guide was great, and he took us all over the countryside, through vineyards, woods and fields. He was wonderful, and the setting was breathtaking!
After, we sampled some of their wines (delicious!), and then came back later for lunch, which was also incredible. Everyone was so friendly and helpful, and this was the highlight of our entire trip!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

Don't hesitate to stay at Il Vecchio Maneggio if your touring the Tuscany region. You will be treated like family by the owners Tiziana and her husband. The staff is equally friendly and personable. We shared wonderful meals with people from all over the world. It was a wonderful experience. Our family would do it again in an instant and we would recommend it to anyone.

Il Dottore, Lena, Cristoph & Gabrielle

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

My hubby and I stayed for three nights at Il Vecchio Maneggio while on our honeymoon in March this year. We had such a lovely visit. The hosts were so warm, fun and inviting. We had feasts every night with other visitors who all happened to be Italian. The meals were so delicious - I ate so much I had a sore belly! We also horse rode around the vineyards, cycled to San Gimignano and had a cooking lesson organised for us. We had two weeks in Italy and this was our favourite place by far! Our room was cozy and cottage-like (the walls were a bit thin though).

Room Tip: I would get a room upstairs as it was nice to have a view. It was a bit challenging getting around o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bossyboots30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

This was the most amazing all-round experience for our family of five. We can't recommend a more enjoyable vacation than staying in Tuscany with Tiziana and her family and staff. This was just pure fun and dinner every night was our highlight, eating at the big dinner table with guests from all over the world and feasting like we were family on Tuscan meals. The location is just beautiful and our rooms were so pretty and rustic. San Gimignano sits atop the hill just above the Agriturismo, and it feels surreal to look up at its towers knowing it was built in the 1300's. It is a wonderful town to visit, and we were in easy driving distance to many little towns in Tuscany. The countryside is absolutely gorgeous and after a day of travel and walking through the towns, we could come back and lounge by the pool before a meal that is more than food---it is an experience not to be missed. We loved every moment and were sad to leave after 4 nights.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AyearInEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

This was the highlight of our two week Italian vacation. Yes, this agriturismo is lovely, and well located and yes the food that is served is top quality and quantity but it is the warm family and staff that made our stay outstanding. Tiziana, her husband and others are the warmest, sweetest people on the planet with generous smiles and depict compassion to it's highest degree. Because we were loving our stay so much, we extended our stay to a third night and it was the best decision. We were tired from all the action in Florence, so having a nice place to relax was perfect and we also enjoyed chilling out by the pool. It's a quick drive into San Gimignano and also we took several walks nearby.
Cannot recommend this place enough to anyone wanting an agriturismo experience in the Tuscany region.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Estrella13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marsaskala, Malta
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We had great fun, the place is beautiful and the host is fantastic, very friendly and entertaining! Great food as well, highly recommended, we tried all sorts of pasta, fish dishes, meat and all local produce, very natural and ecologic, honey and cheese deserts are a must! Rooms are clean and have nice views, all in all - perfect getaway!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
2.1 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#5 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Farmhouse
3.3 mi away
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
#7 of 111 in San Gimignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
2.1 mi away
Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Il Vecchio Maneggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Il Vecchio Maneggio

Property: Agriturismo Il Vecchio Maneggio
Address: Loc. Sant' Andrea 22, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 111 Speciality Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming typical farmhouse, whose name could not be different from "Il Vecchio Maneggio" (the old Horseback Riding Centre), set on top of a hill, enjoys lovely views over the Tuscan countryside. The Pieraccini family, the owners of this organic farm, have always lived here, working the land, rearing horses and keeping bees. The old farmhouse, which has been recently restored retaining the original features of this typical Tuscan country house, today can accommodate guests in the family-run agriturismo "Il Vecchio maneggio," which offers 5 comfortable rooms; the fully equipped kitchen where Tiziana, an experienced and excellent cook, transforms the farm products and other local specialties into delicious meals, served in the large dining room whose patio doors enjoys lovely views of the medieval town of San Gimignano and of the surrounding countryside. Guests are free to discover the activities and the daily life at the farm such as harvesting, picking the olives, extracting honey, feeding horses and other animals of the farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Agriturismo Il Vecchio Maneggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Il Vecchio Maneggio Hotel San Gimignano
Agriturismo Il Vecchio Maneggio San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing