We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a dream!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agriturismo Il Vecchio Maneggio
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a dream!”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I don't even know where to start with this review, because our stay at Il Vecchio Maneggio surpassed all of my expectations. My mom and I stayed here for 4 nights here with Tiziana based on the rave reviews, and couldn't have been happier with our visit. Her and Eliza, her assistant, are warm and inviting, and will drop everything to make sure that you're comfortable and happy. We arrived to a glass of wine, produced on the farm, and enjoyed exploring the farmhouse and surrounding land. We stayed in one of the downstairs rooms, which was honestly the only disappointment of the trip - our bed was kind of uncomfortable, but we were able to pad it with additional blankets to build up the mattress. It was wonderful to sit out on the chairs near the pool and read in the late afternoons with a view of the countryside. It's breathtaking.

What you will never forget are the dinners with Tiziana and her husband. What an amazing experience. Sitting with travelers from all over the globe enjoying the best food I've ever eaten. The meals were almost too much, as you are stuffed to the brim after almost 3 hours. We were lucky to have the best dinner companions, making fast friends with the other travelers staying at the farmhouse or down the road. We were so sad to leave at the end of our stay, and will hopefully be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    55
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
132
298
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Came here for dinner on the recommend of a hotel down the road.

I eat a lot of Italian food, and this was by far the best Italian meal I've ever had - it was brilliant. All ingredients made on the property, local endless wine. Local specialities. Really convivial atmosphere, great fun. If I'd stayed in the hotel there is no limit to the amount of weight I would have put on.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Changdazzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Had a brilliant time at Vecchio Maneggio. Food was delicious for breakfast and dinner and we loved meeting some very interesting people. Location is fantastic with amazing views and a good walk to San gimignano. Loved the local produce including honey, saffron and wine and oil. We are still enjoying it all at home! Also went horse riding which was fun, although even if you are experienced note that the Pace is a walk only. Although the horses are pretty forward going and definitely not plodders.

Vecchio Maneggio is a real farm and if you are looking for luxury it is not for you. But if you want clean, basic rooms, comfy beds and amazing hospitality - go there! Also remember you are in Italy, we sometimes could smell cigarette smoke in our room, probably through the fan in the bathroom. We didn't let it bother us as we loved the place so much.

Tiziana and the family are amazing and make you feel really welcome. They helped us every morning to plan our day. Lots to visit and see in the area.

Enjoy the trip but be prepared to eat lots!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Isabel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I've just returned from a wonderful honeymoon in Tuscany and I stayed for 7 nights with Tiziana, the host of Il Vecchio Maneggio. Even if we heard a lot about her and her famous dinners, the real experience exceeded expectations.

We were welcome even from the start with a nice cup of wine and a very nice and clean room, where the air conditioning was already working to preserve a nice temperature for our arrival. The hosts were extremely nice and thoughtful all the time and tried to make us feel like home...we did :)

The most interesting and recommendable experience is the dinner, when Tiziana cooks classic Tuscan food, with 5 courses...it's a real fest! She serves also cheese with a lot of types of honey from her own production, a combination of tastes most unique.

What impressed me the most was the fact that when we wanted to go and eat lobster, somewhere on the coast, she and her son were kind enough to call to different restaurants they knew, made sure they had fresh lobster and made even the reservation for us. They even told the owners to treat us nice because we are in our honeymoon and to cook nice dishes, as it's the first time we eat lobster. :) It was indeed like this, the restaurant was in a nice bay and the chef was excellent.

I would deeply recommend the place for any type of trip. It is in the middle of everything, so you have a 20-60 minutes car drive to any place like Sienna, Florence, Montepulciano etc. it is very conveniently located and very close to San Gimignano, a wonderful small city.

Moreover, you can have a horse ride through the vineyards. It is very nice.

However, if you want to order food from a menu, eat french fries or have a table for you own, this is not the place for you. It is a real typical Italian experience, you eat together with all the other guests, socialize and have the food Tiziana decides to serve that evening.I loved it but some might not.

Also, the sound proof of the rooms is rather poor, so if there are some noisy guests, you might not sleep that good :) This is the only downside of the accommodation.

Hope this helped :) Have a nice trip!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2013

My wife and I drove through Tuscany and stayed at this magnificent Agriturismo. All the comments we had read about on Tripadvisor were absolutely true and then some. This is a FAMILY-RUN Agriturismo and Tiziana, her husband and daughters welcomed us into their family home and farm. Their 5 rooms are clean and air-conditioned. Their hospitality is extreme, genuinely warm and friendly. Tiziana is boisterous, fun-loving, obliging and much more. She is a huge part of the great experience we had here. The dinner seemed like a never-ending feast. It is family style and at least 5 courses of great food (actually I wasn’t even counting) and generous helpings with no end. The wines just kept appearing, including dessert wine and grappa. They served us several varieties of their own farm made honey, along with their Pecorino cheeses. We met new people every day of our stay and it was easy to make friends in such a warm atmosphere. This made dinner even more of a fun event.

My wife does not drink alcohol, so she had brought along her own bottle of Diet-Coke. Well, the very next meal, Tiziana had arranged for an endless supply of Diet-Coke and even as we were departing, she made sure that my wife left with a cold can for the ride.

The horse riding was great and we were taken on an hour long ride on gentle horses, but I am sure that the ride could have been tailored for experienced riders too.

We absolutely, highly recommend Il-Vecchio Mennagio to anyone planning to be in Tuscany. Just a marvelous, honest, warm experience.

Room Tip: Book as early as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lidarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We enjoyed a week-long stay at this Agritourismo in May, and have nothing but wonderful things to say about the experience. Tucked into Tuscan countryside, with spectacular views of San Gimignano, Il Vecchio Maneggio offers travellers of all kinds a vacation they will never forget. The host, Tiziana, is vivacious, funny and warm -- welcoming you into her family home as if you were one of her own. The nightly 7-course meal is a feast for the eyes and senses–a real foodie's dream!–with organic farm-grown and locally sourced meats, cheeses and produce -- along with the honey, wine, saffron and olive oil that is made and harvested right on the farm. Appetizer, meat, pasta and dessert dishes changed nightly, including a decadent pasta with sausage and saffon, artichoke crepes, and even homemade lemon ice cream! The dining experience is equally varied, with guests changing almost daily, so that at any time you can be dining with 10 people from 6 different countries united by a love for Italy, travel and food. Free flowing wine, and late night grappa finish off the 3-hour dining experience on a high note.

The accommodations are simple and standard, with clean linens and towels daily. The location is ideal for travel throughout Tuscany, only a hour or so to the towns of Siena, Florence, Lucca. Both my husband and I highly recommend Il Vecchio Maneggio if you want to experience the very best of Tuscany!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleLouOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evergreen, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Very nice place, conveniently located to most of Tuscany, although make sure to punch in the coordinates in your GPS-not a big problem-we asked someone and we were going the wrong way on Saint' Andrea. Owners wife is a kick and if you go hungry, there is something wrong.5 course meals which include their wines-a mighty fine Chianti- dessert wines to chase down local Pecorino-aged or fresh. She speaks several languages and her secretary speaks English very well. Meals were family style, several nationalities at the table and as I said very interesting and enjoyable

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
4.4 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
1,171 reviews
2.1 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#4 of 31 in San Gimignano
1,263 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 31 in San Gimignano
732 reviews
3.3 mi away
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
#3 of 111 in San Gimignano
411 reviews
2.5 mi away
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Farmhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Il Vecchio Maneggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Il Vecchio Maneggio

Property: Agriturismo Il Vecchio Maneggio
Address: Loc. Sant' Andrea 22, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 111 Speciality Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming typical farmhouse, whose name could not be different from "Il Vecchio Maneggio" (the old Horseback Riding Centre), set on top of a hill, enjoys lovely views over the Tuscan countryside. The Pieraccini family, the owners of this organic farm, have always lived here, working the land, rearing horses and keeping bees. The old farmhouse, which has been recently restored retaining the original features of this typical Tuscan country house, today can accommodate guests in the family-run agriturismo "Il Vecchio maneggio," which offers 5 comfortable rooms; the fully equipped kitchen where Tiziana, an experienced and excellent cook, transforms the farm products and other local specialties into delicious meals, served in the large dining room whose patio doors enjoys lovely views of the medieval town of San Gimignano and of the surrounding countryside. Guests are free to discover the activities and the daily life at the farm such as harvesting, picking the olives, extracting honey, feeding horses and other animals of the farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Agriturismo Il Vecchio Maneggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Il Vecchio Maneggio Hotel San Gimignano
Agriturismo Il Vecchio Maneggio San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing